PM Golding Says the Debate on Teaching Patois Signifies ....

horrible example! could not have come up with a worse one, brickie.

you tell me, what language is that in?
    The language of mathematics which is learned as any other language is. Now, if one is incapable of learning a language (English) what makes you think they will be able to master another language (mathematics)?

Whoever said they are incapable of learning English?!? That is not and was never the argument.

Don't leave us now, Brickie!

Would you be more proficient learning something something taught in German or English ?

Would you send your Child to a German School in an English speaking country or an English school ?
        This crusade fi teach in patwah and translate bible inna patwah is a waste of time. People simply looking for a smokescreen to cover for the failure of the students.

Joke ting.

emotional response. leave that to me.

Would you be more proficient learning something something taught in German or English ?

Would you send your Child to a German School in an English speaking country or an English school ?
            Is my child capable of learning languages? Is there more opportunity for my child to thrive in an economy based on the German language than the English language?

I think the issue you should focus on is communication of information and concepts...

If you want to communicate an idea or information in an inner city community are you going to use the queens english or are you going to use patios ??

Mi feel seh yuh gwine pull out yuh "How to speak Jamaican" and do a couple all nighters..

Whoever said they are incapable of learning English?!? That is not and was never the argument.

Don't leave us now, Brickie!
                So what are the reasons given for teaching in patois? Cultural? Yeah right.

The idea is they would grasp English concepts better and faster.

Are they grasping them now?

No, and why do you think that's the case?

By the way, the two kids that were reading from the patois book yesterday spoke some of the best english i have ever heard spoken by a student of that age in years! Maybe they were just bright or maybe the patois instruction helped them, as they said it did. Or maybe it's just maybelline.

You send you child to school to LEARN.. if you are in Japan and you speak Japanse are you going to send your child to a school that teaches in English ?

It is a rather simple concept.. not sure why you are having a difficulty.. how many Schools in India teach in English ?

We are approaching a rather complex issue armed with stigma and emotion.

Goa wrestles with language in schools
                        The abrupt transition from Konkani and Marathi in primary schools to English in Standard V puts tremendous pressure on children from rural communities in Goa. By the time these learners reach the crucial higher grades, nearly half of them drop out of school. Rupa Chinai reports

A key issue in this paradoxical inability of the education system to engage the youth and develop the state's human resource potential, is the continuing uncertainty over the language of instruction to be used in schools. As elsewhere in India, here too language is a controversial issue that no one wants to touch, for reasons rooted in the State's historical past, as well as unacknowledged caste, communal and class tensions, plus the political divide. But clearly, there is a heavy price being paid by the children; a cross-section of teachers interviewed in Goa schools say the state's inability to evolve a rational transition policy for medium of instruction in schools has "made a mess of the education system" and is "damaging the future of Goan children". Their classroom experiences, they say, reveal that children are not able to cope with the drastic transition from the use of their mother tongue at primary level, to the use of English in middle school.

ok.....it is something we need to do as a nation.

we waited until bob abd his music was accepted worldwide before we fully embraced him and took some pride in his achievements. we now need to more firmly establish our identitly as jamaicans and our heritage likewise and this must necessarily include embracing and formalising patois and all that it means including the legacy of slavery and the creationof our language instead of continuing to fool ourselves that we are the queen's subjects when we need visa to go to the "mother country"

we can be jamaican, embrace our jamaicanness and STILL continue to excel out there in the world at large!

jamaica is not likkle miami or likkle london (well maybe only in westmoreland) ...jamaica is jamaica ... warts and all!

noted. yuh WRONG though!

i don't know...IS your child capable of learning?

It is a rather simple concept.. not sure why you are having a difficulty.. how many Schools in India teach in English ?
                                You're not serious are you? Can you read this website:
                                http://www.education.nic.in/

What is Japan's unemployment, inflation, GDP compared with Jamaica's? Now go and read my response again