PRECISELY why it needs to be standardised. to protect us from karl!!!!
PM Golding Says the Debate on Teaching Patois Signifies ....
Well, until I read the report, my questions stand; maudib indicates that those concerns are addressed... my feeling is that if Patois is the first language, what we need in Jamaica is make our schools "English immersion".
Patois could be used under the jamaican studies subjects; i.e. history, geography, civic, social studies, language etc.
Are we now going to write text books forAll the above plus Sciences, Math, Foreign Languages etc? It doesn't make sense to me, at this point.
prPeter R
If you are incapable of learning to read I would say you are incapable of learning mathematics. If you can't learn you just can't learn no amount of patois can help yuh wid dat. You can't learn English but yet we expect you to learn calculus?
Wait ... what about children whose "mother tongue" is spanish ... how dem learn inna english? How other generations of Jamaicans were able to learn in english ... even though dem ... we chat patios among our family and friends?
kiss teet!"Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
teaching must be done by any means necessary. We don't have to have offical documented patwa teachers.
Yu nuh how much bad chatting patwa teacher like Karl mi use to have?
In Jamaica however we must make sure the children master the english language and others because a good amout of them a go fly out and tourism is our number one income owner.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
it certainly won't be neccessary at this juncture because standardised tests CXC and GCE will remain in english...
however there are many models from which we can avail ourselves papiemento, haitian creole...etc....willi is swiss german a written language? i understand that it is dying out as only the older folks speak it. culturally speaking, that would be a shame too.