PM Golding Says the Debate on Teaching Patois Signifies ....

What does learning math, science, engineering etc have to do with language?

Huh?!?

A students inability to learn Mathematics, Chemistry, Physics etc. is not due to the language it is taught in.

Mi still nuh understand how somebody going to want to tell me how to speak patois.

Man them trying to European up the patois.

Imagine trying to learn math, science etc in a country that does not speak English..

Imagine then having to compete against students that speak the native language...

You probably do not realize that there was a 4 year instructional test done covering all the issues you address.

The results are going to be made public.

I guess we will soon hear the results of the test carried out.

point made!.....next!

are you familiar with Allsops Caribbean Lexicon?

to directly answer your question, i am in favour of some of standardization the horse should go before the cart.

A 4 year instructional test was conducted.. this would appear to contradict your 3rd paragraph.

The fact of the matter is we laypersons do not possess the required data to speak with any conviction on the matter.. any conviction is therefore based on something OTHER than the facts and as such should not be trusted...

will it prevent them from learning those subjects? maybe i'm missing your point.

willi, everybody in england literate?

Not this time.. some proponents have a stong case and have actually expended the time and effort on a 4 year test program.

Mi haffi respeck dat and the implications... eagerly await the results.

Imagine trying to learn math, science etc in a country that does not speak English..

Imagine then having to compete against students that speak the native language...
                              Not following. What language is this in:

I disagree.

Most people not in ghettos learn both at the same time.

However, everyone is avoiding the elephant in the room! Patois is ONLY a spoken dialect. There is NO written standard and that makes it impossible to go forward with it at this time. Besides, we are wasting time.

Our problem is EDUCATION, not language. If we had high educ. standards, then we could have a proper debate about language.

Basically, many of our people are patois illiterate! That is why new expressions pop up all the time! Its simply "bad" patois. The man on the street cant handle traditional patois very well either!
                                Ask Karl fi write some patois and see how many can read it