Obama will forgive 100% of Caribbean debt!

Originally posted by Rudi View Post
    Lazie Jamaica owes little or nothing to the IMF. So in fact we did tell them Ta Tah.
    .. and at the same time we were borrowing money at interest rates much more than that from the IMF?

During the campaign last year, and even after the new gov't took office, people saw us going back to the IMF as if its accepting the mark of the beast.

Now people a rejoice about debt forgiveness ....WAIT ... we nuh really owe dem that much money.

have to see it to believe it.

Gordon Brown pretty much said the same thing.

Having a borrowing relationship with the IMF, could never be good. It wasn't before then why is it good now

what borrowing relationship Jamaica have that is good?

Originally posted by 1of1 View Post
            Having a borrowing relationship with the IMF, could never be good. It wasn't before then why is it good now
            Well, if yuh believe the Bredah Anancy stories ... then. How an why other countries have a borrowing relationship with them and not acting like we are? The IMF did admit that some of their policies were not necessarily the best for the countries and have moved to address that.

To me the option of borrowing money at 3% or borrowing money at 12% is clear. The problem is we had people managing our affairs that were not fiscally responsible.

what anancy story, has borrowing from the IMF, and adopting policies "recommended" by them, helped our country from day one. Them will say anything , bout "some of them policies", the IMF and the WORLD BANK only business bout G8 when them recommend policies

give examples of countries that borrow significantly from IMF that are models of success

Yuh think is love them love wi when them tek 3%, mi never see them as a positive under any administration

what anancy story, has borrowing from the IMF, and adopting policies "recommended" by them, helped our country from day one. Them will say anything , bout "some of them policies", the IMF and the WORLD BANK only business bout G8 when them recommend policies

give examples of countries that borrow significantly from IMF that are models of success

Yuh think is love them love wi when them tek 3%, mi never see them as a positive under any administration
                A few years ago the World Bank announced that they would be writing off some of the debt for some countries. There were some here rejoicing that it would be good for Jamaica. When I went to the WB site, we didn't owe them anything while other caribbean countries were getting money at 3 -5%.

The problem is when money is borrowed from the IMF and the World Bank, you have to use it for the purpose for which it was borrowed. Man cyaan tek it and run wid it!

I don't know how the love part come in.

.. and at the same time we were borrowing money at interest rates much more than that from the IMF?

During the campaign last year, and even after the new gov't took office, people saw us going back to the IMF as if its accepting the mark of the beast.

Now people a rejoice about debt forgiveness ....WAIT ... we nuh really owe dem that much money.
                  Are aware of the function of the IMF and what are called their conditionalities?

Doesn't seem so from your somewhat confused responses... i humbly submit that some research would benefit you.

It's not about interest rates... it's about their policy directives .... which are not operative when borrowing from private sources.

Are aware of the function of the IMF and what are called their conditionalities?

Doesn't seem so from your somewhat confused responses... i humbly submit that some research would benefit you.

It's not about interest rates... it's about their policy directives .... which are not operative when borrowing from private sources.
                    I'll take your submission under advisement. You've pointed out time and again that you don't know ... so ... its no surprise you telling people to do research. The loophole for those who know not.

i never mek no reference to running with it, however way you look at it is better not to owe them anything at least whichever government we elect will have the opportunity to effect policy which they feel will be best for the country some I agree wid some i don't, but at least it is the elected government that has made the decision and not somebody in new york or london

I'll take your submission under advisement. You've pointed out time and again that you don't know ... so ... its no surprise you telling people to do research. The loophole for those who know not.
                        Lazie the IMF loans used to come with contingencies such as how much can be spent on health, education social programs etc. In other words the IMF demanded that governments reduce their spending on social programs which invariably led to social unrest and riots. The Asian countries such as Malaysia and Thailand decided against the IMF and went their own way and ssucceeded. Since then the IMF has admitted that their policies were counterproductive and have said they would adjust them. Part of the reason was that many countries started to copy Jamaica's example(believe it or not) and there was a signifcant decline in countries asking for IMF loans or renewing loans after they were paID off. So much so that the MF had a surplus of money to lend and not the countries to lend it to.

i never mek no reference to running with it, however way you look at it is better not to owe them anything at least whichever government we elect will have the opportunity to effect policy which they feel will be best for the country some I agree wid some i don't, but at least it is the elected government that has made the decision and not somebody in new york or london
                          The reference to run wid it wasn't targeted at you ... just pointing out what occurred bossman.

me know

"It's not about interest rates... it's about their policy directives .... which are not operative when borrowing from private sources."

so mi nah look no loophole

Is this drivel meant to make sense?

If so, you've failed miserably... try again.

"What does the IMF do with its money? In contrast to the World Bank, the Fund does not back individual projects, such as a power plant or urban redevelopment program. Instead, the IMF makes loans to governments, theoretically to assist them in promoting overall economic development. The Fund imposes a variety of policy conditions on borrowers that are supposed to improve the borrowers' economic performance and ensure that loans are paid back."

http://www.reformed.org/webfiles/ant..._monetary.html