Obama will forgive 100% of Caribbean debt!

• Obama will forgive 100% of Caribbean debt!

Karl, if those don't mek you start campaign fi di man, I don't know what will.

I hope it is as easy as it sounds. Such a move would be like Jamaica discovering oil.

The politicians could also have a field day robbing the country blind, so the fight against corruption should intensify.

In 10 years we would be right back where we are now.

nuh talk suh! mek wi dream likkle bit!

Dem seh ongle fools dream Den again, there is no "free lunch", so him gwine write off the debt out of fi him pocket

Mosiah, your last sentence is absolutely correct!!

(If I had posted such a statement, you and your tag-team pardna gamma would try to bushwhack me. Of course to your own detriment).

not to be a kill joy but...

Karl, if those don't mek you start campaign fi di man, I don't know what will.

I hope it is as easy as it sounds. Such a move would be like Jamaica discovering oil.

The politicians could also have a field day robbing the country blind, so the fight against corruption should intensify.
            Mo - do you have a news article/position paper reference on that?

Couple of things - more than 50% of Jamaica's debt is to locals and another huge chunk is owed to private foreign interests - any forgiveness by Obama would not affect this.

He could forgive the debt owed directly to the US government (probably a relatively negligble amount) and lobby to have some of the debt to multi-lateral agencies forgiven perhaps... US controls these agencies.

Whatever the level of forgivenes.. we give thanks .... but I'm not ready to pop to champagne cork just yet.

Come on, HL. Gamma would have said the same thing too. It's because 9 out of 8 of your statements have a certain hue why wi haffi slap yuh up couple time. But we do it for your sake, like a parent punishing a child.

Heard it on the 5:00pm RJR news this evening, Beyond the Headlines. The report said that he did not say it himself, but a spokesman of his did.

Regional debt to be written off if Obama becomes president
                  Wednesday, 25 June 2008
                  Democratic candidate for President of the United States (US) Senator Barack Obama is promising 100% debt relief for the Caribbean if he becomes the next leader of the US.

Senator Obama's foreign policy advisor, Dan Restrepo told officials attending the Caribbean Tourism Organisation meeting in Washington DC that this is one of the policies to be pursued if Senator Obama is elected to office.

Mr. Restrepo also spoke about Mr. Obama's intention to facilitate trade between the US and Cuba.

He said the presidential candidate would personally lead direct diplomacy with Cuban officials.

According to Mr. Restrepo, Senator Obama understands the unique security challenges of the Caribbean and that the issue of trans-national crime is of great importance to the region.

As a result, he has promised to restore funding for drug control programmes, which were cut by the George W. Bush administration.

Most of the debt owed to the IMF and the World Bank is underwritten by the US.

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
                      Jamaica has little indebtedness to the IMF - that relationship changed sometime ago... World Bank yes.

Regional debt to be written off if Obama becomes president
                        Wednesday, 25 June 2008
                        Democratic candidate for President of the United States (US) Senator Barack Obama is promising 100% debt relief for the Caribbean if he becomes the next leader of the US.

Senator Obama's foreign policy advisor, Dan Restrepo told officials attending the Caribbean Tourism Organisation meeting in Washington DC that this is one of the policies to be pursued if Senator Obama is elected to office.

Mr. Restrepo also spoke about Mr. Obama's intention to facilitate trade between the US and Cuba.

He said the presidential candidate would personally lead direct diplomacy with Cuban officials.

According to Mr. Restrepo, Senator Obama understands the unique security challenges of the Caribbean and that the issue of trans-national crime is of great importance to the region.

As a result, he has promised to restore funding for drug control programmes, which were cut by the George W. Bush administration.
                        give thanks.

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
                          Wait ... the same IMF PJ told "Ta Tah!!" and everybody was rejoicing? The same IMF for which Shaw was accused and attacked for wanting to get involved with again?

Friggin funny.

try 10 out of 8 ..... but si wid him..the welts are still raw!

Wait ... the same IMF PJ told "Ta Tah!!" and everybody was rejoicing? The same IMF for which Shaw was accused and attacked for wanting to get involved with again?

Friggin funny.
                              Lazie Jamaica owes little or nothing to the IMF. So in fact we did tell them Ta Tah.