No peace deal!

Me nuh understand how forumites a gwan like this is the first peace treaty ever signed in JAs inner city.
    Well, maybe its bcuz I'm a country boy ... but I've always seen it as stupidity. The gunmen must be apprehended and brought before the courts. What kinda peace treaty?

Lazie, it is not meant to be an alternative to arresting gunmen or solving the long-term crime problem! Maybe thats where this particular set of area dons got it wrong too. Massop, Bucky Marshall, etc signed peace treaty back in the day too and Massop got bout 75 gunshot from the police soon after.

It is a way to give a communities temporary relief from escalating violence against each other or amongst themselves. If you live in that community that police can't protect you would long for some kind of peace treaty too.

OJ ask if them think is the Middle East? Well, is not that different.

Consider this, in 2008 there has been an average of 20 civilian casualties per day in Baghdad and the population is about 7 million. Whats the population for Kingston and how many killings per day were there last month?

it's not but the last one i remember was when jacob miller sang "peace treaty is going on hurrah, hurrah" i recall my father kissing his teeth and calling it foolishness because of the menatility of the people involved....but i was an uninformed likkle yute den.....

dis one mi really put some thought into it and it really is a sad reflection on our society....

Sad fe true but real, very real.Certain communities in Jamaica live under a different set of rules and laws.

The breaking point for me was when them did lock up Zeeks and the people rush the police station, and them haffe beg Zeekes to come out and calm the hostile crowd.

If that is not ceding power to the street dons I don't know what is. The regular justice system does not apply to those communities, they have thier own.

mi think a only Tivoli had their own.

But isn't this the first one with legitimate govt. agencies and organizations, incl. the police?

That would be ignorant of you. Not even naive, but IGNORANT!

Who said that?

There are more PNP communities like that than JLP today. Tivoli was the prototype though.

You know, the other day I was watching a CNN program about Iraq and why the level of violence has gone down recently, and one of the reporters in iraq said that one of the things they have done is totally separate the communities into exclusive Sunni , Shia, etc communities , and then build high walls between the communities, effectively isolating them from each other because they said thats the only way to prevent genocide.

As I listened I thought , that sounds like Kingstons garrison communities to me.

Yes, thats my point, it is silly to do it with the police and the govt involved. No wonder they thought it was some kind of amnesty, why else have the state reps present?

There are more PNP communities like that than JLP today. Tivoli was the prototype though.
                      ...and the mother of them all!

So pray do tell, which GARRISON is the father of them all? If there is a modda, there must be a fadda some whey

Which garrison is the most violent in Jamaica?

You tell me. And after yuh dun ansa dat, tell mi which one is the most guarded and secretive.

Thanks!