Woman says head scarf cost her seat near Obama

• Woman says head scarf cost her seat near Obama

DETROIT, Michigan (AP) -- A young Muslim woman said she and another woman were refused seats directly behind Barack Obama -- and in front of TV cameras -- at a Detroit rally because they wear head scarves.

Hebba Aref said Wednesday that she and Shimaa Abdelfadeel were among 20,000 supporters who gathered to see Obama on Monday at the Joe Louis Arena when the groups they were with were separately invited by Obama campaign volunteers to sit behind the podium.
    But Aref said the volunteers told members of both parties in separate discussions that women wearing hijabs, the traditional Muslim head scarves, weren't included in the invitation and couldn't sit behind the podium.
    Aref, a 25-year-old lawyer, said a member of her group was told by a volunteer that she could not invite Aref because of "a sensitive political climate."
    Obama spokesman Bill Burton issued a statement saying such actions are "not the policy of the campaign."
    "It is offensive and counter to Obama's commitment to bring Americans together and simply not the kind of campaign we run. We sincerely apologize for this behavior," the statement read.
    Aref said she replied by thanking Burton, but requested Obama apologize directly to her and Abdelfadeel, as well as invitations to sit behind him at a future campaign event. Obama spokeswoman Amy Brundage said the campaign has apologized.

"He needs to take the matter seriously and send a strong message against any kind of discrimination," Aref said.
    A message was left Wednesday morning by The Associated Press for Abdelfadeel.
    Presidential campaigns routinely invite audience members they believe will enhance the image their candidate wants to convey on TV to stand behind the candidate at rallies.
    Aref, who was born in the United States to Egyptian immigrants, said she had defended Obama during the primaries against a constant drumbeat of rumors that he was Muslim. Obama is a Christian.
    Obama also has been careful in denouncing the links, noting that some rumors about him also have been insulting to Muslims.
    "I don't want to be called something I'm not, but I felt like ... everyone was treating this accusation of being Muslim as though it were some sort of crime or sin," Aref said.
    She was grateful that the group she was with at the rally, which included her brother, Sharif, as well as non-Muslim colleagues of his, declined the invitation to take seats behind Obama after she was refused.
    Still, she said, it was difficult to hear a Obama's message of unity among races.
    "As he's saying it, I'm thinking, 'Well, wait a minute, I was obviously ... profiled and discriminated against an hour ago."'

Sad but understandable, Obama dont need to be seen as pro muslim now, if a muslin was there then so should a traditional Jew and a well know christian, balance is more impotant than amything else.

Originally posted by Time View Post
      Sad but understandable, Obama dont need to be seen as pro muslim now, if a muslin was there then so should a traditional Jew and a well know christian, balance is more impotant than amything else.
      The people working for his campaign was wrong. Even if they're muslims, they're Americans as well. They truly deserve an apology.

they did get an apology....he would have been damned if he did (neocons would be all over that...they already have him as a muslim and that terrorist endorse him, and terrorist handshake yadda yadda....he was in a no win situation and opted for what seemed the lesser ill...

if you were in the same situation (running for president with all that innuendo out there) what would you do?

they did get an apology....he would have been damned if he did (neocons would be all over that...they already have him as a muslim and that terrorist endorse him, and terrorist handshake yadda yadda....he was in a no win situation and opted for what seemed the lesser ill...

if you were in the same situation (running for president with all that innuendo out there) what would you do?
          Suh out of fear of the GOP, he is going to alienate some Americans? Nuh worry, McCain will gladly accept their vote.

what would you have done? it's a risk either way....

If it was a black woman, what would be your reaction?

a black woman who was a muslim? anyway before yuh ask mi any question ansa mines own.

Is not a matter of who must answer a question first. If it was a black woman, muslim or not, many here would be upset about it. Why? Because it isn't right. Same way it was right for how these ladies were treated.

To answer your question, leave them where they are and remind all comers that there are Americans that are Muslims and they have the same rights as everybody else. Even better, point out that McCain is running to be president for some Americans ... he (Obama) is running to be president for all Americans.

how long yuh know Lazie?

.....it is the orderly way to do things.

now, i think that i would have made the same decision obama did because what you have now suggested is that he use them as political props....we saw that one black guy behind hillary clinton when she was in WV (or was it VA) mi nuh memba but he was such an obvious plant.

he was in a catch 22.

btw were you in favour of the usa invading iraq?

how long yuh know Lazie?
                        All mi life! Why? How long you know him?

I can understand why he would want to exclude them. As a politician, it's the political thing to do. It's also an example of America (chez whitey) telling the black candidate, walk this way, or else!

And that' why I couldn't run for office, esp. in the USA.

Follow the thread and stop gwaan like yuh nuh sense.

Fi the man with alot of permissions its about time yuh know how fi use the forum ... don't it?