Obama tells black fathers to engage their kids

it was said....malcolm x said it and he was associated with radicalism and all sorts so the message was lost.

marcus garvey said it too so did paul robeson, but for many years the perception of "black leaders" was refined by the white media along with encouragement from the state department, the fbi and cia....

Past 20 years....

I know individuals have said it from time to time during this period too, but it has to be shouted from every rooftop and constantly reinforced on a regular basis for any real cultural change to take place. And the problem is now a cultural one.

The urban black culture need to change to view men in the community who neglect thier children or beat thier wives in the same way the crackhead or the child molestor is viewed.

oops..mi age showing! yes the past 20 years has been quiet in this regard. this is something that BET could have been more active with.....

thank yuh!

...and that's just scratching the surface! But we will hear that wi just mekking excuse, horse dead...

oops..mi age showing! yes the past 20 years has been quiet in this regard. this is something that BET could have been more active with.....

BET is a sad case

Thanks gamma, for shutting up...sorry, for educating a large bunch of forumites who were ready to jump down your throat for bravely disagreeing that white people had a right to fast in people bizniz when they were the very cause.

Too many times black people allow white people to tell them what should be and that was one such example. Stealthily they have been trying to say the same thing that OJ brought up and the Fox-type reporters will suggest that when white people say the same thing they are unfairly targeted. Just the other day on Real Sports (HBO) there was a similar topic, but the panel of mostly black sportswriters fell for the nonsense.

Sorry, OJ (and others) can't agree with you on this. No hard feelings!

Thanks gamma, for shutting up...sorry, for educating a large bunch of forumites who were ready to jump down your throat for bravely disagreeing that white people had a right to fast in people bizniz when they were the very cause.

Too many times black people allow white people to tell them what should be and that was one such example. Stealthily they have been trying to say the same thing that OJ brought up and the Fox-type reporters will suggest that when white people say the same thing they are unfairly targeted. Just the other day on Real Sports (HBO) there was a similar topic, but the panel of mostly black sportswriters fell for the nonsense.

Sorry, OJ (and others) can't agree with you on this. No hard feelings!
                  Actually, you were the one I threw the corn out there for. Its like its okay for black man fi call dem one anedda "mah n i gga" but vex when other races dweet.

There are black men who grew up in a family with both mother and father, but now they simply act a sperm donor ..leaving kids all over the place. How unuh ago waan blame whiteman and slavery fi dat?

In today's world there are alot of interracial relationships ... suh why shouldn't a father whose daughter may end up with one of these jokers be restricted from telling it like it is? I see nothing wrong with that. Time unuh stop blame slavery fi the fockery idiots in our race gwaan wid.

There are black men who grew up in a family with both mother and father, but now they simply act a sperm donor ..leaving kids all over the place. How unuh ago waan blame whiteman and slavery fi dat?
                    And there are no white sperm donors?!? The only way to sensibly talk about this, Lazie, is in general terms. Hey, did you know a black man is the Democratic nominee for president? Suh everyting criss!

Yay!

And there are no white sperm donors?!? The only way to sensibly talk about this, Lazie, is in general terms. Hey, did you know a black man is the Democratic nominee for president? Suh everyting criss!

Yay!
                      Suh what? Yuh not man enough to address problems within your race? Nobody said the problem doesn't exist in other races. Wait ... yuh talking about the same nominee whose father was MIA like the "fathers" we talking bout? What was his excuse? Slavery?

who seh is is ok for black people to call each other mah n ig gah?!!

lazie...your very EXISTENCE is (probably) as a result of slavery! this time you burying your head in the sand. is time you learn how to differentiate excuse from facts....

if you read and read to understand what i wrote i am not saying that ot is ok, and if youdo not know the root of the problem how can you provide any long term solution?

2 questions:

1. obama did not represent the typical angry black man to white america why? n.b. any hint of it (rev wright) threatened to derail his candidacy...

2. has affirmative action worked at all?

What tangent have you gone off on, Lazie? I am not man enuff to address problems within my race?!? What are you on about?!?!?

would be interesting to know HL's and Lazie's views on affirmative action.

lazie...obama had a step-father and then he was raised by his grandparents .....

many times when mi and the family travel white americans have come up to me and said "you have a lovely family" and when i say "thank you and so do you", they are taken aback...some have seemed downright insulted. i don't remember ANY saying "thank you"......

who seh is is ok for black people to call each other mah n ig gah?!!

Gamma, not because you don't hold the view doesn't mean it doesn't exist.

lazie...your very EXISTENCE is (probably) as a result of slavery! this time you burying your head in the sand. is time you learn how to differentiate excuse from facts....

Yuh probably right .... however, I very much doubt I'm the one confusing excuse and facts. Man guh round and leff kids all over the place .. but when confronted dem either claim its because dem a African or dem blame slavery. Sound like excuse to me, irrespective of my head being buried in the sand. What it sound like to you?

obama did not represent the typical angry black man to white america why?

Mi nuh know ... maybe him is as cool as me. What if him isn't an angry person?

has affirmative action worked at all?
                                Objection your honour! Relevance!!