• Yet another JC alumnus to lead?

aaaaahhhhh bwoy.

EDITORIAL - Dr Phillips' important intervention
    published: Thursday | June 12, 2008

We can only assume that an important policy speech by a senior shadow minister would have been vetted by Opposition Leader Portia Simpson Miller.

If so, Dr Peter Phillips' intervention in Parliament's sectoral debate represented a fuller declaration of intent by the People's National Party (PNP) of a readiness for genuine bipartisan effort to tackle the problem of crime, political corruption and social transformation in Jamaica. At the very least, it marks Dr Phillips' continuing emergence as a post-partisan politician.

Either way, the signals are good for Jamaica, assuming that Dr Phillips still has ambitions of leading the PNP and becoming prime minister of the country.

What was particularly striking about the speech was that there was no hectoring denunciation of the Golding administration and demand for an instant solution to the criminal violence in Jamaica. Which is not to say there were not areas of criticism and defence of record.

Analytical speech

At its core, though, the speech was reflective and analytical and an attempt to find common ground from which to confront the criminals; which, we suppose, is the gift of someone who had been in the hot seat and has the benefit of experience.

Perhaps most emblematic of this approach was Dr Phillips' suggestion for the establishment of what he calls a corps of community safety officers. In practical terms, what he proposed was a volunteer, auxiliary body that would assist the police in the maintenance of law and and order in our communities.

The idea has echoes of the home guard that was controversially launched by the Manley administration during the ideologically turbulent 1970s. Critics at the time saw the home guard not as a genuine volunteer group, committed to community safety, but as party storm troopers with the mandate of enforcing the PNP's socialist ideology. Therein lies the gravitas of Dr Phillips and the PNP in putting it on the agenda.

Removing the shackles

It is significant that the PNP is not now in office, so the Opposition party is willing to trust the establishment of the corps to the Government that is formed by the Jamaica Labour Party. In the past, any such idea would hardly have come from the Opposition. But, as Dr Phillips said, "We cannot always remain prisoners of the past."

Another critical signal from Dr Phillips was the PNP's support for legislation already being prepared by the administration, for the preventative detention of criminal suspects, or at least amendment to the bail law to allow for an extension of the time that a suspect can be held before the habeas corpus rules kick in. His call for a new agency to investigate serious transnational crime and public corruption was not far off from a proposal that is on the government's agenda.

The bottom line, therefore, is that several issues that could form the basis of political bickering have been effectively removed from the frame of partisan quarrels. Criminals and their backers cannot, in that regard, expect to find safety behind the ramparts of the party.

But even more important than the specific policy proposals was Dr Phillips' recognition and acceptance of the role that a dysfunctional political process has played in getting us to where we are today. That he, and by implication the PNP, are ready for change, is important.

joke thing.

Lazie you have the crime stats? How all of a sudden Dr. Phillips all the remedy?

Where is the politicans he said that was mixed up wid drugs dons? Did they get arrested?

Isn't that a question now for Bruce. Don't hold your breath on this one.

sigh upon sighs

you completely missed the tone of and the message in the article.

sigh upon sighs

you completely missed the tone of and the message in the article.
          I thought that was Assasin's specialty?
          No??

the tone nuh matter to me, that can't solve crime in Ja.

Peter Phillips had been Minister of Security for how long? Why him never have that humble tone when he was the minister?

no yuh mixing dem up. is not Peter was saying, doan draw my tongue...dat was Portia.

dem fava?

Mo I like Phillips but he has had a long run as security minister so all of a sudden him find solutions? While some of what he has said must be commended, and while he did some good things as the minister he made no dent in the crime stats.

If it was a new Shadow minister I would have given him a lot more props

Okay sah!

Thats the role of a shadow minister Sass. Everybody in Jamaica knows there are no easy solutions to the crime problem.

Unfortunately the JLP to date has been more clueless in this area that the previous govt was. Under them things have gone from really bad to horrific.

What you have against JC alumni? The water at Hope Rd. no different than elsewhere.

Peter R (JC Class of '73)

They had 18 years to come up with plans, and they did. Yet nothing has happened since they became the govt. They should be grateful that Peter Phillips has chosen to help them out and maybe even mek dem look good.

What you have against JC alumni? The water at Hope Rd. no different than elsewhere.

Peter R (JC Class of '73)
                          The Hope Rd. water is actually very special... 500 yds from the Hope Gdns filtration plant

Don1 (JC Class of '77)

That is an interesting spin.

And how long are you giving for REAL effects to be seen.

How is Peter Phillips going to help them out ??!!

LOL !! WHOEE !!

In any serious country Peter Phillips would not have ANY chat.

Well how many years did Peter have?

You notice I called for Smith's head as well?

Give Mcmillan at least 6 months. I am aware of the shadow minister duty but it was not like he got results that were any different.