• Observer EDITORIAL: Utterly ridiculous, Prime Minister

Utterly ridiculous, Prime Minister

Friday, May 30, 2008

Unfortunately, the wave of shootings sweeping the island and the resultant heightened sense of fear are nothing new. We have been here before. And just as happened earlier this decade when criminals carried out brazen executions and openly defied the state's law enforcement institutions almost daily, we are today hearing political conspiracy theories in relation to the mindless madness.

At that time, the Jamaica Labour Party (JLP), that now forms the Government, was in Opposition and many supporters of the then People's National Party (PNP) administration were convinced that the killings had more than a political tinge.

Given our history of polarisation and politically-sponsored violence, very few Jamaicans doubted that claim, even as we all acknowledged that the politicians had, to a large degree, lost the significant influence they once had on the crime bosses and their gangs.

To be fair to the politicians, many of them have turned their faces hard against the thuggery and intolerance of opposing views displayed by some of their supporters.

Evidence of their commitment to changing the way we practise our politics was manifested in the last two general elections, which had seen considerable reductions in hostile and violent behaviour between supporters of both major political parties.

However, there still resides in both parties, people who, in their zeal to occupy political office, will foment violence, even as they try to portray themselves as the most pious among us.

Both the JLP and the PNP, we believe, have a duty to cleanse their ranks of these evil individuals whose real intention is to enrich themselves while denying ordinary Jamaicans the opportunity to enjoy a better standard of living.

Our pointing to the fact that this atmosphere of terror is not new to the country is not, in any way, to suggest that we should bury our heads in the sand and hope that the problem will go away quickly. It won't.

However, what we expect is that the Government, informed by the results of previous strategies, will formulate credible policies to stem the tide of crime and violence that is now gripping the country.

In that regard, we find absolutely ridiculous, Prime Minister Bruce Golding's attempt on his radio show Wednesday night to absolve his administration of the responsibility to see to the creation of measures to fight this monster.

For even as he pointed to the law that clearly sets out the roles of the executive and the police high command, the political directorate cannot be excluded from the overall liability of providing the country with security.

And that, we know, is not a responsibility that is lost on Mr Golding, for it was his party, in its manifesto for the September 2007 general elections, which declared that making the nation safe and secure was their "most urgent priority".

In fact, some of what the JLP presented in that manifesto are elements of a crime plan formatted by Colonel Trevor MacMillan, and commissioned by Mr Golding when he was the opposition leader.

Many of the measures in Col MacMillan's plan, we believe, can produce tangible results and now that Col MacMillan is the new national security minister, Mr Golding has an opportunity to implement those strategies that will most likely bear fruit quickly.

In case you forgot, Mr Golding, you were elected to lead.

What is the Observer playing at?!

I am reliably informed by numerous posters on this noble site that the observer is a JLP propagandist rag.

What devious machinations are at play now?!

Bruce leggo RUI

The Piper's Paymaster speaks

Utterly ridiculous, Prime Minister

Friday, May 30, 2008

Unfortunately, the wave of shootings sweeping the island and the resultant heightened sense of fear are nothing new. We have been here before. And just as happened earlier this decade when criminals carried out brazen executions and openly defied the state's law enforcement institutions almost daily, we are today hearing political conspiracy theories in relation to the mindless madness.

At that time, the Jamaica Labour Party (JLP), that now forms the Government, was in Opposition and many supporters of the then People's National Party (PNP) administration were convinced that the killings had more than a political tinge.

Given our history of polarisation and politically-sponsored violence, very few Jamaicans doubted that claim, even as we all acknowledged that the politicians had, to a large degree, lost the significant influence they once had on the crime bosses and their gangs.

To be fair to the politicians, many of them have turned their faces hard against the thuggery and intolerance of opposing views displayed by some of their supporters.

Evidence of their commitment to changing the way we practise our politics was manifested in the last two general elections, which had seen considerable reductions in hostile and violent behaviour between supporters of both major political parties.

However, there still resides in both parties, people who, in their zeal to occupy political office, will foment violence, even as they try to portray themselves as the most pious among us.

Both the JLP and the PNP, we believe, have a duty to cleanse their ranks of these evil individuals whose real intention is to enrich themselves while denying ordinary Jamaicans the opportunity to enjoy a better standard of living.

Our pointing to the fact that this atmosphere of terror is not new to the country is not, in any way, to suggest that we should bury our heads in the sand and hope that the problem will go away quickly. It won't.

However, what we expect is that the Government, informed by the results of previous strategies, will formulate credible policies to stem the tide of crime and violence that is now gripping the country.

In that regard, we find absolutely ridiculous, Prime Minister Bruce Golding's attempt on his radio show Wednesday night to absolve his administration of the responsibility to see to the creation of measures to fight this monster.

For even as he pointed to the law that clearly sets out the roles of the executive and the police high command, the political directorate cannot be excluded from the overall liability of providing the country with security.

And that, we know, is not a responsibility that is lost on Mr Golding, for it was his party, in its manifesto for the September 2007 general elections, which declared that making the nation safe and secure was their "most urgent priority".

In fact, some of what the JLP presented in that manifesto are elements of a crime plan formatted by Colonel Trevor MacMillan, and commissioned by Mr Golding when he was the opposition leader.

Many of the measures in Col MacMillan's plan, we believe, can produce tangible results and now that Col MacMillan is the new national security minister, Mr Golding has an opportunity to implement those strategies that will most likely bear fruit quickly.

In case you forgot, Mr Golding, you were elected to lead.
        Now that Butch Stewart through his Newsletter has stated what he expects of Golding ..... look for a more hands on approach by Golding and the GOJ on the crime issue and the rehashing of tired, failed policies of the past ..... by next week probably.

No more of Golding saying in effect: Crime? But mi nuh response! Ah police business dat!

Now that Butch Stewart through his Newsletter has stated what he expects of Golding ..... look for a more hands on approach by Golding and the GOJ on the crime issue and the rehashing of tired, failed policies of the past ..... by next week probably.

No more of Golding saying in effect: Crime? But mi nuh response! Ah police business dat!
          I am confused by your stance.

I am here to help. What confuses you?

BTW I posted without reading a post below re a crime plan expected within a few days.... not that it changes my opinion.

I am here to help. What confuses you?

BTW I posted without reading a post below re a crime plan expected within a few days.... not that it changes my opinion.
              There is a lack of Vulcan logic from my POV...

"Now that Butch Stewart through his Newsletter has stated what he expects of Golding ..... look for a more hands on approach by Golding and the GOJ on the crime issue and the rehashing of tired, failed policies of the past ..... by next week probably.

No more of Golding saying in effect: Crime? But mi nuh response! Ah police business dat!"

Are you vexed with Butch and his alleged stance on crime or are you peeved at Golding's stance? The 2 seem to be mutually exclusive.

Either you supported BG's stand on the matter and are peeved at B.Stewart's alleged interference, or you think BG was too disconnected and should thus support any appeal to a more engaging style from whatever source.

If Butch can get results like that I say Keep it up Butch and newsletter.

There is a lack of Vulcan logic from my POV...

"Now that Butch Stewart through his Newsletter has stated what he expects of Golding ..... look for a more hands on approach by Golding and the GOJ on the crime issue and the rehashing of tired, failed policies of the past ..... by next week probably.

No more of Golding saying in effect: Crime? But mi nuh response! Ah police business dat!"

Are you vexed with Butch and his alleged stance on crime or are you peeved at Golding's stance? The 2 seem to be mutually exclusive.

Either you supported BG's stand on the matter and are peeved at B.Stewart's alleged interference, or you think BG was too disconnected and should thus support any appeal to a more engaging style from whatever source.
                  My approach to posting is generally two fold:
                  Sometimes I post a direct opinion on a matter. Other times I just analyse a situation and try to reveal motives... this is often what amuses me .... not necessarily the obvious but the hidden.... and speculating on the hidden and what it means.ie more akin to news analysis.

In this case I see a public position by Golding's main financier .... then I postulate a reaction from Golding which will satisfy his supporter.... I did not reveal my own opinion on the matter.... hence... I guess... your confusion.

For the record, I support the view that Golding has to be more hands on with the crime issue..... but I would like to see something innovative and effective... what's been tried in the past won't work.
                  Last edited by Don1; May 30, 2008, 02:42 PM.

If Butch can get results like that I say Keep it up Butch and newsletter.
                    As usual, the subtlety and importance of how public policy and decision making are formulated escape you completely... or at the very least you are unconcerned about such matters.

Such issues are like icebergs.... 99% lies out of view.
                    Last edited by Don1; May 30, 2008, 03:03 PM.

My approach to posting is generally two fold:
                      Sometimes I post a direct opinion on a matter. Other times I just analyse a situation and try to reveal motives... this is often what amuses me .... not necessarily the obvious but the hidden.... and speculating on the hidden and what it means.ie more akin to news analysis.

In this case I see a public position by Golding's main financier .... then I postulate a reaction from Golding which will satisfy his supporter.... I did not reveal my own opinion on the matter.... hence... I guess... your confusion.

For the record, I support the view that Golding has to be more hands on with the crime issue..... but I would like to see something innovative and effective... what's been tried in the past won't work.
                      You mean alleged main financier.

As usual, the subtlety and importance of how public policy and decision making are formulated escape you completely... or at the very least you are unconcerned about such matters.

Such issues are like icebergs.... 90% lies out of view.
                        It is conjecture.

If you really want deep conjecture, then what you postulate is only 1% of the 99%!

You mean alleged main financier.
                          whatever works for you.

whatever is his actual ranking... he's definitely the LOUDEST.

It is conjecture.

If you really want deep conjecture, then what you postulate is only 1% of the 99%!
                            that IS very deep conjecture.... bottomless.

Not really, very deep, but with a base or basis! LoL