Walker heads to Customs

• Walker heads to Customs

FORMER DIRECTOR of Elections Danville Walker is expected to be named commissioner of customs today, The Gleaner has been reliably informed.
    Yesterday, Minister of Finance and the Public Service Audley Shaw said a new commissioner would be announced today.

He was speaking during the Jamaica Civil Service Association's annual general meeting at the Knutsford Court Hotel in New Kingston.
    Shaw said the present commissioner of customs, Hector Jones, retires today after 39 years of service at Customs.

"His departure will mean that we will have to look at a recalibration of how we manage the operations at Customs," the minister said while warning that there would be changes in the department.
    Walker was forced to resign as director of elections on May 5 because he has an American citizenship.

The Constitution bars anyone who swears allegiance to a foreign power from being a director of elections, senator or member of parliament.
    The restructuring of Customs is seen as part of Government's plans to increase revenue collection.

Shaw, in his contribution to the 2008-2009 Budget Debate, said that the Government planned to amend tax and customs laws to impose stiffer penalties on customs officials convicted of aiding and abetting tax evasion or fraud.

ef i laugh i dead.......here in the BVI no "foreigners" work for customs.

Customs - tied to nation's security. In the good old USA you have to be a US citizen.

mmmmmmmmm? Wonder if there is a box to check or something to affirm or swear to having no allegiance to another nation?

Customs - tied to nation's security. In the good old USA you have to be a US citizen.

mmmmmmmmm? Wonder if there is a box to check or something to affirm or swear to having no allegiance to another nation?

... mi tell unuh all the while ... unuh keep focusing on the wrong things. While yuh at it, how can we have so many ACPs that aren't Jamaican citizens?

As you know Karl, dual US citizens can work in customs, and for the federal government as well. We know the US does not recognize dual citizenship, but that is not relevant.

... mi tell unuh all the while ... unuh keep focusing on the wrong things. While yuh at it, how can we have so many ACPs that aren't Jamaican citizens?
            All the top developed countries have non-citizens at some level or other assist in providing aid to their security.

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
              As you know Karl, dual US citizens can work in customs, and for the federal government as well. We know the US does not recognize dual citizenship, but that is not relevant.
              ...but do they lie on the application form? Those forms always seem to have some section referring to 'applicable US law'?

All the top developed countries have non-citizens at some level or other assist in providing aid to their security.
                In the US you have to be a citizen to be in the CIA and FBI, but JCF top brass doesn't have to be Jamaicans? Personlly, I have no problem with it ... just trying to understand the logic of the jokers who insisted that Danville needed to "Step".

Talk bout poppyshows.

There is nothing wrong in having a dual citizenship to work for homeland security. I believe is it just policy that the US does not recognize dual citizenship.

that is what leaves me bewildered...it makes more sense to have a foreign director of elections than customs...after all don't wi allow foreign "electoral observers" to come in and scrutinise our elections.....

too confusing....

In the US you have to be a citizen to be in the CIA and FBI, but JCF top brass doesn't have to be Jamaicans? Personlly, I have no problem with it ... just trying to understand the logic of the jokers who insisted that Danville needed to "Step".

Talk bout poppyshows.
                      Just to be clear - (I do not know!) - but I thought the Commissioner of Police and the head of the JDF had to be a Jamaican citizen?

Rahtid Karl ... ACPs .. Assistant Commissioner of Police nuh top brass inna the JCF? Ahhh forget it .... cause you obviously trying to play dandy shandy.

I now get you!
                          Now tell us the exact status of these ACPs? On contract i.e. consultants...or actual permanent members of the police force?

what kind of question is that? why does it make a difference? they have the job, the power, the authority.....who cares if it is for 3 years or 6 months? a jamaican could hold it for that same time period too....? mi nuh get yuh...am i missing something?

I now get you!
                              Now tell us the exact status of these ACPs? On contract i.e. consultants...or actual permanent members of the police force?
                              Who gives a rats hass if they're consultants or permanent members? Follow Mosiah and his poppyshow stance. Dem nuh have access to vital information or as Adams dem love to say .. "intelligence." Dem not even dual citizens to rahtid ... unuh nuh concern dem may pass on vital information (in a Portia tone) to other countries? Or dat nuh matter as dem not preventing the PNP from regaining power?