• Crime plan is Commissioner’s responsibility

Thursday, 29 May 2008

Prime Minister Bruce Golding has responded to criticisms that his administration as failed to present a crime plan as well as claims that it is clueless about how to quell the current murder spree.

Mr. Golding said the job of developing a national crime plan is not his but solely that of the Commissioner of Police.

In his first public statement on the crime wave gripping the country, Prime Minister Golding said a response plan was something the police had to create without involvement from politicians.

As was expected, the issue of crime was the dominant topic of discussion for callers who participated in the monthly radio programme "Jamaica House Live" which is hosted by Mr. Golding.

Responding to questions about how the Government intends to deal with the worsening crime problem, the Prime Minister quashed the notion that it was the administration's responsibility to devise strategies.

"When you're talking about a crime plan, in terms of the strategies, that has to come from the Commissioner of Police, we can't interfere with that. Under the law, the amendment to Section Two of the Jamaica Constabulary Force (JCF) Act gives the Commissioner total control over operational stuff."

"What we have to do is make sure that we provide the policy framework and the resources to support the crime plan," said Mr. Golding.

Casting stones

The Prime Minister took the opportunity to launch a stinging attack on former Minister of National Security Dr. Peter Phillips who has been criticising the Government for remaining silent on the crime problem.

He accused Dr. Phillips of playing politics with an issue of national concern.

"I don't want to sound partisan this evening but Dr. Phillips must be careful how he gets on that strident approach because under his watch as Minister of National Security, 7,437 people were murdered."

"This is not a political problem, not a JLP of PNP problem, it's a problem for which we all have to find common cause," said Mr. Golding.

He hinted that in coming days steps will be taken to address the crime situation.

I was wrong

The Prime Minister also apologized to rank and file members of the Jamaica Constabulary Force.

There were rumblings in the JCF regarding Mr. Golding's response to a question regarding police killings during his interview on BBC Television programme "Hard TALK" last week.

Some members had complained that the Prime Minister's response had put the Force in a bad light.

But Mr. Golding said he never meant to offend the police.

He said they took offence to his pronouncements because it showed that his failure to differentiate between police killings and police murders was a virtual acceptance of the arguments put to him by the programme's host.

"In that respect, the Police Federation is right, in hindsight after listening to it, it's a distinction that should have been made and I should have made it. Therefore, I want apologize to the Police Force for having failed to point out to the interviewer that there is a difference between killings by the police and calling the police murderers," said Prime Minister Bruce Golding.

Conscience vote in Parliament on hanging

Mr. Golding has indicated that the administration is speeding up plans for the resumption of hanging in Jamaica.

He has signaled that the issue is close to being put to a conscience vote in Parliament.

"We will finally decide whether we're going to retain hanging or abolish it."

Prime Minister Golding said he has directed the Attorney General to draft that resolution that will be taken to and voted on in Parliament.

"If the results of that vote that will be driven by conscience say we must abolish hanging then we will abolish it and if the results say we must retain hanging then we going to oil up the gallows," said Mr. Golding.

Well, that may be true, but ... what if the soldiers are needed? The Commish has no authority over the JDF. Am I wrong? Anyway, the problem needs some serious attention and maybe its time for the Commish, the Cheif of Staff and the MONS to put their heads together.

Civilian oversight needed

Thursday, 29 May 2008

Prime Minister Bruce Golding has responded to criticisms that his administration as failed to present a crime plan as well as claims that it is clueless about how to quell the current murder spree.

Mr. Golding said the job of developing a national crime plan is not his but solely that of the Commissioner of Police.

In his first public statement on the crime wave gripping the country, Prime Minister Golding said a response plan was something the police had to create without involvement from politicians.

As was expected, the issue of crime was the dominant topic of discussion for callers who participated in the monthly radio programme "Jamaica House Live" which is hosted by Mr. Golding.

Responding to questions about how the Government intends to deal with the worsening crime problem, the Prime Minister quashed the notion that it was the administration's responsibility to devise strategies.

"When you're talking about a crime plan, in terms of the strategies, that has to come from the Commissioner of Police, we can't interfere with that. Under the law, the amendment to Section Two of the Jamaica Constabulary Force (JCF) Act gives the Commissioner total control over operational stuff."

"What we have to do is make sure that we provide the policy framework and the resources to support the crime plan," said Mr. Golding.

Casting stones

The Prime Minister took the opportunity to launch a stinging attack on former Minister of National Security Dr. Peter Phillips who has been criticising the Government for remaining silent on the crime problem.

"I don't want to sound partisan this evening but Dr. Phillips must be careful how he gets on that strident approach because under his watch as Minister of National Security, 7,437 people were murdered."

"This is not a political problem, not a JLP of PNP problem, it's a problem for which we all have to find common cause," said Mr. Golding.

He hinted that in coming days steps will be taken to address the crime situation.

I was wrong

The Prime Minister also apologized to rank and file members of the Jamaica Constabulary Force.

There were rumblings in the JCF regarding Mr. Golding's response to a question regarding police killings during his interview on BBC Television programme "Hard TALK" last week.

Some members had complained that the Prime Minister's response had put the Force in a bad light.

But Mr. Golding said he never meant to offend the police.

He said they took offence to his pronouncements because it showed that his failure to differentiate between police killings and police murders was a virtual acceptance of the arguments put to him by the programme's host.

"In that respect, the Police Federation is right, in hindsight after listening to it, it's a distinction that should have been made and I should have made it. Therefore, I want apologize to the Police Force for having failed to point out to the interviewer that there is a difference between killings by the police and calling the police murderers," said Prime Minister Bruce Golding.

Conscience vote in Parliament on hanging

Mr. Golding has indicated that the administration is speeding up plans for the resumption of hanging in Jamaica.

He has signaled that the issue is close to being put to a conscience vote in Parliament.

"We will finally decide whether we're going to retain hanging or abolish it."

Prime Minister Golding said he has directed the Attorney General to draft that resolution that will be taken to and voted on in Parliament.

"If the results of that vote that will be driven by conscience say we must abolish hanging then we will abolish it and if the results say we must retain hanging then we going to oil up the gallows," said Mr. Golding.

The Commissioner role is strickly operational however he cannot arrest currupt politicians.

He can't provide the force with resources (not even a new patrol car ) without approval.

He cannot address the court backlog

He cannot address the root causes of crime (soci-economic issues)

The buck stops with the Prime Minister and the Cabinet.

Originally posted by Time View Post
        The Commissioner role is strickly operational however he cannot arrest currupt politicians.

He can't provide the force with resources (not even a new patrol car ) without approval.

He cannot address the court backlog

He cannot address the root causes of crime (soci-economic issues)

The buck stops with the Prime Minister and the Cabinet.
        Come now Time ... is the PM implying that the commish is responsible for all of that? If you had read the article you'd see where he said, ""What we have to do is make sure that we provide the policy framework and the resources to support the crime plan," said Mr. Golding."
        1. "he cannot arrest currupt politicians." Are measures being put in place to have a special prosecutor for that?
        2. "He can't provide the force with resources (not even a new patrol car ) without approval." see PM's quote above.
        3. "He cannot address the root causes of crime (soci-economic issues)" New Social Intervention Programme to Help Fight Crime
        4. "He cannot address the court backlog" Plans to Improve Justice System
        The man said crime plan Time.

Come now Time ... is the PM implying that the commish is responsible for all of that? If you had read the article you'd see where he said, ""What we have to do is make sure that we provide the policy framework and the resources to support the crime plan," said Mr. Golding."
          1. "he cannot arrest currupt politicians." Are measures being put in place to have a special prosecutor for that?
          2. "He can't provide the force with resources (not even a new patrol car ) without approval." see PM's quote above.
          3. "He cannot address the root causes of crime (soci-economic issues)" New Social Intervention Programme to Help Fight Crime
          4. "He cannot address the court backlog" Plans to Improve Justice System
          The man said crime plan Time.
          ... and what are the parts of of a crime plan... just policing?

Thursday, 29 May 2008

Nice try, Brucie!
            Now should we 'play' some of the JLP's attacks on the PNP about inability to handle the 'crime situation'?

Casting stones

Correct posture...but again putting this beside comments made previous to the last elections...and during the election campaign...HYPOCRITE!
            Right?

...as I have tried to tell Lazie, Maudib and Comment you cannot have it both ways - Great when said of the PNP by the JLP...but a wiked and nasty ting when said of the JLP by the PNP!

If it was 'right' for the JLP to galang suh...then it must be right for the PNP to 'galang suh, tuh'! ...or wrang fi wan, wrang fi haul!
            Right?
            Last edited by Karl; May 30, 2008, 10:45 AM.

I tell you what, he has a job and can fail at that job, in spite of the things he supposedly can't do. As far as I am concerned, the commissioner is already making excuses for his failing grade.

Blessed

8 Months VS 18 years ???

Get real.

One has every right to criticize a Govt if its POLICIES do not impact on crime over almost a 2 decade rule.

PNP have NO CHAT bout NUTTING right about now.. neiddah yuh !

at least make it proportionate.....20 years vs 8 months....lawks massa!

8 Months VS 18 years ???

Get real.

One has every right to criticize a Govt if its POLICIES do not impact on crime over almost a 2 decade rule.

PNP have NO CHAT bout NUTTING right about now.. neiddah yuh !
                    Yuh nuh notice how mi a treat Brucie sof?
                    18 months? 18 months, baasss!

have you?!

have you?!
                        trus mi!