Haye-Webster resigning?

• Haye-Webster resigning?

RJR News understands that Member of Parliament (MP) for South Central St. Catherine, Sharon Hay-Webster is considering resigning as a consequence of her dual citizenship status.
    The MP who has been in Gordon House since 1997 has reportedly found herself in an untenable position in the wake of the recent court ruling on the status of another MP, Daryl Vaz of the governing Jamaica Labour Party (JLP).

In March, Chief Justice Zaila McCalla ruled that Mr. Vaz was not qualified to sit in Parliament when he contested last September's general election as he held American citizenship which is in contravention of the Jamaican Constitution.
    This ruling reportedly has similar implications for several other members of the JLP as well as Mrs. Hay-Webster of the opposition People's National Party (PNP).
    Mr. Vaz gained his American citizenship from his United States (US) born mother.

Mrs. Hay Webster was born in the US in September 1961 to a Jamaican father and a Haitian born mother.
    She was brought to Jamaica by her parents the following year and has been living here since.
    Mrs. Hay-Webster has maintained that she does not hold a US passport and has always traveled on a Jamaican passport.
    In light of the court ruling in the Vaz case, however, it is understood that she has been advised that she has no option but to give up her parliamentary career if she does not intend to renounce her US citizenship.

Mrs. Hay Webster has been insisting that she will not give up her status as an American citizen.
    When RJR News contacted the MP she would only say that she had sought legal advice and would be guided by any decision arrived at in discussions between the two major political parties.

Replacement
    Sources in the PNP have said that if Mrs. Hay-Webster should resign, Senator Basil Waite could be her possible replacement.
    It is reported that in recent weeks, Senator Waite has been approached by Party members and asked to consider running for the seat.
    Senator Waite served as President of the PNP Youth Organization between 1999 and 2002.

He then left for Harvard University where he pursued post graduate studies at the John F. Kennedy School of Government.
    Mr. Waite did a stint at the World Bank and was also a consultant at McKinsey and Company which is a leading international management consulting firm.
    He returned to Jamaica last year and was appointed an Opposition Senator following the September General Election.

Good move! She should have done that a long time ago for some other stuff she did, but I will take this.

Still though, what about the "swear allegiance to" part?

Yeah, what was your position on it again?

You tell me! Go ahead, do your grand search!

sigh

It does not matter Mo. If a person is a dual citizen, then they have to renounce their foreign citizenship, and resign, then seek re-election if they wish to remain in the position.

What does the law say? Did we not hear that if you did not swear allegiance to a farin power then it's okay? A short answer will suffice.

but what if you renew your passport?

The judge opined that that was tantamount to pledging allegiance. A no me say suh...

Yuh nuh read paper?

A dis part jump out at me

Mrs. Hay Webster has been insisting that she will not give up her status as an American citizen

Lolly

If she feels so strongly about it - don't let the door hit yah...

This entire episode is so comical ... and to think people like Mosiah don't see the irrelevance of this ridiculous law.

Hay-Webster has been MP since 1997, so are we going to review all the bills she voted on and see if it was an attempt to make Jamaica the 51st state?

This stupid law needs to be amended. No wonder we have Portia as PM in waiting.

So the law says as long as you neva literally pledge allegiance, no problem you don't have to renounce your dual citizenship?

Which means the argument about dual citizens would/could leave and go them other country after them screw up our country is a non-issue then?

If that is so then I am convinced that this whole issue is just using a legal technicality to overturn the will of the people and little else.

well dem open up di can a worms...one would have thought that their house would have been in order.....

anyway...same knife whey stick sheep .... kill him!!!

Portia leadership by Portia, mi feel seh all now shi nuh grasp what a gwa'an.......

What part of the law is ridiculous?