Police Federation Chairman calls for a crime plan

• Police Federation Chairman calls for a crime plan

Chairman of the Police Federation Corporal Raymond Wilson has challenged the new Security Minister to present a crime plan for the country. In his address to the more than 200 delegates at the annual conference on Tuesday afternoon, Corporal Wilson noted that great emphasis is being placed on investigating the police and he believes just as much should be placed on fighting crime in general.

He said some seven public bodies have been established to investigate cops but questioned the Minister's plans to stop the inflow of illegal arms, dismantle garrisons and improve community policing.
    Corporal Wilson also took the Prime Minister to task over what he describes as his failure to defend the police during his recent interview on the BBC'S Hard Talk Programme.

According to Corporal Wilson, while the Prime Minister did not accept the BBC interviewer's comments that the JCF is generally brutal, by presenting a solution, he acknowledged the reports.
    In his nearly hour and a half presentation the Federation Chairman also blasted the government, specifically the Finance Ministry for neglecting the importance of setting up the 40-hour work-week for the police, something he says is their legal right.

He noted however that foot-dragging will no longer be tolerated and that action will be taken if this is not put in place.
    He also called on Human Rights Group Jamaicans For justice to lobby for policemen's rights and stop treating them as common criminals.
    In wrapping up he urged members involved in corrupt acts to desist, reminding them that the Federation will not be tolerant of such acts.

Police Fed shoots down Golding's claims

Corporal Hartley Stewart, the general secretary of the Jamaica Police Federation, yesterday took Prime Minister Bruce Golding to task for agreeing with human rights lobbyists that the Jamaican police have engaged in extrajudicial killings.

The prime minister made the comments during a recent interview on the BBC programme 'HARDtalk'.

Addressing the federation's 65th annual conference at the Starfish Resort in Trelawny yesterday, Stewart rejected the prime minister's assertion.
    "How come the prime minister could declare to the entire world that the police in Jamaica are practising extrajudicial killing when he cannot find a single example, one conviction, one proper report anywhere that is substantiated by independent authority?" asked Stewart.

Defend the Jamaican police
    According to him, human rights lobbyists are championing their cause and somebody needs to defend the Jamaican police.
    He said in a report in which a group of human rights lobbyists criticised the police, the security personnel were also labelled as "murderers".

"We were labelled as murderers with further reports suggesting that we have killed 700 persons in the last several years," Stewart said.

He questioned whether the Golding administration realised that good governance depended on the support of the rank and file members of the Jamaica Constabulary Force (JCF).

"Do you think you can govern a society that does not have law and order?" asked Stewart. "Do you think you can have law and order without the participation of the police?"
    Stewart said if the integrity of the police was trampled and their sacrifices disregarded, it could strain the relationship between the Government and the JCF.

"You cannot expect to trample on the integrity of the police officers who are serving you," said Stewart. "You cannot expect to trample on the sacrifices made over the years."

Chairman of the Police Federation Corporal Raymond Wilson has challenged the new Security Minister to present a crime plan for the country. In his address to the more than 200 delegates at the annual conference on Tuesday afternoon, Corporal Wilson noted that great emphasis is being placed on investigating the police and he believes just as much should be placed on fighting crime in general.

He said some seven public bodies have been established to investigate cops but questioned the Minister's plans to stop the inflow of illegal arms, dismantle garrisons and improve community policing.
      Corporal Wilson also took the Prime Minister to task over what he describes as his failure to defend the police during his recent interview on the BBC'S Hard Talk Programme.

According to Corporal Wilson, while the Prime Minister did not accept the BBC interviewer's comments that the JCF is generally brutal, by presenting a solution, he acknowledged the reports.
      In his nearly hour and a half presentation the Federation Chairman also blasted the government, specifically the Finance Ministry for neglecting the importance of setting up the 40-hour work-week for the police, something he says is their legal right.

He noted however that foot-dragging will no longer be tolerated and that action will be taken if this is not put in place.
      He also called on Human Rights Group Jamaicans For justice to lobby for policemen's rights and stop treating them as common criminals.
      In wrapping up he urged members involved in corrupt acts to desist, reminding them that the Federation will not be tolerant of such acts.
      While we try and remove the corrupt cops, we should also try and get rid of the stupid ones.

His federation has fallen down on the job in securing rights for policemen, whatever those rights are that he wants. It is not the JFJ's job to secure such rights for the police, whatever they may be. I would really like to know exactly what the stupid cop is talking about.

He needs to stop worrying about those 7 bodies that have been set up to police the police. We probably need more. Corrupt cops cannot effectively fight crime! The sooner the fool understands this, the better off his own police officers will be.

He is right, however, that the govt. has not done jack to properly address this alarming crime wave that is sweeping over the country. And while that is happening, our leader has to time to talk bout who sleeping wid who. Joke ting!

Corporal Hartley Stewart, the general secretary of the Jamaica Police Federation, yesterday took Prime Minister Bruce Golding to task for agreeing with human rights lobbyists that the Jamaican police have engaged in extrajudicial killings.

The prime minister made the comments during a recent interview on the BBC programme 'HARDtalk'.

Addressing the federation's 65th annual conference at the Starfish Resort in Trelawny yesterday, Stewart rejected the prime minister's assertion.
        "How come the prime minister could declare to the entire world that the police in Jamaica are practising extrajudicial killing when he cannot find a single example, one conviction, one proper report anywhere that is substantiated by independent authority?" asked Stewart.

Defend the Jamaican police
        According to him, human rights lobbyists are championing their cause and somebody needs to defend the Jamaican police.
        He said in a report in which a group of human rights lobbyists criticised the police, the security personnel were also labelled as "murderers".

"We were labelled as murderers with further reports suggesting that we have killed 700 persons in the last several years," Stewart said.

He questioned whether the Golding administration realised that good governance depended on the support of the rank and file members of the Jamaica Constabulary Force (JCF).

"Do you think you can govern a society that does not have law and order?" asked Stewart. "Do you think you can have law and order without the participation of the police?"
        Stewart said if the integrity of the police was trampled and their sacrifices disregarded, it could strain the relationship between the Government and the JCF.

"You cannot expect to trample on the integrity of the police officers who are serving you," said Stewart. "You cannot expect to trample on the sacrifices made over the years."
        We all know that our courts have failed royally in convicting the murderous policemen among us. Orett knows this and knows that extra-judicial killings take place on perhaps a weekly basis.

Stewart need to chill. Just when yuh start feel sorry for those being killed in the line of duty, dem come wid dis and yuh realise dat maybe is because dem fool-fool why that happens.

I agree but the police must also
          realise that the force has been infiltrated by criminals. This in tirn has put the lives of the other hard working heroes at risk.

The JCF must work hard to flush the criminals from its ranks and restore moarle and confindence within the force. Without a doubt the security forces have sacrificed many lives to keep JA a democratic society; hence I cannot and will not join anyone to belittle the police force.

I believe that with the proper compensation and training the JCF can be a
          model for this region. Had it not been for the security forces, many of us could not disembark from Ja's airport.

We as a nation must put a brake on the madness. What madness? The way we allow crimials to operate without fear of the police. The way we write in the papers defending the actions of criminals. The we accept the concept of state within a state. If the above isn't dismantled we will embrace our cousins (haiti and Somalia) in the very near future.

I agree with Karl; disarm the society only security forces should have guns, at the same time serious steps should be made to weed out the criminals from the ranks of the security forces.

The way we write in the papers defending the actions of criminals.
            Give just one degeh-degeh example.

Thanks in advance!

Yuh nuh read di papers dem?

No. You?

Yes