• Two Cops Slain

TWO COPS SLAIN
    Criminals snatch M16, pistol in Trench Town ambushCOREY ROBINSON, Observer staff reporter robinsonc@jamaicaobserver.com
    Saturday, May 24, 2008

Constable Mark Lue, who was among the four cops ambushed in Trench Town while on patrol yesterday, weeps as he leaves the scene of his colleagues' murder. Behind him is Senior Superintendent George Quallo. (Photo: Llewelyn Wynter)
    Two police constables were brutally murdered at about midday yesterday by a group of heavily armed thugs, while patrolling a section of the tough, violence-prone south west St Andrew community of Trench Town, bringing to five the number of cops slain since the start of the year.
    Constables Cornel Grant, 34, who was assigned to the Denham Town Police Station, and Delano Lawrence from the Admiral Town Police Station, were ambushed as they walked in a tight passage at the side of a house on Third Street with two other colleagues who miraculously survived the attack.
    The killers took an M16 rifle and a 9mm pistol from the dead cops. A number of $100 and $50 notes on the ground where one of the cops lay suggested that his murderers went through his pockets before fleeing the scene.
    Police Commissioner Rear Admiral Hardley Lewin, who, accompanied by Deputy Commissioner Jevene Bent and other police top brass, was quick on the scene, extended condolences to the relatives of the slain cops and assured the public that the killings would not dampen the resolve of the police force to fight crime.
    "This most tragic incident, the murder of two of our police officers, serves to underscore the grave dangers that our police officers face throughout the length and breadth of this country," Lewin told reporters at the crime scene. "But I wish to assure all well-thinking citizens that this will only serve to strengthen the resolve of the officers in dealing with the monster of crime and violence in the country."
    Inspector Raymond Wilson, chairman of the Police Federation, which represents cops up to the rank of Inspector, questioned the commitment of both major political parties to dismantle garrisons and confront crime head-on.
    "We have spoken about it over the years, we have spoken about the garrison arrangement and what it is facilitating, and yet all we hear is talk, we have not seen any physical attempt to remove any of these arrangements and to create a formal setting so as to ensure that the community gets the service from the police," Wilson told reporters.
    "The men were brutally murdered. They were executed; and I think that it is time that Jamaicans open their eyes to the reality. It is time that our government, whoever they are, understand the physical environment within which we have to police," Wilson added.
    Opposition spokesman on national security, Dr Peter Phillips, extended condolences to the family, colleagues and friends of both policemen and said that their brutal slaying was all the more disturbing as it occurred on Labour Day - "the day that our collective spirit of nationhood was called together in an effort to advance our communal psyche and brotherhood as a nation".
    "Today, we were called upon to work in unison and demonstrate our collective strength and creativity, and sadly at the same moment two officers from our ever thinning line of defence were gunned down," said Phillips.
    "We, the law-abiding, are forced once again to confront another ugly and brutal act of savagery against the Jamaica Constabulary Force at the hands of criminals who continue to threaten our peace and freedom," Dr Phillips said. "The country cannot afford to cower in the face of this type of brazen attack against our law-men and on the civility of the nation."
    He renewed his call on the Government to "articulate a plan and tell the country how it intends to arrest this worsening security situation".
    Yesterday at the Denham Town Police Station, one of the cops who survived the ambush broke down and wept as he told colleagues of the frightening ordeal.
    "I stood there and watched the men die and could do nothing," cried the heavy-set cop, who had to be counselled by the station chaplain.
    Grief-stricken colleagues described the murdered cops as "hard-working, jovial" persons, and noted that Grant, who was shot two years ago in the abdomen, had only returned to work four days ago after taking time off from the job.
    Also at the station, the mother of Grant's eight-month-old son wept bitterly, while gripping her stomach and exclaiming that she could not believe that he was dead. She, too, had to be counselled.
    Ann Marie Benjamin, with whom Grant sired a four-year-old son, broke down at the murder scene and had to be escorted away by a few female officers who attempted to console her.
    "Him was a good man, him don't deserve to die like this," another woman lamented.
    - Additional reporting by Paul Henry

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Boy dread in the ghetto

BORN AND RAISED IN THE GHETTO

Man a go talk bout Tivoli a the only place police don't have access to.

Ah bwoy

So don't worry police will get tips from the informers

Assasin, you don't have a clue. What is your ignorant argument this time? If it wasn't so serious it would be comic relief.

Two Policemen Killed video

I may not know much but I remember my days when I use to take bus and come off a di corner a Lyndust Road and mini van conductors wouldn't ask me for fare because I was going down a jungle. I remember how many road blocks I had to pass with my uncle and all the lookout spots along the road, giving a few dollars on certain corners, while them chat about runnings such as the death of Starsky or a certain bank robbery that some a locals died in.

I may not know what exactly happening today but is not like I don't know jungle. In 2003 when I went to Ja a right at a little cook shop a the mouth a jungle mi eat some wicked food from a bredda who came from mi district so don't think a somebody who know nothing bout town this.

Well, what is your point? Are you saying that police can't enter Jungle too, like Tivoli?

I have to ask because you just made this statement a while ago: "Man a go talk bout Tivoli a the only place police don't have access to."

Let me see if you know what a gwaan fi real.

To be frank I spent more time in Jungle than in Tivoli. Cornation Market I spent a lot of time but not inside Tivoli.

My point is that the police is having a very hard time policing either of these communities amongst others. I am not aware of the current inner workings of these community but killing two cops inna Jones town send a chilling and damning message about police doing their job in this area.

In an aim to politicise everything and mek excuse for Tivoi, I think wi mixing up some issues.

The fact is police do not patrol Tivoli Gardens. Never seen it. Of course, some police officers come from Tivoli or provide protection for Seaga when he is there, so police are in Tivoli but they don't carry out patrols.

Perhaps they don't have to. Tivoli has their own justice system and crimes are not reported to the CCN. Maybe it is the safest place in Jamaica, but we will never really know. And to some extent, it is true. People can sleep with their doors open in many parts of Tivoli. But I can say the same thing about Waterhouse. My bredren can leave him bicycle on a wall in Waterhouse, unchained, and come back 8 hours later and it nuh move!

I see guns on a regular basis in Tivoli. The only time I have seen a gun in Arnett is when a man pointed out a bulge in a man waist. That's not hard to understand. Why walk around with guns in Arnett when a police patrol could spot u with it? And I am not that naive to believe that Arnett doan have a huge arsenal of guns, they just don't walk wid it so-suh-suh.

So now, no need to discuss that any further. Those are the facts.

There are regular patrols in the Rema and Arnett Gardens/Trench Town areas. (Heaven knows which area is called what sometimes.) The big black armoured car is almost permanently parked out by a corner and the Trench Town Police station is nearby. That does not stop the crime, apparently. Just the other day I heard the war was no more because the big man is now back in charge. About 4 nights ago, I drove on that very street where the two cops were murdered in broad daylight. Dat place not seeing me again any time soon! None of these places have the type of "order" that Tivoli Gardens has.

Now, given the above, why is there a need to politicise anything? The fact of the matter is both areas are garrisons, and as such, they have guns galore, and the police does not have any control or say in these areas, patrolled or not. What happened in Rema could not happen in Tivoli because there is no police walking around to be picked off.

So, I have drawn parallels and made some distinctions between a JLP-controlled and a PNP-controlled Rema only because you, Assasin, made some statement that left me befuddled.

The issue don't need any politicisation. What it needs is the political will to get rid of garrisons, provide services for people and get tough on crime wherever it exists, which includes ridding the streets of the guns and preventing more from getting in.

What policising are you talking about? As I said based on what I know in the 80s and 90 no police use to go certain places in Jungle and the last time I pass Jungle(2003) I saw 6 cops all with some M16s and it drove chill down my spine just remembering that these guns exited. There was a time when carrying a gun open in Jungle was no problem, if it has changed then good but it is not like this wasn't the order of the day.

The kind of stories I use to hear, and this is involve jungle justice, or you saying that Tivoli have their own court system?
                      Let me say I know when certain don had to run from Jungle and head to the hills and them man deh have their own justice. I hope for your sake it is really better and police can make a difference in these places but I know my personal history with these places. As a matter of fact in when the big meeting at Halfway tree Square in the 1980 election I was in jungle that night so a nuh like mi use to know how these place run.

I just know that the mentality of some of these people in these areas have to change because when man can shoot up at will it make no difference if a PNP or JLP area to me.

Sass, you want talk history. Is now me talking bout. Things have changed. Not everything because people still dropping like flies and that is the problem.

Didn't say anything about any place being "better". Difficult to use such a word about these places. And mi dun say dat di patrols are probably useless. Read what I write, sass!

The govt., whichever one it is, must begin to give these people some hope. Yes, di PNP did dideh fi 18 years and now di JLP fi 8 months. Mi nuh care! Time fi wi deal wid garrisons, poverty, crime.

Mo understand my problem with the PNP was they failed to do the the very basic of growing the economy. If the JLP don't in 2-3 years I will be crying for their head as well. I support no party gunmen at all. If a leader is saying and doing the right things I will support them but I am not a party man.

Me and you have had extensive argument about moving some of these people out of the inner city into structured community outside of Metro Kingston. I already told you many of these youths should go to boarding school outside of their communities as these communities encourage slackness for some part.

Bruce Golding however has not been in office for a year and he has made some very good moves to help the people of Jamaica. Free healthcare, free education, casino gambling, and doing the rounds, saying some of the right thing so I wait to see what the impact will be. By the way he has been getting some good ratings from international organization so we will see. My only disappointment has been with crime so let me see what happen.