Ammunition for Patois in Schools Movement!

Dis medium is inadequate to explain to you di reason behind what gamma and I are saying. Just go back to what I found on the Internet:

Studies show that children attending supplementary courses in their mother tongue will master the official language of the region better.

I am arguing that English is not our mother tongue. Maybe that's where we need to start.

Is English our mother tongue, Lazie?

Dis medium is inadequate to explain to you di reason behind what gamma and I are saying. Just go back to what I found on the Internet:

Studies show that children attending supplementary courses in their mother tongue will master the official language of the region better.

I am arguing that English is not our mother tongue. Maybe that's where we need to start.

Is English our mother tongue, Lazie?
      So if its not English is what then? Igbo?

No, seriously, Lazie. Ansa mi just dis once - is English our mother tongue? Remember, "our" means more than those of us who ply between Jacks Hill, New Kingston, Campion and parts of St. Ann.

No, Karl. There is already "standard patois" out there. Ms Lou and Ms Cooper may differ but only slightly.

You now, whole diffrant ball game. For instance, how di hell you get "talk" to translate into "taa-k"?!? Hyphen?!? WT-F!
          So is taaalk correct...or taaak...or...?
          How many "a"s must our patois pronunciation for talk have? What is the spelling for the "k" sound?

...and who determines the "standard patois"? ...sets the inflexible patois dictionary guidelines? Ms. Lou, Dr. Cooper or....?

Finally I have not a clue...and therefore write as it sounds coming out of my mouth! Certainly when I speak no one see spelling???? Right???

I undasta-n, Kaa-l!

or as the stush would say "crawle"....

unnuh tek set 'pon campion eh?

Do you believe we should encourage TEACHING IN patois ?

The fix for the low capacity for comminication in Standard english is to teach in Patois ??

Heh, heh. Before we attempt to be profound maybe we should attempt to master the less profound... properly enable the education system to transfer core knowledge at the basic and primary level.

A poor teacher in a poor system cannot turn out good students merely by having them instruct in patois... mi know unnuh rate di patois ting but tek time..

Do as I do.. not as I say...

LOL !

Poor teachers, poor system.

Work on fixing dat.

Stop trying to be profound wi nuh reach di level yet to be profound.. white man can afford to attempt profundity.. dem master di basics.

Mi tell yuh ahready seh nuh assume teacha a teach inna english.

baby steps....maybe eventually....but my immediate advocacy is for it to be taught

Well.. mi nuh have nuh problem with that.. as long as it is an option.

Will your son be doing French, Patios or Civics ?

What wrong wid Accord?

Yuh nuh si di price of Gas ?

depends on where he is at that time.....