Ammunition for Patois in Schools Movement!

• Ammunition for Patois in Schools Movement!

While some Swiss people think that the high immigration rate and the high proportion of immigrants' children in Swiss schools are a danger to Switzerland's cultural tradition and identity, others see multiculturalism as a desirable enrichment. Regardless of these political preferences one has to acknowledge that it is hard work for these children to master two or even three different languages long before courses in foreign languages start officially. Local Swiss authorities in major cities do try to help them: there are special courses in the mother tongue for several nationalities (in cooperation with the corresponding embassies). Studies show that children attending supplementary courses in their mother tongue will not only develop their personal identity more easily but they also master the official Swiss language of the region better.

I have been right all along.

Gamma, our work is done!

our work done long time.....

What a sad state of affairs.

Man ah call broken english a mother tongue...

Black Man Time indeed.

Jawge, what-a-gwaan ?

imagine.....broken latin became .....italian, french, portuguese, spanish AND romanian!

Suh what 'language' yuh believe dem teaching in (outside of Campion College)

English ??

Look like seh yuh nuh watch Local News and watch teacha a struggle inna interview !

LOL !

Good fi dem.

Dem all haffi learn hinglish in 2008.

Teacha don't need nuh official blessing fi teach inna patois.. dem don't have a choice.

you mean we overcame and we didn't even know it?!!! as mi 6 y.o. would say"what tha.."

Is only because yuh guh good school why yuh nuh realize whatagwaan.

Mek yuh did guh tuh Mosiah school or Don1.. well then again mi cyaan swear seh Don1 did guh school.

Look like seh yuh nuh watch Local News and watch teacha a struggle inna interview !

LOL !
                  Dat is so true. These days, the coaches do a better job than many principals, nah lie!

Di teacha dem need formal patois training. Dat might help dem!

Can we teach ebonics in Jamaica?

Yow n.i.g.g.a.z, we up in here, me and you don't take to reading.

Wi have wi owna patois. Tanks!

Speaking of patois, Karl is the undisputed best writer of patois on the site. 'ail up Mas Karl.

Patois provides words that convey meaning that standard English doesn't without getting into circumlocution.

I believe though that the study of patois should be done in the context of Jamaican studies (e.g.history or social studies).

And the argument highlighted in red isn't really the situation in Jamaica is it? We not talking about immigrant children are we? You feel if we encourage the use of patois standard English might be better learnt?

pr

I've been giving this a little thought and I can see the merit of validating patois. Good luck getting the M of E onside.
                          pr

welcome sah....mi an' mosiah waging the battle on yah....

patois is not to be taught "instead of", but "in addition to". the world has adopted so much of the culture jamaica, likkle jamaica..... reggae (grammy....and the birth of reggaeton), rasta (check any dictionary), jerk (mi si 'pon menu's in germany and greece) and they are clamouring for patois

I wonder what the excuse is for poor mathematics skills?