Genuflecting to Butch

Yeah man.. much prefer the paper than regales us with Memoir coverage..

LOL !

No, just JLP. Dat is whatta gwaan.

BTW, point out the lie or 2 from the "newsletter" as you call it. LoL
        I am not the one who brought up this value-added notion, but I see you made some attempt elsewhere.

Willi, not pointing out the lies, just yet. But don't believe everyting yuh read, esp. when it comes to Sandals and their competition.

And by the way, I am not saying that we should allow the Spaniards or anyone else to run amok.

Just make sure only the Gleaner offers critical commentary...

I dont think Golding did anything wrong. Who cares where the messages comes form as long as the message is correct. The observer did go over the top and opens the question of fair coverage. But I dont agree with your polictical tie in here. If it was lee chin and some bank you would say the same thing. I dont think any well thinking spanish investor should be put off by this.

Originally posted by Farmah View Post
              "Genuflecting to Butch"?????

Other Spanish investors shying away from Jamaica is their own realization that we will not just allow them to come into the island and do what they want outside the parameters of the rules and regulations.
              Good read...but do you really see it as investors not seeing advantages...best use of investment dollars...or at the very least an equation or sameness to what they would be afforded elsewhere?

The point is ...example - as has happened here in Port St. Lucie and Orlando...the investors refused to build their research center in Orlando as Orlando would not teak its laws/rules/regulations to accommodate them...but are building in Port St Lucie as Port St Lucie was able to accommodate them...have the Spanish investors pulled out to put their money/investment dollars where they are better accommodated? If they have, could 'we' have dealt with them in a manner wherein which there could have been some 'give and take' and the investment dollars and proposed additional benefits remained in and accrued to Jamaica and its people?

One reality is, investors always seek to put investment dollars where there is potential 'best returns'. In that light...and the assumption must be that "investor due deligence" was done...having chosen JA why suddenly 'not JA'?

Could our government have protected us and at the same time had the investments remain?! Why has our government not been able to 'close' what was in effect 'a done deal'?! Why scuttle the deal...and precipitate the...we now are hearing (may be bluff?)...known stop to, in the pipeline, additional deals/investments? Does that type 'managing' make sense? ...show competence? I do not know...help me?
              Last edited by Karl; May 15, 2008, 12:34 PM.

That type of "managing" makes no sense at all! We are the losers.

Stop bow pon man yuh old nastiness.

I wonder if Butch was black what the views on this board would be?

Mi woulda love know misself!

If I were to hazard a guess it would be that of him as a "Paul Bogle" figure resisting the white colonialists.

You posted this article by Espeut:

I am cautiously optimistic about this government's environmental intentions. The appointments to the boards of government agencies which have to do with the environment actually have real environmentalists on them, and the Government's approach to the flagrant breaches at Mahoe
                          Bay has been decisive and refreshing. But will things actually be different?

Demolition orders
                          Will the Government back down and allow Riu to keep its fourth floor (or is it a fifth floor) in the flight path of the Sangster International Airport? To my knowledge, in recent Jamaican history, few demolition orders for illegal buildings have ever been issued, and none has actually been carried out.

Has this government really changed course, or will it continue the anti-environmental practices of the PNP? Will applications not responded to by NEPA within 90 days be allowed to go ahead with a presumption of approval, as Mr. Golding says? That will be a recipe for even greater environmental degradation than under the PNP. Time will tell if this golden opportunity will be just another missed opportunity.
                          Peter Espeut is a sociologist and an environmentalist. For feedback, email columns@gleanerjm.com.

btw - Among other things, how do you see my comments on this Rui issue fitting in with my many calls on need for protection of the environment or anguish on lack thereof?

Madness!

The presence of an "approved" modified plan (in Spanish, no less) told me all I need to know. This is a clear case of fraud and underhandedness.

No wonder we are in the mess we are! Bandooloo gone mad to rhatid.

Read what is happening in Cancun. John maxwell is no friend of Bruce and the JLP. Go read his multi-year long campaign against the Spanish hoteliers!
                            OK.. if you want to be judge, jury and executioner... be my guest.

As for me.. I can wait on the process. Let's see who is charged with wrongdoing and found guilty.

John Maxwell's opinions are immaterial here.. I was not addressing that.... just the editorial campaign by the Daily Tampon.... clearly a corruption of professional journalism.... that's my take.

That would be a good guess...

Yuh haffi nod and smile with this bunch.

Yuh cyaan blame dem.. PNP was prostrating themselves and the country.. all of a sudden braps punnany (or whatevah yuh raddah) stop give weh...