Rudi, was it you who a few months back

• Rudi, was it you who a few months back

described Super Cat as a "Philosopher"? If not forgive me. There was a Mother's Day concert in NY last weekend featuring Buju Barrington Levy and Super Cat. From day one I've been asking why Super Cat? But as mi brother said, not because mi nuh rate him nuh mean him nuh have him fans. Okay ... we all ain't perfect.

Night a di show there was some discussion between Levy and Kat .. no Cat that when a certain riddim is being played Levy is going to return and do a specfic song that is on the riddim. Levy heard the riddim and walked out to perform, Super Cat tell him fi wait until him call him. What di fock?

Who is the bigger star of the 2? My money would be on Levy. Hearing Levy on Carribbean Fever on Sunday, the man obviously felt dissed. He said he simply left the venue. Futhermore, why is Cat performing after Levy? Anybody if open that show should be Cat with his 3 or 4 meaningless songs. Better dem did get Rexton Rawlston Fernando Gordon. BIGGER artiste.

My son did a video, Cat was damn rude, his songs does not carry over to today. His name was at the top of the posters, reason for top billing I guess, is band was all white, muy son said he was cursing Rasta, but when he fininsh a song he said "Jah Rastafari" what a think, I know he wont get to play the Casinos.

fernando in deh tuh? wha...... none a dem name deh can compare to the dj diety known as shabba!!!!

Cat has not been acting ral friendly of late(put it that way).

Sometimes when artists are used to be on top it is hard time for them to come down.

Never liked most of Cat's body of work. heh heh! "Body of work" - like a big artiste mi a talk bout.

And the times has certainly left him behind. Him need fi go siddung now.

I think you may have summed it up right there sass. I am dealing with the cat from the stereomars days. Something like this: "Holler fi de yutes":
            Holler fi de yutes, holler fi de yutes
            Mi no holler fi no dupe(r), mi no holler fi no supe(r)
            But mi wi cry me wi cry fi de yutes
            mi no cry fi no man inna no three piece suit
            mi no cry fi no man inna no criss clarks heal boot
            but mi wi cry yes cry fi de youth.
            Or:
            Where were you when de ghetto was hot?
            and we looking the food fi we pot
            Don die hearted dog heart say dat
            we had to lick a couple bank a couple store a couple shop
            and police dem say wi get hot, Garden man fire shot jungelist lick it back
            and the whole community get flat, where were you when the ghetto was hot?
            PNP fire shot JLP lick it back, police fire shot bad man lick it back
            Where were you when the ghetto was hot?

Mo there is big money out there fi former glory days Artist to make a good living and going places and performing. They can make a lot more than many hype up artists. However nobody wants to relate to grumpy old artists.

At tis age he should be mellowing out. Yes lot a money in Europe, Califonia, Japan, Brazil, Up new England, Virginia etc. You have some a them old artist who nuh stop perform and make a good change but it is one thing fi perform and it is another to think you are 20 year old.

Well when the cat drop BOOPS it took the cake.

Only Tiger Wanga Gut and Early B one Wheelie could compete.

I am sure Cat still feels he is a 20 year old gangsta and di baddest ting behind a microphone.

Never liked most of Cat's body of work. heh heh! "Body of work" - like a big artiste mi a talk bout.

And the times has certainly left him behind. Him need fi go siddung now.
                    Well Cat's body of work probably most accurately describes a time in Jamaican history that we would most like to forget and pretend didnt actually take place. A time when it was a given that murder because of supposedly political affiliation was ok. Nowadays Sean Paul who without reservation copied the delivery style (if not the content) of Cat is huge commercial success so he probably isnt the first one to think the world no level.

What put Sean Paul over the top were the sexy girls on his videos. He said to hell wid the leisurely strolls with the Jungle high rises as a backdrop. Instead, he said, whey di ooman dem deh!

Mo don't discount education, the ability to relate to people and the uptown connections.

All a my radio friend them tell me that when artist hot them will play them but if the artist nuh have nuh personality and is rude, the artist can nuh bodda call them once their five minutes of fame done.

And!, Sean Paul was a better dancer than Super Cat!

Sean Paul still a rock di likkle one move him learn, di wacky dip?

mi bredrin used to laugh and tell mi how funny it sounded when dem uptown yutes was at jeremy harding's studio and a dj gun and ghetto lyrics....him eventually find him niche!

them should have a dancing contest.