Buju pleads for other artistes to ... CLEAN UP YOUR MUSIC

• Buju pleads for other artistes to ... CLEAN UP YOUR MUSIC

Popular deejay Buju Banton has issued an emotional appeal to his fellow entertainers to clean up their lyrics in order to help Jamaica to recover from its present social decay.
    The deejay, who posted a message in his newsletter, The Gargamel Gleaner, said that the country is presently having a problem with; crime, politics, the dons, the deejays and lesbian and gays.

"We are suffering a social decay yet no one, not a single one of our entertainers, have seen the need for a change in the lyrical content they are selling," the deejay said.
    The rastafarian deejay further stated that in the past, entertainers were such a vocal set that even church leaders would quote them during service.

"What happened? Have we all become followers now, instead of leaders for our people? No wonder these political snipers are getting away with blue murder. Everybody is afraid of what speaking out might bring," he stated in the newsletter.

Conscious message
    Buju became known for the conscious message in his songs, after he took on the rastafarian faith in the late 90s. He released songs such as Murderer and Til I'm Laid To Rest. The deejay since then has released notable albums such as Inna Heights and the most recent Too Bad.
    But while the deejay has never been afraid of expressing his thoughts in his music he only recently began expressing himself through the Gargamel newsletter.

The deejay in his emotional statement further said; "I have no friend in high society. My friends are those I can identify with, those who have a heart, conscience, those who see our country overrun by crooks and cut throats, and are calling deep inside for their champions to restore their pride and dignity so we Jamaicans can once more hold our heads high and serve this great nation with our all. We have a responsibility. Let's pull together."

A few weeks ago one of dancehall music's largest sponsors, Red Stripe beer, also made a similar appeal. The beer company took the stance to pull its endorsement of dancehall music that promoted violence.
    This decision was largely criticised by some entertainers who promised to boycott the product.

... Thanks Buju. Then again, people whey suppose to have sense a follow idiots talk bout boycott Red Stripe.

Buju a fight dancehall music.

Wha happen him too big? or a true him do two tune with Berres and Wayne Wonder him tink him a singer?

A whe Bricky deh

The Red Stripe did no such thing, Buju stated we have a PROBLEM with crime, politics, the dons, the deejays and lesbian and gays.
        What Red Stripe did wasn't an appeal, it was insidious censorship.

Blessed

Guess who Jah Cure did a par wid B$ hym guh prison, nuh de man Berres, and Sizzla was the one that made the intro....
          Buju will always exercise his right to say what he wants about homosexuality.

Blessed

Blessed

in odda words... bullying jamaica and jamaica music to further their agenda...

a long time mi hear buju a mek dem talk deh... that is not a new position from buju...

Buju is a dancehall artist with nuff integrity. A true example for others to follow.

Lazie ,you are myopic, silly and generalistic , If you cannot see the difference in a DJ calling his fellow artist who ply his own trade to clean up thier lyrics, notice how he links social decay to crime and homosexuality to a conglomorate openly broadsiding a whole industry with financial sanctions , with out promoting or appeasing the positive side of the DJ (reggae) industry like Buju has done the (clean lyrics)

Then you are what you say others are an .......

Blessed.
                  Last edited by Sir X; May 13, 2008, 09:56 PM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

see above

see above

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Lazie ,you are myopic, silly and generalistic , If you cannot see the difference in a DJ calling his fellow artist who ply his own trade to clean up thier lyrics, notice how he links social decay to crime and homosexuality to a conglomorate openly broadsiding a whole industry with financial sanctions , with out promoting or appeasing the positive side of the DJ industry like Buju has done the (clean lyrics)

Then you are what you say others are an .......

Blessed.
                      Red Stripe and other sponsors made similiar pleas years ago ... things didn't get better. Now they've acted ... people a talk bout boycott Red Stripe?

Is this a comprehension problem ? How long has Buju been saying this ? How long has other people in the industry been saying the same thing?

Is it a 1st ?

Its the 1st a conglomorate has taken such a stand , not against slackness music or voilence music but a whole genre of music Reggae that encompasses , Lovers Rock or Rock steady , rebel music, roots man music or culture , to DJ music both slack and culture .

Red stripe broadsided a whole industry , yuh get it now ? so I ask you what is the motive, boycott fe boycott yes and dem will loose.It naah last till the end of summer X say dat .

Is this a comprehension problem ? How long has Buju been saying this ? How long has other people in the industry been saying the same thing?

Is it a 1st ?

Its the 1st a conglomorate has taken such a stand , not against slackness music or voilence music but a whole genre of music Reggae that encompasses , Lovers Rock or Rock steady , rebel music, roots man music or culture , to DJ music .

Red stripe broadsided a whole industry , yuh get it now ? so I ask you what is the motive, boycott fe boycott yes and dem will loose.It naah last till the end of summer X say dat .
                          X ... use google and research how much Red Stripe has pumped into the music industry. When yuh done, edit yuh post about broadside. The man dem tek a stand .... more sponsors need to do the same. Maybe when other artistes like Buju start talking out, the culprits will fall in line.

Generalistic again ..Buju start talking , and others need to follow suit ,im and others juss start talking ?

All i have to say is the B.Man dem ave over reached , help dem out dis summer dem a guh need yuh.

Things are probably bad because of the majority, paucity is irrelevant it seems.
                              Red Stripe too(however small and seemingly voiceless)has people that oppose them with a even more clear moral backing.
                              Love ones of victims of drunk driving, women that likely are abused by their love ones because they had a stripe or two much at a family sporting(a frigging domino game) event sponsored by Red Stripe.

Blessed