Crime: The way forward

• Crime: The way forward

There is NO law enforcement solution to Jamaica's crime crisis, short of a military takeover..... even that would only work for a while... then it would be back to normal... ie mayhem... even with the military in the streets.

The inadequacy of a law enforcement led approach as a solution is a question of:

1. mathematics
    We produce criminals much FASTER than they can be killed, captured or deterred

2. economics
    It is MUCH CHEAPER for Jamaica to produce those prone to criminality than it is to improve law enforcement to the point where criminals are killed, captured or deterred at a higher rate than we can produce them.

This is why our traditional law enforcement approach to crime reduction will ALWAYS ultimately fail.... especially with our flawed law enforcement apparatus.
    Of course this is not to say that the justice system should not be upgraded... it needs massive investment.... double the size of the police service , new training, equipment, new prisons, overhaul the court system, modernized laws etc etc
    But this cannot make the required breakthrough ... something radical is needed in combination with improved law enforcement.... and if this something is not found... improved law enforcement will largely be a waste of time and money.

I think Wignall has some interesting approaches..... the devil is always in the details and clearly his outline proposal needs to be thought through and refined to be workable but his proposal is worthwhile.

There is scope for an enhanced role by the churches in the affected communities as well as the PMI or similar intervention NGOs... as intermediaries or honest brokers between the GOJ authorities/security forces and the criminal leaders who control communities. Churches have infrastructure throughout Jamaica... it's time to stop preaching to the choir... time to reach out to the untouchables.

Church leaders need to go further than prayer breakfasts at the Pegasus (I never understood this nonsense... go where the crime is dammit!) and highly promoted statements in the press.... they need to get their hands dirty.... otherwise they are part of the problem like most of the rest of us.

Of course such a strategy has to be combined with other elements... remedial education, job creation, slum clearance and improved housing, improved infrastructure in the inner cities etc. etc

Much money has to be spent on any credible assault on this crime monster. If Jamaica intelligently spent (in new money) say US$2B over 10 years on improving the lives of people in the most at risk communities... we would be able to make a dent in this problem.

Foreigners are contemplating spending US$5b+ on individual resorts and obviously expect to make a handsome return.
    Tax payers have spent more than US$1b in recent years subsidizing Air Jamaica.. with little to show for it except keeping the owners of hotels happy and some people employed.... so big spending on our most at risk people is a very small price to pay for improving their lives and gaining social stability and building our social capital... the ROI could be enormous.... dwarfing a similar amount spent on ANY other investment in Jamaica in my view... it's good economics.

Where would US$200m/year for at least 10 years come from to fund this?
    Uncle Hugo's PetroCaribe Fund comes to mind..... dedicate at least 50% of this fund annually for 10 years to building social capital in ghetto communities..... we'll be on the way to a different, better country.

We have to get over our disdain of the urban and rural poor and spend significant money on improving their lives for the first time in our history... we will all benefit.

The question is NOT can we afford it...... the reality is that we CANNOT afford NOT to do it.

Karl and Jawge

Sounds like "Poor people time" and "Black Man Time" never work out too well.

Bad Management ? or maybe a lack of intelligence or both..

One breddah dis seh ti tek cash to care....

Oh yeah the planter class have garnered profits
      for years off govt. partnerships not investing back in the local economy. Now global market forces are coming to change the guard, I hear squealing and wailing. Resistance is futile; you are destined to be a relic.

You are not accustomed to comepetion; you did not treat your workers well. One strategy which can easily briong your vulnerable kingdom to an end is to share profits (ven 1%) with local employees in euro or US dollars. Unnuh nuh see nutten Yet . The thing is we cannot hit back becuase our human capital is under educated to take advantage with our devalued dollar (primarily in areas of technology).

Writing is on the wall: go ahead make your last stand.

Your party was a magnificent failure during a period where the rest of the world economies grew at a rapid pace.

You are on record as supporting this monumental failure.

Now you are left making cryptic sound bites promising doom.

Pathetic.

maudid, what is exactly is your take of what don1 wrote above...

...additionally - JA is really a tiny place! How then these criminals escape to hang around and create mayhem?

The solution:
            DISARM the society.
            Two things would occur -
            i) The criminals would stand out!
            ii) Those on the side of the law with guns would stand out and could not easily make a case for shooting the unarmed.

Then there is the criminal without a gun or other dangerous weapon who would not so often be shot and or killed...unless the 'lawful' is willing to suffer the consequence.

Criminal with gun would have declared themselves - BUD!

It would be less stressful to investigate crimes...and the citizens would feel more obliged to 'report' and or act as witnesses against offenders.

--------
            It is a fact that a satisfied people are less prone to 'rebellion' and or 'rebellious behaviour' (read this as any type anti-social behaviour).

Jobs! Jobs! Jobs! - fullfilling jobs!

Training! Training! Training! (take this any and all possible interpreted ways - via schools, universities, apprenticeship, continuous education, vocational training...whatever....and constantly improving delivery of and access to that training)

Outlets for recreation for all - e.g. improving the number of parks and system of managing same. Opportunity for all - young, not so young and old to partake.

Easy access to path to upward mobility.

--------

Sure all of the above calls for good governance...

...but one of the many problems is the over-looking that good governance must occur at all levels of the society. Those who govern at the level of political party directorate as we know it are themselves mere products of the 'good governance' or lack thereof at the lower levels...

...thus the involvement of schools and churches, social and sports clubs,...etc...is vital! It calls for an outpouring of change in current mind-set - a call to renounce criminality in all its forms...a call to move the society towards a less crass and more civil state...it calls for a movement...one in which huge numbers of members of the society must quickly become willing participants!

--------

Oh yes...for the economists - it shall mean quick move to pour funds into among other things restoring our dilapidated crumbling infrastructure...yes it means all Don1 says and more...including an acceptance that there will be the attendant inflation that such a pumping in the economy of the vast sums that such a 'serious assault' would require.

Given our 1st World Consumption model and how our culture equates success, economics plays an integral part of the crime equation.

High unemployment (formal), Low per capita income combined with 'garrison' politics, scarce spoils and benefits and lets not forget the 'easy money' drug route creates an environment for criminality.

There is no moral fiber to stem the tide and in fact popular culture fuels the problem.

The fact that the state has a massive debt burden and inadequate Tax net simply means there is no money to implement short term solutions ala USA.. eg zero tolerance express shuttle to large prisons...

Soo.. it appears it boils down to economics.. the person(s) that control the strings have to implement substainable economic programs and implement a top down anti-corruption policy that demonstrates that austerity and penal measures that are neccessary are being applied WITHOUT PREJUDICE.

Most important these policies must survive administrations.. one good parent model does not work.

...baddaz, how did you do it? yuh tink is one time wi try get a sensible ansa outta dis bredda? hallelujah!

Given our 1st World Consumption model and how our culture equates success, economics plays an integral part of the crime equation.

High unemployment (formal), Low per capita income combined with 'garrison' politics, scarce spoils and benefits and lets not forget the 'easy money' drug route creates an environment for criminality.

There is no moral fiber to stem the tide and in fact popular culture fuels the problem.

The fact that the state has a massive debt burden and inadequate Tax net simply means there is no money to implement short term solutions ala USA.. eg zero tolerance express shuttle to large prisons...

Soo.. it appears it boils down to economics.. the person(s) that control the strings have to implement substainable economic programs and implement a top down anti-corruption policy that demonstrates that austerity and penal measures that are neccessary are being applied WITHOUT PREJUDICE.

Most important these policies must survive administrations.. one good parent model does not work.
                  I always knew you had it in you. Very good post sir. Maybe you did go to a good school afterall.

Mi prefer di virago behaviour.. if nutting nah gwaan wid di well reasoned approach.. might as well mek it 'fun'..

Crime will never be solved by the police/military in Jamaica, plus the politicians are knee deep in this mess with the Dons.

If we negotiate with the Dons and legally add them to the payroll, and they call off their soldiers from killing people in the future, what do we say to those families who had relatives who were murdered before the agreement?

lol... imagine dat eeh... i am wondering if iz because mi address him as maudid... it was purely accidental... even a broken clock will be correct once (or twice) a day...

lawd maudib... that must have been a first... look like yuh tek yuh pill dem which allowed you to offer a well reasoned response...

there is hope yet... anyway mi appreciate yuh contribution...

Is di site tun mi into a virago.. mi nevah start off suh... when mi fuss come ah like modda Theresa.. dem tun mi into Portia...

hahaha!