• A simple question....

..Or is it?

Just choose a letter in this multiple choice ... no explanation wanted (ok since it will happen anyway Silicon Valley economists are relieved of the single letter restriction and can post a diatribe)

Q - A building has 6 levels- three storeys above ground and 3 subterranean levels ( assume US conventions for the sake of consistency in answers)

Which level is the First floor?

a. The floor at ground level

b. The lowest basement level

c. There is no such thing as a first floor - only storeys are important

d. Whatever floor is convenient to support my prior posted opinions- but I'm afraid to post it because it it will make me look more foolish.

e. none of the above - i'm totally confused

My answer is : a

What's yours?

hmmmmm

Is it on some flight path somewhere?

it's clear of all flying objects AND not subject to flooding, hurricanes or in need of bath tubs, slurry walls or caissons.

it safe.

You left one out:

(f) What does floor naming conventions have to do with how many storeys there are ?

Tony that was a monster straight drive.. MAXIMUM !

You left one out:

(f) What does floor naming conventions have to do with how many storeys there are ?

Tony that was a monster straight drive.. MAXIMUM !
          what's the answer Rear Admiral - which is the first floor?

Don1 serves up a full toss... 6 RUNS !!!

When will the Captain retire Don1, the fans are booing !!

Architecture and Landscaping: storey

story
            Volume between the floors of a building or between its floor and roof. Storeys are defined as basement (wholly or partly underground), ground (in the USA first and in France rez-de-chaussée), first (or piano nobile if containing the principal rooms), second, third, etc., then Attic (over the entablature of the principal façade). The volume within a roof-space is the garret rather than the Attic. Entresols and mezzanines are intermediate floors between the main storeys. Towers have stages rather than storeys, and, like storeys, are often identified by horizontal bands of mouldings, string-courses, cornices, etc. Storey-posts are the main posts in a timber-framed building, rising one storey.

Tony, what amazes me is his confident run up after each boundary.. amazing. It appears he is immune to ridicule.. apparantly he has gotten used to the thrashing...

Yuh and Karl did go di same good school?

What the forum is seriously questioning is if you and Don1 did guh school at all ?

Unnuh cyaan read...

Unnuh cyaan count...

Comprehension poor...

It nuh look good at all...

Yuh and Karl did go di same good school?
                  The issue should be... if his responses are indicative of good schooling.... no wonder some (heh,heh) say Jamaica is a ..... Poppy Show banana republic

The fellow just can't answer the question.

Well, I live in Jamaica, so I'm an intellectual midget. I don't know what Don1 excuse is.

But wait, nuh...nuh Jamaica yuh live tuh?

Mi live all bout.. mi have multiple citizenship...

Tony, what amazes me is his confident run up after each boundary.. amazing. It appears he is immune to ridicule.. apparantly he has gotten used to the thrashing...[/QUOTE]

BTW.. good school boy... you are fond of the word "apparently" as you have been using it quite frequently in recent posts.... misspelling it on each and every occasion.

Please note the correct spelling.

Always ready to help.

LOL !!

There appears to be life after the battering.. his toe is twitching...

Resilient fellow that Don1 !

Send me your resume in case I need to fire my secretary.

LOL !!

There appears to be life after the battering.. his toe is twitching...

Resilient fellow that Don1 !
                            Always ready to help the mentally deficient.

BTW, what's the first floor in my building example?

Since when is a basement counted as a storey ?