Women lash dual citizenship flaws

indeed arnold is a dual citizen... i will have talk with my state rep friend about his knowledge on the dual citizenship...

is japan, singapore and other countries who maintains a person cannot hold dual citizenship and serve in their govt archaic in their position about dual citizenship...

if the jamaican people think (with constitutional support) having dual citizenship calls into question the degree of loyalty to their country by their leadership, then it is their right...

those who seek to become a dual citizen still have the right to do as they wish... they just cannot serve in govt... it is as simple as that...

I must say I am not sure either and I bet most people are in the same position.

This is the official word:

Dual Citizenship
        » with the United States

We try to keep this page as updated as possible. Most of the entries have been provided by way of feed back from our browsers. If you notice outdated information, please let us know.

:: Dual Citizenship: the status of an individual who is a citizen of two or more nations

The concept of dual citizenship recognizes that a person may have and exercise rights of nationality in two countries and be subject to the responsibilities of both. The mere fact that he/she searched the right of one citizenship does not mean that he/she renounces the other.

Nonetheless, official U.S. policy has been to discourage the incidence of dual nationality. The Government accepts but does not recognize or approve of dual nationality. The Government accepts it: "only as the result of separate conflicting laws of other countries."

The only restrictions on dual nationals who are U.S. citizens are that nonimmigrant visas cannot be issued to U.S. citizens and they must enter the U.S. with a U.S. passport.

Check this: http://www.us-immigration.com/inform...tizenship.html

And by the way, pointing out errors, lies, nonsense, crap, garbage and such the like in Maudib's post is nothing big. It happens every day. He should, however, apologise for trying to mislead the Fourimtes on that nonsense post about Arnold's "dual citizenship".

previously they did not allow it with all countries....e.g russia/us no way!!!

they where changes recently as a german friend of mine now has dual citizenship i THINK israelis are on the most favoured list too...going all the way back meyer lansky (majer suchowlinski)

it calls into question the motive of the writer and the newspaper...

this is very conflicting. What is "Accept but doesn't recognise or approve?"
                  Would they carry you to court for it?

Gamma can you explain that in legal term

No apology is needed, what is needed is clarity by the US government.

Please point out the lie in my post.

Also point out the lies in this:

In addition to the formal adjudicative process of security clearance, there is a matter of public perception for individuals with dual citizenship as demonstrating potential dual loyalty that applies to any government office, even one that does not require security clearance.

In the United States, dual citizenship is not very common among politicians, although Arnold Schwarzenegger has retained his Austrian citizenship during his service as a Governor of California.[10]

In Canada, conversely, federal cabinet ministers often have dual citizenship with France or the United Kingdom and this in the past has not been an issue to their security clearances[citation needed]. One small controversy did arise in 2005 when Michaëlle Jean was appointed the Governor General of Canada (official representative of the Queen and Canada's de facto head of state in the Queen's absence). Although Jean no longer holds citizenship in her native Haiti, her marriage to French-born filmmaker Jean-Daniel Lafond allowed her to obtain French citizenship several years before her appointment. A section of the French civil code forbids French citizens from holding government or military positions in other countries and Jean's appointment made her both de facto head of state and commander-in-chief of the Canadian forces. The French embassy released a statement that this law would not be enforced because the Governor General is essentially a ceremonial figurehead. Nevertheless Jean renounced her French citizenship two days before taking up office to avoid controversy. [11]

Former Canadian Prime Minister John Turner was born in the United Kingdom and retains his dual citizenship to this day. Stéphane Dion, current head of the Liberal Party of Canada and the leader of the official opposition, holds dual citizenship with France due to his mother's nationality; Dion has, however, indicated a willingness to renounce French citizenship if a significant number of Canadians view it negatively, in order not to hamper his party's prospects in a future election.[12]

The Constitution of Australia, in Section 44, explicitly forbids individuals who hold foreign citizenship from sitting in the parliament of Australia. A court case involving Senator-elect Heather Hill (see Sue v Hill) determined that Britain is a foreign power for purposes of this section of the constitution despite Australia and Britain holding a common nationality at the time of Australian federation. (This restriction does not apply to members of the state parliaments, who may hold foreign citizenship.)

"Ah nuh me seh suh..."

Seems clear to me. But I will defer to counsel.

You were trying to mislead and got shot down.

Again!

Newspaper? I thought it was the Sandals Newsletter!

Lazie ongle have strength fi me.

Yuh have sense ?

The argument is not what the US 'recognizes' or 'approves of'. Vaz issue is not one of what Jamaican Govt 'recognizes or approves of'. Vaz issue is IT IS AGAINST THE LAW !

The question is what job yuh can have wid 2 passport undah yuh name.

We are running a comparative between Yard and di Real World..

USA is much more lenient it appears than Yard is.

The question is WHY IS THIS SO given American is a Super Power and Yard is a Banana Republic.

Now dat yuh unnastand the germaine issues, get tuh putting together a cogent argument and stop yuh usual tangential tirades.

I think its a archaic and silly law. It is in my opinion that many of those who migrated to the sates, educated their kids and may still have children abroad are being told to give up their citizen ship so they can participate in Jamaica.. That to me does not make sense. Lets look at it another way..what is it one could do as a dual citizen that you could not do by having a green card or Canadian Permanent Visa?

Dat is unnuh problem... while yuh busy searching for motive, the RELEVANCE and IMPORT of the argument is lost.

Profundity and Bad Mind ah kill wi.