Women lash dual citizenship flaws

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post
    ok... keeping it real... it doesnt matter which side anybody is on... jlp or pnp or any other p, the constitution says if you hold allegiance to another country you cannot be in parliament...

do you have a problem with that lazie... what is your positon...
    I suggest you read an article by Peter Espuet. Pity he didn't entitle it, Hypocrites and the Constitution. The truth is, I wasn't aware the law existed until recent events. However, there have been a few people serving in both houses over the years and neither you, Mosiah and nobody else complained .. but I guess .."course change" now.

HL may come here and mek a talk in an attempt to touch a nerve of some of those sensitive ites ... but what he says is true. In order for Jamaica to move forward the Portias and the Warmingtons not gonna cut it.

PJ time and again encouraged Jamaicans to become citizens, but now if these people with dual citizenship should return to Jamaica there are restrictions? When at the same time there are people like Portia and Warmington holding high offices?

My view is the law need to be amended. People with dual citizenship cannot be PM. That I can agree with. But why should someone with VAST knowledge regarding energy be prevented from being Minister of Energy only to have a Warmington sitting in Cabinet unable to answer important questions?

Mek up unuh mind .. we either moving forward or its business as usual.

Schwarzenegger is a dual Austria/United States citizen.[43] He holds Austrian citizenship by birth and has held U.S. citizenship since becoming naturalized in 1983. Being Austrian and thus European he was able to win the 2007 European Voice campaigner of the year award for taking action against climate change with the California Global Warming Solutions Act of 2006 and plans to introduce an emissions trading scheme with other US states and possibly with the EU

Jamaica once again is shooting itself in the foot adhering to archaic laws and practice which have no relevance in her present reality and have not for some time..

Baddaz, there is not a soul I know who is being partial in this issue. Lazie just like to talk crap. I have long stated my view on it and there is no need to repeat it.

Low Lazie and him hysterics.
        "there is not a soul I know who is being partial in this issue"

Look inna the mirror ... what was your response to the PNP MP who was being discussed the other day?

well in that way we would be like the US...i mean the running man is governor of california.

I suggest you read an article by Peter Espuet. Pity he didn't entitle it, Hypocrites and the Constitution. The truth is, I wasn't aware the law existed until recent events. However, there have been a few people serving in both houses over the years and neither you, Mosiah and nobody else complained .. but I guess .."course change" now.
            You may have forgotten (conveniently) or you are just plain lying. I'll give you the benefit of the doubt and choose the latter.

You are the search expert. Conduct a search!

Why didn't he run for president then?

Because currently US President cannot be a dual citizen. US is the most powerful nation on the Planet.

Here in Jamaica yuh cyaan even count vote iffn yuh is have 2 passport..

Who wi ?? Jamaica passport is a liability today !

LOL !!

Good! Every country has restrictions as to who can hold office. Great!

Ever thought for one minute that is exactly why the US is great? They have restrictions to certain things.

Good! Every country has restrictions as to who can hold office. Great!

Ever thought for one minute that is exactly why the US is great? They have restrictions to certain things.
                      NONSENSE!!!! The US has a population of over 300 million with more than enough professionals capable of moving their country forward. There is no restrictions as to who can be a governor, senator etc. Jamaica has a population of 2.7 million .. get real.

so you wrong on the US not recognising Dual citizen thingy?

just asking cause I really don't know.

the day is shaping up nicely with suspense and intrigue

I have always been told that they do not recognize it. I do not have concrete evidence. Bear in mind that Maudib was not quoting any official document either.

Could it be that they recognise Austrian-American citizenship and not ours? Dunno, but it does not matter to me. Away with persons illegally occupying public positions.

just a wait pon Jawge, Karl, Don1 and HL fi come eeeennnn.

Lazie, MO and Ben inna fine form.

Too bad!