• Tourism minister's silence on RIU is deafening

Tourism minister's silence on RIU is deafening

Wednesday, May 07, 2008

Dear Editor,
    I vaguely remember a news report stating that the minister of tourism would comment on the RIU situation once an official report had been submitted. Well, judging from what I have heard over the past few weeks on the radio, it appears that quite a few reports have been submitted, but still no comment from the minister.
    Quite frankly, it is improper for a minister to be so silent on a matter which directly impacts his portfolio. They say that silence speaks volumes, and in this case the minister's hushed approach to the RIU issue, or for that matter anything which paints the Spanish hotels in a negative light, is really scaring a lot of us.
    I held Mr Edmund Bartlett in such high esteem when he took office. I remember the several photographs of him with the airport staff, and he seemed so genuinely interested in the livelihood of all tourism stakeholders. I cannot find the words to express my disappointment in him over this situation; he was always so quick to speak on any tourism-related matter.
    Although he has been in office less than a year, it pains me to even consider that the minister of tourism is turning a deaf ear to such a critical issue because he may have fallen victim to any evil temptation. That would not only ruin his career but would also destroy an entire sector.
    I can only hope that if he has fallen, he has not gone too far to recover.

J Brown
    Havendale

Why should a lesser minister get involved? Didn't the Prime Minister make a ruling on this? What on earth could Edmund Bartlett now come and do?

The way I see it, Bruce's action prevented the clowns from saying he didn't act. But wait ... there are still those complaining that he did something. Damn if you do .... damn if you don't.

I don't think Orett needed to act. There is a parish council, there is a police force, indeed, there is a minister of tourism and there is one responsible for construction. Prime Ministers have no business signing stop work orders!

Unnu underestimate Butch's involvement in all of this. He was the one who pushed it to the front burner.

Meanwhile, Rome burns - 64 murders in a week!

I don't think Orett needed to act. There is a parish council, there is a police force, indeed, there is a minister of tourism and there is one responsible for construction. Prime Ministers have no business signing stop work orders!

Unnu underestimate Butch's involvement in all of this. He was the one who pushed it to the front burner.

Meanwhile, Rome burns - 64 murders in a week!
          Planning falls under whose portfolio? The man that "approved" the modification refused to respond to questions from the mayor. So what if the PM acted? Unuh just vex unuh didn't get the chance to say he didn't do anything.

Suh because 64 people are getting killed in a week everything else must be ignored? A whey yuh come from? Yuh sounding too much like Jawge now.

Suh because 64 people are getting killed in a week everything else must be ignored?
            That's real sad, Lazie. The PM must get involved in an issue almost created by Butch and ignore the 64 murders a day.

A hear yuh!

You choose when you should be concerned about he high crime rate. If only the victims could.

If the Bartlett comes out and say bun it dung, would that make them happy, that person should have read what they write before sending that letter, that hotel plan was drawn before Bartlett got there, realy silly post.

That's real sad, Lazie. The PM must get involved in an issue almost created by Butch and ignore the 64 murders a day.

A hear yuh!

You choose when you should be concerned about he high crime rate. If only the victims could.
                I told you, your poppyshow stand is making you more irrelevant. Where did I say the crime rate must be ignored? Have some mercy pon yuh credibility nuh?

Whatever, Lazie.

There is a parish council, there is a police force, indeed, there is a minister of tourism and there is one responsible for construction. Prime Ministers have no business signing stop work orders!

Mo you joking right? You figet how the plan reach inna the parish council. The Parish council is corrupt, you can't trust the police, and what about NEPA?

Yes Bruce stop it in his track. The PM don't have to do certain thins but doing it showin that he is serious. It sends a message and hopefully other civil servants will follow.

The other hoteliers who are in the same position will take it serious. You nuh hear one a them a pump out stuff inna the beach at Runaway Bay because them nuh install the right stuff?

And by the way, what has been the PM's response since the 64 murders a week, since he is not ignoring it? No need to answer, Lazie. Just being mischievous.

Barlett a do him job, just get more tourist, more investment and more jobs, him nuh need fi do nothing more.

Predictable response.

yeah a dat mi want from my tourism minister, Let others worry bout the rest.

And you are right! I don't want the tourism minister signing stop work order papers eedah!