• Is the JLP too soft on crime?

Lloyd B Smith
    Tuesday, May 06, 2008

"The high level of crime remains one of our most pressing problems." These were the introductory words of the nine-paragraph section in his 32-page budget debate presentation on April 22, 2008, by Bruce Golding, prime minister, and leader of the governing Jamaica Labour Party. This barely took up a page, yet it is "one of our most pressing problems"! So much for election promises.
    Lloyd B Smith
    Murders continue unabated, robberies are up and the general state of lawlessness in the land is almost all-pervasive. The only glimmer of hope coming out of Mr Golding's treatment of this pressing problem was the last paragraph of that section entitled, "Sustaining the fight against crime", in which he stated that "The minister of national security (Derrick Smith) who is recuperating from surgery will be back at work shortly and will deal more comprehensively with these matters in the sectoral debate."
    While we wait with bated breath for Mr Smith's dissertation, a Wild, Wild West scenario continues to plague the land, and one is not too sure that the sheriff is really up to the task, and for that matter has the right answers to tackle this gargantuan monster that is rearing to destroy us all. It is against this background that one is forced to wonder if the JLP is really up to the task, or is the Golding administration simply ********************footing on this burning issue?
    Just about every prime-time newscast includes angry citizens demonstrating against alleged police excesses in the carrying out of their duties; a bloody murder scene or some other act of savagery. The media is forced to maintain the status quo: "If it bleeds, it leads."
    There is growing paranoia in the land. Many citizens are afraid to be on the road at night. Church sisters are being raped regularly, accosted and ravaged as they return from evening services; schoolgirls (and even boys) are being lured into illicit sexual acts as the socio-economic realities cause many to sell their bodies to the highest bidder. "Come tek i" fried chicken is all some girls want in order to say yes to some sexual predator.
    And we wonder why the economy is not growing; we have to be kowtowing to every foreign investor who is bold enough to put down roots in this crime-infested paradise, even it means flouting the country's laws and devastating the environment. Where are the big spenders in the tourism industry? Why are they shunning Jamaica so that what we end up with primarily are "poorists" (tourists on a shoestring budget)? Is it any wonder that a desperate JLP regime had to opt for casino gaming at this time, knowing full well that the wrath of the churches will descend on it at election time? Talk about desperate measures!
    The harsh reality is that Jamaica is not getting the kind of investments it needs to make that quantum leap because of crime, crime, crime! And if the Golding team thinks it should be business as usual, even as we set about to establish another year of record numbers of homicides and other serious crimes, then God help us!
    Commissioner of Police Hardley Lewin has so far used the appropriate rhetoric to fire up our imagination, but where is the beef? Has he been able so far to galvanise whatever available resources he has at his command (both human and otherwise) to enhance crime fighting? One hears that there is much grumbling in the Jamaica Constabulary Force because of his seemingly in-your-face approach, and some officers are claiming that they have been demoralised by some of his public utterances. Can these men and women be expected to deliver the goods if they are overworked, underpaid and are subject to an ailing justice system that seems more to favour criminals than law-abiding Jamaicans?
    Jamaicans have been too quiet on this pressing problem. We must put pressure on Prime Minister Golding and his team to stand and deliver. Yes, I know the rabid partisans among us who support the JLP will be going for my jugular, no doubt reminding me that if the People's National Party were in office for 18 years and were not able to solve the crime problem, why must I expect the JLP to do it in seven months? But they will be missing the essential part, which is that while one is not expecting miracles, one is expecting at least to see the right signals, some initial actions that will reassure us that all is not lost. What about a zero-tolerance approach, for example?
    The bottom line is that the JLP gave us the impression leading up to the September 3, 2007 general election that it had some, if not all the answers to deal with the crime crisis. Why then now that it is in office it continues to fumble along while Jah kingdom goes to waste? Mr Smith needs to shape up. The nice-guy image alone cannot instil confidence. We need to see him getting tough.
    Jamaica is on the brink of descending into anarchy, and if this government whom many see as our last hope to save this fledgling nation from persistent poverty and degradation does not get its act together, then we might as well call it a day. Is there a light at the end of this dark tunnel, Mr Golding and Mr Smith? Hope is fading fast.
    lloydbsmith@hotmail.com

...while one is not expecting miracles, one is expecting at least to see the right signals, some initial actions that will reassure us that all is not lost.
    Is that asking too much?

"Jamaica is on the brink of descending into anarchy.."

Heh, heh... Jawge, ah yuh dat !?

What about a zero-tolerance approach, for example?
        lloydbsmith@hotmail.com
        thats the question i have been asking for a long time... from the pnp has been in power...

if we can have zero tolerance of relatively trivial night time noise, what about zero tolerance on the most pressing problem facing the country...

ZERO TOLERANCE ON GUNS, AMMUNITIONS AND RELATED CRIMES

i have said this before and will say it again abbreviated... minimum 10 years mandatory for simple possession of a firearm... additional mandatory 5 years for every shot... send the perpetrators to the farms to grow crops to feed the country...

NO ONE should be spared... even the granny, if she is found to be aiding and abetting... lets see who is the real badman... the law or the outlaws...

Yuh mean a return to the Gun Court laws of the 70s? As far as I can remember, it was welcomed back then, and I doubt if we had 400 murders a year. Of course, with time and some revisionist history, most people thought it was too draconian, and basically we have come to a point where mere fraud will land you in jail quicker than snuffing out the lives of an entire family.

What to do but wait for the grim reaper to pay each and every one of us a visit.

Yuh on tuh someting !

Maybe we should also setup a Gun Court !

We are on the brink of Anarchy !!

There is a mandatory minimum 1-year in prison for illegal possession of a gun in Connecticut. There should be a 3-year minimum sentence for illegal possession, and a 10-year minimum sentence for illegal possession and shooting with intent in Jamaica.

All the politicians (JLP & PNP) do is chat, and lets see some new laws, and real enforcement.

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
                  There is a mandatory minimum 1-year in prison for illegal possession of a gun in Connecticut. There should be a 3-year minimum sentence for illegal possession, and a 10-year minimum sentence for illegal possession and shooting with intent in Jamaica.

All the politicians (JLP & PNP) do is chat, and lets see some new laws, and real enforcement.
                  hortical... we are talking jamaica here and the situation in ct is not nearly as extreme as in jamaica... jamaica needs gun laws that would make everybody afraid to even utter the word gun...

a 60 day moratorium to allow people with illegal guns to turn them in... augmented by a publicity blitz to inform and educate the people home and abroad about the law... after that the law takes effect without prejudice...

mandatory 10 years minimum for simple possession... additional mandatory 5 years for every shot... intimidating a witness, mandatory 15 years added on to whatever the original charge... failure to appear as witness 5-10 years... murder should be life without parole - a life of productivity on the farm...

jamaica needs a real leader to take a real stand...

Brethren...all those mandatory sentences will do nothing to reduce crime.

A comprehensive strategy is needs to reduce crime, and knee jerk reactions from the jokers at Gordon House will not have a lasting effect. We have been down this road, many a time.

HOME THE AFFLICTED PURPOSE? .PHOTOGRAPHY SELECTED WORK & PRESS MAILING LIST BLOG CONTACT
                    01/04/06:: GUN LIKE DIRT

© 2007 PETER DEAN RICKARDS. STEAL THEM WITHOUT MY PERMISSION AND NOT ONLY WILL YOU GET ****************TY SLICED-UP LO-RES JPEGS BUT I WILL ALSO HIRE A CRACKHEAD TO FIND YOU AND KILL YOU :: IF YOU WANT ANY OF THESE IMAGES, E-MAIL ME AT MAIL@AFFLICTEDYARD.COM AND MAYBE I WILL SELL YOU THE 300DPI VERSIONS
                    _uacct = "UA-1605305-1"; urchinTracker();

Yuh know what it mean when a man seh him born fi dead ?

Frame an argument for a human being who has a life expectancy of 25 years..

Then you will begin to understand the scope of the problem.

Who is Peter Dean Rickards? The police need to track him down and find out where these photos were taken, who are the models and where they can be located. Aiding and Abetting charges nuh exist a Jamaica?

Journalistic privilege?

2007 PETER DEAN RICKARDS. STEAL THEM WITHOUT MY PERMISSION AND NOT ONLY WILL YOU GET ****************TY SLICED-UP LO-RES JPEGS BUT I WILL ALSO HIRE A CRACKHEAD TO FIND YOU AND KILL YOU :: IF YOU WANT ANY OF THESE IMAGES, E-MAIL ME AT MAIL@AFFLICTEDYARD.COM AND MAYBE I WILL SELL YOU THE 300DPI VERSIONS

In the US decades ago some lawmakers decided that a "War on Drugs" with mandatory 15 year sentences was the way to scare inner city communities into reduced drug use and dealing. Today the prisons are overflowing with drug offenders and the drug use and dealing continues unabated.

Harsher prison sentences and death penalties just don't seem to have any effect on crime rates in the long run. It gives the victims abd thier family a greater sense of justice but it really does not serve as a deterrent to the next would-be criminal.

Journalistic privilege?

2007 PETER DEAN RICKARDS. STEAL THEM WITHOUT MY PERMISSION AND NOT ONLY WILL YOU GET ****************TY SLICED-UP LO-RES JPEGS BUT I WILL ALSO HIRE A CRACKHEAD TO FIND YOU AND KILL YOU :: IF YOU WANT ANY OF THESE IMAGES, E-MAIL ME AT MAIL@AFFLICTEDYARD.COM AND MAYBE I WILL SELL YOU THE 300DPI VERSIONS

Kiss teet! Then lock him up den!