The Observer's New Math

• The Observer's New Math

Since when was a basement counted as a "storey"?

In their zeal to ruin RUI they are losing good sense. The facts are enough with which to hammer the hotel's construction problems ..... we don't need fiction.

RIU Hotel planned five storeys, one underground

Monday, May 05, 2008

Reliable Observer sources last night suggested that the RIU Hotel being built at Mahoe Bay near Montego Bay, St James was to have a fifth floor and not four floors as earlier reported.

The hotel is alleged to have a basement that was not detected by officials who combed the property last week. According to the sources, the basement floor would have bed- rooms, making it a five-storey hotel, against the three storeys approved by state agencies.

"The attention generated by media exposure and the strong position taken by Prime Minister Bruce Golding may cause a change in plans, now that everything is out in the open," the source close to RIU said.

Last week, Golding ordered that RIU demolish an unapproved fourth floor on three of its buildings at Mahoe Bay, after it emerged that the Spanish-owned hotel chain had added to approved building plans without going through the established channels.

The original construction plan dated June 29, 2007, was approved by the St James Parish Council, the National Environment and Planning Agency (NEPA) and the Civil Aviation Authority, bearing in mind that the hotel was being built in the direct flight path of the Sangster International Airport three kilometres away.

A restriction of three storeys was imposed on the hotel. But a mysterious building plan, in Spanish, signed by the St James Parish Superintendent of Roads and Works and bearing the council's stamp, appeared in the past two or three weeks, showing four storeys but no mention of a fifth floor.

The mayor of Montego Bay, Charles Sinclair revealed that that plan had not come before his council, nor had any of the requiste fees been received by the council.

Golding also instructed that the matter be referred to the Police Fraud Squad for possible criminal charges and that the Parish Council Services Commission investigate the activities of the Superintendent of Roads and Works, Tubal Brown.

... and to make matter worse, floors don't count, only the height of the building really matters

Originally posted by Time View Post
      ... and to make matter worse, floors don't count, only the height of the building really matters
      As a practical matter that's true...... but if the approval was for 3 floors they should stick to that.

That's true.

What kind of a tourist would take a basement room? Dat's what I waan know!

Same ones dat tek di interior cabins....

They're from Transylvania, I guess.

Environmental concerns. You don't think that excavating deeper than you have a permit for is a problem? What about the sewer system?

Don't remember him saying it was ok.

storey - a structure consisting of a room or set of rooms at a single position along a vertical scale.

base·ment (bsmnt)
                  n.
                  1. The substructure or foundation of a building.
                  2. The lowest habitable story of a building, usually below ground level.

The American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, Fourth Edition copyright ©2000 by Houghton Mifflin Company. Updated in 2003. Published by Houghton Mifflin Company. All rights reserved

Definitely prior to 2003.. probably prior to 2000.

HAHAHA!!! LOL!!! Education is a bitch!

Listen, Maudib, I think I know a thing or two about buildings, so yu can gwaan quote dictionaries. I could come up with other definitions that say otherwise.

LOL!!!

Well go ahead then.

Provide a definition that states a basement CAN NEVER be considered a storey.

Mek mi start di Profundity/Rocket Science recorder... ok go ahead..

As soon as you demonstrate how a basement could have some deleterious effect on a flight path.

Heh, heh.

You are lost again.

I am addressing this question:

"Since when was a basement counted as a "storey"?

You have raised an objection and have indicated an ability to refute.. I am challenging that ability.

Asking me to demonstrate an irrelevant concept only qualifies as a weak attempt at diversion.

Once again find yourself caught in a trap of your own making.. haffi start call yuh Wile E. Coyote.

Diversion?! By whom?

This entire discussion has resulted because of a fourth...sorry, a fifth floor/storey that was in the flight path to Sangster Airport. If the basement has no bearing whatsoever on said flight path, then why are we clintonising the definition of "storey"?!? Indeed, those discussing the issue have tried to move away from the number of floors the building has and instead deal with the height of the building, because that is what really matters. Hell, RIU could have built a ballroom with a very high ceiling and that one floor/storey could have violated even Norman Manley's flight path, so why persist with your dictionary search??! Now, that is diversion!

So, for the Sandal's Newsletter (some refer to it as the Observer) to highlight this new violation as if it is material to the issue in the first place, is ridiculous and puerile. As is your dictionary crusade!

What next? Are they going to point out that the rooms have 4 light fixtures instead of the 2 shown in the drawings?!?! Whoopee!

Feel free to provide us with a definition for "light fixture" as you flip the pages of your favorite dictionary, or click away at your computer.

Hear him now.