No charges against cops accused of Half-Way-Tree beatings

• No charges against cops accused of Half-Way-Tree beatings

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=1 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><SPAN class=TopStory>No charges against cops accused of Half-Way-Tree beatings</SPAN>
    <SPAN class=Subheadline></SPAN></TD></TR><TR><TD>VAUGHN DAVIS, Observer staff reporter
    Thursday, October 12, 2006
    </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
    <TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=5 width=223 align=left border=0><TBODY><TR><TD></TD></TR><TR><TD><SPAN class=Description>An Observer file photo showing Margaret Berry being restrained by officers from the Island Special Constabulary Force in Half-Way-Tree in May this year. She complained that she was beaten by cops after intervening in a dispute between the police and her husband.</SPAN></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><P class=StoryText align=justify>NO charges are to be laid against the Island Special Constabulary Force (ISCF) officers who were accused of beating a woman and her husband in Half-Way-Tree, Kingston 10, in May this year, the Director of Public Prosecutions has ruled.<P class=StoryText align=justify>According to Superintendent Dayton Henry of the Professional Standards Branch of the Jamaica Constabulary Force, a ruling earlier this week by the Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP), had found that no charges should be laid against Commander William Malabver and the other officers who were part of the operation when Margaret and Leroy Berry were allegedly beaten.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"We had investigated the incident, we collected all the statements. all the physical evidence including medical certificates, and we submitted them to the DPP. We have had a ruling that no criminal charges should be brought against William Malabver or the other five officers involved," Supt Henry told the Observer yesterday.<P class=StoryText align=justify>The ruling vindicates Malabver who had vehemently maintained that the he and his officers had used the requisite amount of force to restrain the Berrys.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"Honestly, I was not perturbed when the file was sent, and I know that what we did was within the law. We did not beat that woman," he told the Observer.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"It is fantastic, I feel very good. When you are free you are free indeed," Malabver said yesterday.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Following two days of investigation by the Professional Standards Branch (PSB) into the incident, which was brought to national prominence by an Observer photographer, Malabver was taken off front-line duties.

RE: No charges against cops accused of Half-Way-Tree beatings

Assasin, from wha day yuh posts are being repeated. Just like this one.