• Sponsorship Woes

Sponsorship Woes
    Charles H E Campbell
    Sunday, April 27, 2008

So Diageo Red Stripe has finally pulled the sponsorship plug on live events. This action was inevitable, given the region of Europe where their headquarters is based and the worldwide reach of it products. Added to that is the fact that total sales of Red Stripe internationally is miniscule in comparison to some of their more popular brands.
    Diageo's real problem is that by association, sales on these products could be more severely impacted by organised and targeted multinational consumer boycotts of its entire range of alcoholic beverages in the large markets which drive its volumes. Given this context, their recent decision was inevitable in order to preserve their share of the market.
    At the same time, this action will have serious repercussions for the local live entertainment circuit. In Jamaica, there are only about 20 companies who assign significant sums for sponsorship of live popular events. Of these, traditionally, Red Stripe has been one of the top three. Both in terms of the number of events sponsored each year, as well as the amount they are prepared to dedicate to each project. This decision, therefore, will leave a gaping hole in the collective pool of private sector sponsorship funds and shall force some promoters to increase their risk funds. It may even lead down the road to increased entry prices for shows and parties.
    Against this background, I was very impressed by the Elephant Man television interview on last week's episode of On Stage on CVM TV. It is always intriguing to observe the transformation of an artiste's viewpoint when his career takes off internationally. Usually, when they begin to travel frequently and interact with other cultures they soon develop a more enlightened worldview. I have never before heard Elephant Man sounding so eloquent. His comments on issues affecting the entertainment industry were obviously well thought out and influenced by his burgeoning career. The interview also showed the viewers and his fans a serious thinking and maturing Ele.
    That same night, we attended Sizzla's Birthday Bash, dubbed Rise To The Occasion IV at Temple Hall Estate. The central issues addressed by the artistes in song and on-stage commentary were condemnation of homosexuality, the glorification of "gangsterism" and gun- "b***yboy, mi an' mi ten big gun a go visit yuh" (Turbulance) and the rejection of the new drive by police to enforce the Noise Abatement Act. At various times, it seemed like we were attending a political rally with some very militant statements coming from artistes like Coco Tea, Turbulence and Twin of Twins in particular.
    Some of these acts seemed to be literally goading the considerable contingent of police present, to shut down the event at 2:00 am, if they dared. While simultaneously agitating the 2000 strong crowd to resist any attempt to do so. I was gearing myself up for a night of civil disobedience, but the police, very wisely and responsibly, took a somewhat flexible approach to the deadline. They allowed the event to proceed for about 45 minutes beyond 2am and by so doing prevented any cause célèbre. In a twist of fate, this relatively early ending time, seemed also to help Sizzla's cause because some of the top billed artistes were obvious no-shows.
    In order to meet the time restrictions, promoters will have to consider reducing the length of their line-up. One of the unfortunate features of the night was the short stints which each artiste gave on-stage. Not many songs were done, and in most cases, the artiste only delivered a few lines from each song performed.
    Before closing, I wish to congratulate Headline Entertainment and their most informative online newsletter. This has been a welcome addition to the media spectrum. So far, each edition has been well put together, covering significant current developments within the entertainment sector, as well as artistes' tour schedules and albums releases. This just goes to show that one needn't compromise quality in the drive to achieve success and popularity.
    Email: che.campbell@yahoo.com

"Elephant Man sounding so eloquent" Would love to see that interview.

I was listening to Bruce last night and he said if the music is turn down and it not affecting anybody it shouldn't be a problem. He also state that he would like to have designed areas for promotion that is not in residential areas.

He seems more reasonable than the law. Babsy needs to act.

Well, there need to be some dialogue between the politicians and the police because they are not operating under the same guidelines. The police is not talking about noise. They are observing cut-off times!

Cops talk tough - Entertainment to be rigorously policed
        published: Sunday | April 13, 2008

File
        Superintendent Steve McGregor (left) and ACP Clifford Blake.
        Adrian Frater, News Editor
        WESTERN BUREAU:
        Promoters and sound- system operators in western Jamaica will be required to play a new tune if they intend to survive in the entertainment business as the Area One Police High Command, with immediate effect, will enforce the Noise Abatement Act of 1997.
        At a meeting at Freeport Police Station, in Montego Bay, on Thursday, St James' commanding officer, Superintendent Steve McGregor, and Area One divisional commander, Assistant Commissioner of Police Clifford Blake, told some 30 sound-system operators, promoters and owners of entertainment venues, that the flexibility they previously enjoyed would be curtailed.
        Zero tolerance approach
        "We know it is the cultural norm for people to go out to parties at 2:00 a.m., which under the law is supposed to be the cut-off time," said Superintendent McGregor, who initiated the meeting to apprise stakeholders in the entertainment industry of the new zero-tolerance approach.
        "As of now, we will be enforcing the requirement that states that events during the week should end at mid-night and those on the weekend should end at 2:00 a.m.," said Superintendent McGregor. "Don't let anybody tell you that every thing criss. A we run here yasso. If you breach the regulation, you will have to face the consequences."
        In looking at the current situation, Superintendent McGregor pointed out the following flaws:
        Music is being played beyond the cut-off times (12:00 midnight during the week and 2:00 a.m. on weekends).
        Music causing a nuisance to the public.
        Musical events being kept in the street impeding vehicular and pedestrian traffic.
        Use of firearm at these events, resulting in injury or death to patrons.
        Use of drugs at these musical event.
        Traffic concerns improper parking which creates congestion.
        Breach of the NSWMA improper disposal of garbage.
        Abstraction of electricity illegally
        Expression of lewd lyrics by disc jockey.
        Attendance of children at these musical events.
        While expressing a general understanding of the position taken by the police, some promoters said the prompt enforcement was too harsh, especially with regard to major pre-planned event. In fact, prominent Montego Bay promoter, Sonny Ranking, suggested that the new enforcement should be phased in gradually.
        "This could result in great financial loss to promoters who have invested large sums of money in some of the events that are already planned," said Ranking.
        Phased-in with events
        "Those events already planned show be allowed to continue under the previous arrangement and the new situation phased in with the events to come in the future."
        However, ACP Blake made it clear that the police would be enforcing the law and to back up their position, no police officer would be detailed to provide security beyond the legal cut-off period. He suggested that promoters seek to start their events earlier so that they could meet the cut-off time.
        "There are no regulations to prevent you from starting an event at 6:00 p.m. So, you need to get creative and start your events early so that you can finish on time," said ACP Blake. "If you want the law to change, you will have to form yourselves into an organisation and lobby for that."
        McGregor, who said he regularly authorised as much as 50 applications for entertainment events in St James per week, said he was rethinking granting permission for some events on weekdays because of the reluctance of some promoters to operate within the law.
        People taking beds
        "There are some events that should cut off at 2:00 a.m., which go until even after 8:00 a.m.," said McGregor. "There is now a new phenomenon, where you have people taking beds into the street for some of the dances they are now doing."
        In response to one promoter, who noted that when the events went on until daybreak, it created a kind of safety net for persons, especially women, who otherwise would have to return to their homes during the hours of darkness, Blake said the police were obligated to protect the rights of those who were being disturbed by the loud music at all hours of the night.
        "If you can find some places that are not in proximity to structured communities, hospitals, hotels, guest houses, nursing homes, you would be helping the situation," said Blake. "If you are operating in these areas, we don't have to get a complaint to act, we can presume that a noise nuisance is being created and either turn down or turnoff the sound system."
        In outlining what is expected of the police with regard to entertainment events, McGregor outlined the following obligations, among others:
        Refusal of application where it is deemed that the music will be a source of nuisance.
        Refusal of application for venues with a history of violence.
        Place ban on promoters whose events have caused problems in the past.
        Refusal of application for venues without entertainment licence.
        Refuse application if artistes with bad reputation/influence are involved with the event.
        While not expressing a desire to seize sound systems or prosecute promoters, sound-system operators or owners of venues, McGregor said the police were willing and ready to act.
        Legal action
        "Although we would like to make it the last resort, if we have to seize the sound system and take legal action against you, we will," McGregor told entertainment stakeholders. "We have some trucks that we have already designated to do so. If we face any resistance, that could lead to additional actions."
        Quizzed as to whether the new zero-tolerance approach would impact major events such as 'Reggae Sumfest', the 'Air Jamaica Jazz and Blues Festival' and events along Montego Bay's tourism belt the 'Hip Strip', McGregor said all violators would be treated in the same way, which could include the following:
        Monitoring of areas to prevent the unauthorised staging of musical events.
        Monitoring of approved musical events.
        Locking down of music systems being played beyond the cut-off time.
        Prosecution of violators.
        Arrest where desirable.
        Seizure of equipment if necessary.
        In light of the new situation, Sonny Ranking said he would be initiating the formation of an umbrella organisation for all promoters and sound-system operators so as to bring uniformity to their operations as well as to create a platform from which to negotiate when there is a need to do so.
        "It would not be in our best interest to get into any confrontation with the police, so, as a body, we will have to sit down and come up with creative ways to protect our livelihood," stated Ranking. "The police have a job to do and we have a livelihood to protect, so we will just have to find a way to work together." While the St James police have taken the lead in this new initiative, of ensuring compliance with the Noise Abatement Act, which has never been treated with universal seriousness, Blake said it formed a part of a drive by Police Commissioner Rear Admiral, Hardley Lewin, and would ultimately be enforced islandwide.

"In light of the new situation, Sonny Ranking said he would be initiating the formation of an umbrella organisation for all promoters and sound-system operators so as to bring uniformity to their operations as well as to create a platform from which to negotiate when there is a need to do so. "

Wonder why this never formed before? That is the proper channel. The amount of money some a these sound and entertainers make they could have been there own lobby group. Time for them to take some responsibility and instead of blaming everybody help make some a di decisions.

Yuh si what can happen when course change... ?

Change is good.

Is only madman fight to continue doing the same thing over and over again expecting a different result... they know who they are...

Hmmmm.

Few weeks ago i wrote that when i become prime minister of jamaica, one of the things i would do is to stop the concerts from going after certain hours.

Seems like someone is listening!

Do you have an American Passport ?

Not gonna happen - you becoming prime minister and concerts going "after certain hours".