• Taken from the Jamaica Grand Website

"Gamble electronic blackjack and 80 slot machines "

http://www.sunsetjamaicagrande.com/activities.asp

Jawge and Rockman unnu deh bout? Explain that to me. Casino gambling is not legal in Ja yet.

Mi still a search fi the difference between gaming house and casino.

think of it this way...some people don't mind them civil rights being trampled as long as them have a civil rights bill...some people are happy with idea that a black man potentiality can be the president of the USA but in reality..it ain't gonna happen......it's just like that!

Interesting analogy!!

Some properties have had gaming rooms or lounges in operation for years. Only difference beteen those lounges and casinos is the absence of live card dealing. Matter of fact I remember playing slots at Sunset Beach in Mobay about 4 or 5 years ago. Also did so at Miss Lue's place Coral Cliff on the Hip Strip

thanks, it seems like Supreme venture a run alot a them all over the island as well. How mi nuh hear no condemnation from the church and "not in my neigbourhood" demonstration from them. You can have casino as long as you don't call it that.

I ventured into Acropolis in Barbican.. based on what I can determine.. as long as you can simulate human involvment in dealing cards and spinning a roulette wheel den is not a Casino... mi all see a setup where a Black Jack virtual woman a deal out digital cards... di place ram up on a Tuesday..

It look like seh is only local we want Gambling and wi nuh want to leverage it to bring in investment.. it is apparantly not a good idea to generate 'good' out of an existing 'evil'

Mi hear seh di Catholic Church preach against condom use inna Africa.... what more evil dan dat mi nuh know...

Rocky can't touch this?

You ever considered there probably would not be any noise from the anti-cansino ites if casinos were already legal?
                The difference is one is and the other wasn't.

Blessed

Seems to be a technicality.

What is the material difference between a gaming lounge ala Acropolis and a 'Casino' ?

So ok fi operate illegal casino? or just nuh give it that name?

When I did some research it amaze me to the the gambling that deh a Jamaica already and a company name Supreme Venture a make mega bucks from it.

But based on everything I have said to date on the matter, chances are I would object to legalizing gaming houses too.
                      I read where a reputable poster suggested live dealing of cards..,one just slip(flew below the radar) through the gates as for as I am concerned
                      Burn all a dem!

Blessed

Gaming houses are already legal.

The horse fly through the gate long time.. how do you propose to benefit from this ?

I did not make the decision to make gaming houses legal, and of course a consequence of it being so(legal)is an invitation to have casinos....
                          Obviously I did not benefit.., and the material difference would be the distinction made by Govt.

Blessed

So join me and say the church was sleeping.

Them ony have strenght fi the word Casino. They should have had their services in front of the gaming house long time if they didn't want casinos.

Playing politics(not JLP/PNP) the way they are doing will not work in their favor.

It seems simplistic to put the blame on the church, their efforts to thwart casinos..were unsuccessful, would they have done better...?
                              Besides if they missed the first opportunity and go on to do the same at the second, then a fi purpose Iyah!
                              Never too late to start.

Blessed