• Tit for tat - Golding's tax info leaked, data pointless

<DIV id=printReady>

Tit for tat - Golding's tax info leaked, data pointless
    published: Friday | October 13, 2006
    <DIV class=KonaBody>

Ross Sheil and Edmond Campbell, Staff Reporters

Documents showing income <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 700; COLOR: orange! important; BORDER-BOTTOM: orange 1px solid; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative; BACKGROUND-COLOR: transparent">tax </SPAN><SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 700; COLOR: orange! important; BORDER-BOTTOM: orange 1px solid; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative; BACKGROUND-COLOR: transparent">liabilities</SPAN> of Opposition Leader Bruce Golding, stamped by the Inland Revenue Department in Old Harbour, St. Catherine, were leaked to The Gleaner yesterday.

Verified as genuine by Mr. Golding's accountant, Victor Hamilton, the documents, signed by him, acknowledge the indebtedness of Mr. Golding of $1,007,856 as of May 3, 2004, for the years 1998-2002. The <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; BORDER-BOTTOM: orange 1px solid; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative; BACKGROUND-COLOR: transparent">accountant</SPAN> said the money had been fully settled. Mr. Hamilton said the liabilities related to taxes owed by Mr. Golding's bakery in Old Harbour.

He said the final payment of $346,070 on January 18, 2005, overpaid by $48,000, Mr. Golding's <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">debt</SPAN>. He produced receipts for three instalments but given the short notice of the reporters' visit, he was unable to produce <A class=kLink oncontextmenu="return false;" id=KonaLink3 &#111;nmouseover=adlinkMouseOver(event,this,3); style="POSITION: relative; TEXT-DECORATION: underline! important" &#111;nclick=adlinkMouseClick(event,this,3); &#111;nmouseout=adlinkMouseOut(event,this,3); href="http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/20061013/lead/lead7.html#" target=_new><SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; BORDER-BOTTOM: orange 1px solid; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative; BACKGROUN

RE: Tit for tat - Golding's tax info leaked, data pointless

Suh what? It 'squicz' out now? I wonder if mi should approach FOX to do a reality show on Jamaica dem would dweet?

Like I said in the sub text, really stupid action...

<DIV>And that's why when I talk about the tribal nature of Jamaican life, unnu fi tek mi more serious! We as a people cannot come together for shizzle! We put up with the tribalism in every aspect of our lives, and it only serves to bring us further into the gutter. </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>That's why I cannot support the candidacy of one Horace Burrell for the leadership of the JFF. Lines have been drawn in the sand forcing each and every stakeholder to take a side, or else! But it started long before him. And it probably won't end anytime soon!</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Sad! This latest thing should be investigated and punished to the fullest extent of the law.</DIV>

Sickko (10/13/2006)Like I said in the sub text, really stupid action...
          Sub text? Oh ... sorry man. I saw yuh post from the man page and clicked on it, for some reason the 'sub text' nuh show up.

Mosiah (10/13/2006)<DIV>And that's why when I talk about the tribal nature of Jamaican life, unnu fi tek mi more serious! We as a people cannot come together for shizzle! We put up with the tribalism in every aspect of our lives, and it only serves to bring us further into the gutter. </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>That's why I cannot support the candidacy of one Horace Burrell for the leadership of the JFF. Lines have been drawn in the sand forcing each and every stakeholder to take a side, or else! But it started long before him. And it probably won't end anytime soon!</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Sad! This latest thing should be investigated and punished to the fullest extent of the law.</DIV>
            That is why I suggested we have had several serious consequences from Golding's coming into possession of confidential bank documents -

1. The moral right of the PNP (or any political party...and or government employee) to engage in taking money/gifts from foreign nationals (persons and or entities)

2. The matter of believing in our financial institutions as being places where confidential 'financial dealings' arekept confidential

3. The matter of using the Golding's action as the starting point to rid the island of as many as possible of the morally corrupt...and, putting in place systems/regulations to hold the corrupt at bay!

you really believe this?

"The matter of believing in our financial institutions as being places where confidential 'financial dealings' arekept confidential"

you a dream to rhatid.

You think your money in your bank is private and confidencial? some of the banks in the US sells personal data.

Wasn't this a suspious transaction for a company to send money into one account to a PNP member and he turn around and put it the party kitty? Why not send it to the Party in the first place? Why hide it? It seems like something Jack Abromoff and Tom Delay would do.

you really believe this?

"The matter of believing in our financial institutions as being places where confidential 'financial dealings' arekept confidential"

you a dream to rhatid.

You think your money in your bank is private and confidencial? some of the banks in the US sells personal data.

Wasn't this a suspious transaction for a company to send money into one account to a PNP member and he turn around and put it the party kitty? Why not send it to the Party in the first place? Why hide it? It seems like something Jack Abromoff and Tom Delay would do.

I am sure Audley Shaw's personal finances would make better reading than Bruce's...the PNP who leaked the in formation really dissappointed me, they picked a wrong target

auugghh! This is more like it. Then again, talk the truth, yuh really disappointed that there is nothing in Bruce's finance fi yuh run wid nuh true?

LOL!!! Know what I find funny, I made a post yesterday about what to name the new section of Highway 2000 which I was sure would mnhave attrcated a lot of interest and how many hits did it get? Then it got twisted into some thing political...ahhhhhh boy

What yuh talking bout? Mosiah said he was against anything being named after a politician, was that political? If anyone turned it political ... if yuh want to call it that... it was you. Suh how yuh a cry now?