Did anyone hear the speech by
Originally posted by Lazie View PostRev. Wright on CNN last night?
...and I have the speech this morning recorded. Listening as I am at my work-station to CNN's "review".
Two things - I admire when you are in your element - as say, Burrell is where our football is concerned....you MUST...MUST be able if you are competent...be "light/swift (mentally) on your feet". You must as manager/leader/representative have facts at hand/'know' the entity/subject of which you are 'representing'/the expert/the leader and under public scrutiny as you go about that managing, leading and representing.
Wright could not be stumped today in that 'question and answer' period. Clearly the session was meant to give an opportunity, and I advisedly put it this way/use these words..." For Wright to stumble and fall". He did not.
Some of his words shall certainly be 'spun' by some to convey the impression that he was to put it mildly 'wrong' on some 'hot button issues'. You may disagree with some of what he said or disagree with how he said what he said...but, today...this morning Rev. Wright was a master/the master. I found him as good representative of us (Blacks). He was IMPRESSIVE!
Secondly: He reminded me of one of our won - There was this Anglican priest: Rev. E. Gordon who ministered at a Church at the corner of Washington Boulevard and Molynes Road. I wonder if the Rev. (Ernle?) Gordon is still alive?"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Easy OJ ... at times yuh affi side step KArl. That speech about being different I did learn something. The way he acts during his speech .. its easy for people to pick out a line or two and show him as a villian."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Originally posted by OJ View Postkarl you are saying the NAACP gave Wright an award and scenario for him to stumble and fall..???
The "Press Corp" address this morning. It appeared to me that the media set him up as a "self-serving devise' - (keeps the controvercy alive and makes for many copies for media writers). i.e. the controversy lives!
Yet...I think he handled himself well (in great manner) and without any compromise. How it will play for Obama I do not know - It, I think could go either way!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Originally posted by Willi View PostHuh?
Ernlie Gordon is always writing letter to Gleaner and Observer...maybe once a month!
I have not heard of him/or seen any of his writings since I left in 1990. Is he still as thought-provoking, controversial and sometimes outrageous? ...or has he mellowed with age?"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
i also saw him on PBS.....sean hannity has NO standing or even credentials to question this man.
rev wright is ahead of him INTELLECTUALLY, SERVICE TO COUNTRY and QUALIFICATION to do his job...rev wright is more qualified to be a preacher than hannity is qualified to be a journalist.
those are just the facts......
in a way i'm glad that this is still in focus.....obama has not been the one to make race an issue, that being the case the question that ameirca has to answer for itself is how progressive has america become, because if obama's race alone will prevent him from being elected president then the halfman half horse can tek all him bill of rights and still know that america is saying that, as a black man, "this is how far can you go and no further"....
I didn't hear all of the speech with the NAACP but I heard the one this morning live, and the Q&A that followed. Very interesting to say the least.
The commentators think it is all bad news for Obama because it puts him back in the spotlight, but i am not so sure. In reality the controversy never went away and will be close to the spotlight throughout Obamas campaign.
For one he was able to put a number of the sound bites in context, which the average viewer would never have heard without seeking out the sermons for themselves on youtube, etc. He was able to give detailed stats on what his church has done in a communtiy that has little govt resources. Also, while he came across as a bit arrogant in the Q&A, he gave answers that went over well for the most part, at least in my observation.
The best part of the Q&A today for me was when he was asked what he thought about the comments that he was anti-American and unpatriotic. He said he served 5 years in the military, is that unpatriotic? How many did Cheney serve?"It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Originally posted by Gamma View Postyeah rev ernle gordon is still around.....good family friend.
No I am not related to the Rev...but yuh seit how yuh deh-yah (the Massive Fambily an wan a wi related to di Rev? - 'one degree of separation'!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Hannity is a straight-up idiot in my view. He typifies the uninformed American who happens to have access to a microphone.
I am able to watch Bill OReilly without agreeing with him a lot of the time because he at least gives his opponents an opportunity to present thier views. Hannitys program is totally pointless because he is unable to have an intelligent debate with anyone."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass