US citizenship!!!! Morning Mosiah
yes...but the outcome ought to be the same...that its why it is a distinction without a difference.
if the issue was other than being allowed to sit in parlaiment perhaps the diffreence would be of moremoment...
There are difference between ALL the cases, but for the purposes of sitting in parliament, there are none! Not me cause this, its the precedent set by the recent CJ ruling.
If I was ruling, I would only exclude Naturalized citizens that took the offensive oath. the others took the light oath and that does not bother me more than for CWealth citizens.
To me the most egregious case of all is Hayles (that I am aware of, others could be similar too)...though he started the process of giving up his Nat. citizenship BEFORE nomination, for me, it should have been finished before then for him to be eligible. Why? because Yankee COULD refuse the renunciation, and where would that put us, with a voluntarily sworn Yankee in our parliament. US can REFUSE the renunciation if them want to!
don't see why halyes is the most egregious.....vaz sat as an american citizen with no intention of renouncing and yes, his application may yet be denied.
the question that i now have is whether these persons will have ot be taken to court to give up the seat.
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostFor one, it appears that she has never renewed her US passport that she received on account of her being born there
Originally posted by Gamma View Postdon't see why halyes is the most egregious.....vaz sat as an american citizen with no intention of renouncing and yes, his application may yet be denied.
the question that i now have is whether these persons will have ot be taken to court to give up the seat.
Because he is naturalized and took the strong oath. You see the oath Nat. citizens have to tek? Is like yuh haffi diss you old countrybad, bad!
Vaz and Hayes-Webster didnt take that oath.