Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Edward Seaga Problems of dual citizenship I faced the problems of dual citizenship because of my birth in the United States, over which I had no control. I voluntarily renounced my American citizenship in 1959. I did not have to. I could have retained it and still become a member of the Jamaican Government by simply not obtaining an American passport, or performing any act of allegiance to the United States. But I did not go part-way. I decided to remain a Jamaican only at the expense of surrendering my American citizenship, making me undisputedly a citizen of Jamaica and Jamaica only. These decisions are hard to make and preferences are usually personal, but preferences for parliamentarians should be directed to country, not to self, for anyone to be worthy of representing their country with integrity. I trust that those persons who get a second chance to renounce their foreign citizenship to qualify as a candidate will do the right thing.
All elected officials who are dual citizens need to renounce their foreign citizenship, or be disqualified from elected office.
BTW, being born there gives you a birth paper. You haffi apply for a passport. Kids passport lasts 5 years, adults 10. If she still have a US passport like she indicates she renewed several times.
Dont believe the hype. If you are going to be a literal constitutionalist then she in the same boat.
Based on the CJ ruling, in practical terms you cannot be a yankee and sit in our parliament. The loophole is so narrow its is impractical for a normal person.
The fact that she allowed that article does not speak well of her innate common sense.
She has been living outside the US for a while even before she became naturalized Jakan. What was she travelling with?
The CJ has just concretized the interpretation of that constitutional clause and the bar is now set.
There is also proof that Dudley Thompson violated the constituttion in 1972, so does that make the Cabinet decision of Michael's firts term invalid?
The way the PNP has handled this situation is quite the Pandora's box and was a BAAAADDDD decision. Bad politics and bad civics.
The best way forward is what Karl said... an agreement to have uncontested by-elections. otherwise its gonna be the upheaval of a snal election and the PNP faces the possibility of a blowout. That is NOT good for governance! BG's team with the slim lead is under pressure to perform. A big lead andf they will be tempted to relax and how that help us?
I dont care which party one prefers, they all have the potential for arrogance and none can be trusted absolutely. Besides, Jamaica needs a credibly opposition and even with 28 seats, this present Opposition is FAAARRR from convincing.
There are differences, Willi. You would be quite silly to state otherwise. Whether the differences amount to a different conclusion as to whether she remains in parliament or not, that is quite a different story!
Hell, they have different names, so clearly there are facile differences.
However, with respect to the matter at hand, there is no material difference.
For the record, I am not attacking you, as you have been consistent in your views that you nuh want nuh yankee in parliament. I understand your point of view.
Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.