Dancehall for the 'Dunce'
Kandré McDonald, Freelance Writer
The current crop of dancehall music is nothing but 'crap' which seemed to be aimed at the illiterate. While I have only being directly involved in the entertainment arena for just six years, I am an avid reader and a lover of music who have seen the dancehall genre deteriorating rapidly.
Dancehall music has moved away from being an art form, thanks to the set of illiterate warmongers who label themselves 'artistes'. The dancehall has transformed into a tracing session for selectors who act like sissies and for 'homophobic' young men who spend the wee hours of the morning dancing with each other.
Kandré McDonald, Freelance Writer
The current crop of dancehall music is nothing but 'crap' which seemed to be aimed at the illiterate. While I have only being directly involved in the entertainment arena for just six years, I am an avid reader and a lover of music who have seen the dancehall genre deteriorating rapidly.
Dancehall music has moved away from being an art form, thanks to the set of illiterate warmongers who label themselves 'artistes'. The dancehall has transformed into a tracing session for selectors who act like sissies and for 'homophobic' young men who spend the wee hours of the morning dancing with each other.
Lacks creativity
The music is poor and lacks creativity. Everyone now sings about their guns, sex, murder and homosexuality. The rhythms all sound similar and the lyrical content expressed in them speaks volumes of 'dunce-ness'.
The sketel syndrome and the bleach-out face act, that suppresses self-confidence, has become a major part of the dancehall. I will argue that these did not just start happening overnight but is directly linked to the lacklustre lyrics being sung by our current crop of 'noise makers'.
How can one justify musical events being kept in the street impeding vehicular and pedestrian traffic, the use of firearm at these events, or the lewd lyrics by disc jockeys and artistes? How does one 'squeeze breast like the trigger of a gun?' When since Rastafarianism has become akin to gangsterism? Why do many young artistes think that the only way to 'buss' is starting a clash and hopefully winning it?
The music is poor and lacks creativity. Everyone now sings about their guns, sex, murder and homosexuality. The rhythms all sound similar and the lyrical content expressed in them speaks volumes of 'dunce-ness'.
The sketel syndrome and the bleach-out face act, that suppresses self-confidence, has become a major part of the dancehall. I will argue that these did not just start happening overnight but is directly linked to the lacklustre lyrics being sung by our current crop of 'noise makers'.
How can one justify musical events being kept in the street impeding vehicular and pedestrian traffic, the use of firearm at these events, or the lewd lyrics by disc jockeys and artistes? How does one 'squeeze breast like the trigger of a gun?' When since Rastafarianism has become akin to gangsterism? Why do many young artistes think that the only way to 'buss' is starting a clash and hopefully winning it?
Real life
I am appalled by artistes who continue to say that they sing about what is happening around them and then record a song that says something like: "If a bwoy diss mi, him marrow ago fly, rise up the AK dem high, high, high."
Ninety-five per cent of the music being produced under the label dancehall is total rubbish that should not have been written or uttered. The constant beeping out of lyrics on the radio should not be happening as this is somewhat of an insult to the listening public who is quite aware of what is being beeped out.
Many of our current artistes are destroying the music. I wish there was a way to ban them from ever singing, similar to how we can ban them from travelling.
I would also like to express something that journalist Ian Boyne said in a recent column: "We must save the dancehall, for it is worth saving, as many fine artistes inhabit that space. We owe it to them. Let's take it back from the miscreants."
The relevant authorities and the media need to step in so that these dunces will stop having such a huge impact on our children and society as a whole. We need to stop glorifying 'dunce music' and label it dancehall. Music across all genres is deteriorating worldwide, however dancehall seem to be leading the pack. Comments at brutalbraf@yahoo.com.
Ninety-five per cent of the music being produced under the label dancehall is total rubbish that should not have been written or uttered. The constant beeping out of lyrics on the radio should not be happening as this is somewhat of an insult to the listening public who is quite aware of what is being beeped out.
Many of our current artistes are destroying the music. I wish there was a way to ban them from ever singing, similar to how we can ban them from travelling.
I would also like to express something that journalist Ian Boyne said in a recent column: "We must save the dancehall, for it is worth saving, as many fine artistes inhabit that space. We owe it to them. Let's take it back from the miscreants."
The relevant authorities and the media need to step in so that these dunces will stop having such a huge impact on our children and society as a whole. We need to stop glorifying 'dunce music' and label it dancehall. Music across all genres is deteriorating worldwide, however dancehall seem to be leading the pack. Comments at brutalbraf@yahoo.com.