• Business community responding to tax amnesty

Business community responding to tax amnesty

Monday, 21 April 2008

There has been a favourable response so far to the six month tax amnesty announced two weeks ago by Finance Minister Audley Shaw.
    Director of Public Relations at the Tax Administration Services Department, Meris Haughton, said the toll free hotline has been inundated with calls about the amnesty.
    Persons have also been visiting tax collectorates making enquiries.
    Miss Haughton said small business owners have shown particular interest.
    Persons who pay the principal of their arrears in full by June 30 will receive a waiver of the interest and penalties.
    After that period different waivers will be applied.
    The amnesty will end on October 31.

omar?

omar?
      Wait .. Mosiah gonna point out the typos.

But, the opposition was skeptical of the tax amnesty. I don't overstand what a gwaan.

well you can't blame them, that is why you have opposition.

The calls are good but let us see how it transform inna $$$$ inna the kitty.

if ongle ONE person tek advantage of the amnesty, it is a success!!!

get some in the kitty and then prosecute and then levy heavy penal fines!!

Persons Delinquent in Paying Property Taxes Could Face Court Action

Property owners, who are delinquent in paying their property taxes, could risk losing their properties through the courts, if they refuse to make good on their legal obligations.
              Minister of State in the Office of the Prime Minister with responsibility for Local Government, Robert Montague issued the warning as part of an appeal to property owners to become compliant in paying their taxes.
              The Minister, who was speaking at a recent JIS Think Tank, said although the Property Tax Revenue Recovery Unit is doing a good job of collecting from delinquents, the Local Government Department will be stepping up the drive this year, by sending out notices and taking court action against "troublesome delinquents".
              Mr. Montague said that these persons will be taken to court and their properties sold to recover outstanding arrears.
              The projected revenue from property taxes this year is $2.7 billion from an expected 60 per cent compliance rate and arrears collections. Last year, only about 40 per cent of the approximately 700,000 registered landowners paid property taxes.
              Highlighting the services that are made possible through the payment of property taxes, the State Minister said, "property taxes are used for the payment of property-related services such as street lighting, solid waste management and in some respects, the fire service."
              "We are short about $1 billion this year in the payments for street lighting and property taxes and the aim this year is to have full payment for both," he said.
              In the meantime, Mr. Montague said that he is engaged in discussions with the Ministries of Water and Housing, and Agriculture regarding lands, which were given out under schemes such as Operation Pride and in cases where people have received titles and certificates of allotment, but are not paying taxes.
              He said that this will be done with the aim of either reclaiming those lands or collecting the taxes due.

Omar didn't have an amnesty when he was MOF?

We have faculty at our institution who would like to have their online quizzes randomized but have no idea how to do it. There are others who have it down to the "T" ..or "d" in this case.

Time yuh get over Omar Mosiah. Fi 14 years him set himself targets and couldn't meet it ... in 7 months Man a Yaad was able to not only meet the target, but surpass it.

Did Omar have an amnesty period? If you don't know, say so!

For you info, he did, and it was not particularly successful.

Good to see course nuh change.

Did Omar have an amnesty period? If you don't know, say so!

For you info, he did, and it was not particularly successful.

Good to see course nuh change.
                      Was Omar ever successful in anything he ever attempted, except winning elections? Mi tell yuh ...time yuh get over Omar.

So people are just going to warm to Man A Yard and take advantage of the amnesty. Ah si!

Is more like McMillan a head the tax collecting agency and them know him nuh ramp.

So people are just going to warm to Man A Yard and take advantage of the amnesty. Ah si!
                            How you get to that conclusion is amazing. Haven't you been paying attention? How many people have been dragged before the courts since this gov't took office?

Did you read the first post in this thread? Sometimes mi feel guilty fi call yuh out sometimes, but its comical stance like these that mek mi shelf mi sympathy.

Lazie, I couldn't care less how much comedy you get from my posts. I get that and tragedy from yours, so it's all good!