We need to move into the 21st Century - No work on Sundays?!

• We need to move into the 21st Century - No work on Sundays?!

RIU breaching building permit

Monday, April 21, 2008

Builders of the Spanish-owned RIU hotel in Montego Bay have been operating in breach of the St James Parish Council building permit by having work done on the site on Sundays.
    Yesterday morning, work was in full progress despite a parish council stipulation that construction work is not permitted on Sundays.
    Work in progress on the RIU Hotel construction site in Montego Bay yesterday. The contractor on the site could not be reached for comment yesterday, neither could the newspaper contact an official from the parish council.
    However, one worker told the Observer that work is done seven days a week at the site. He said work usually concludes at about 12:00 noon on a weekend and that by 1:00 pm most of the workers would have left the site.
    However, up to 3:00 pm yesterday, distinct sounds of hammering could be heard coming from the construction site located opposite to the Ironshore/Blue Diamond shopping district.
    According to the building permit, "Construction work time shall be confined to the hours of 8:00 am to 6:00 pm on weekdays and on Saturdays. No construction work is permitted on Sundays and on public holidays."

i support no construction work on sundays unless it is limited in scope and double time labor...

Bwoy if a laugh to rhatid.

No wonder nothing can't done on time. You have parish council and then the mobster unions fi stop everything that mean productivity.

What them should a fight for a double overtime fi the workers on sunday.

Well, let's just lock up shop and move to the Dominican Republic.

Last one out, please turn off the lights!

What them should a fight for a double overtime fi the workers on sunday.
          There is no need to fight for that. That's already on the books!

yow, where do you draw the line... lets just have construction every day... 365 days... that would be just fine...

so no problem then. Workers work if them want and carry home more money.

thanks fi the clarification Mo.

Wheh yuh seh.. slavery dun !?

ok mo.. thanks for the clarification... i thought it was just standard pay... sunday through sunday... still full scale construction on sundays just does not jive with me... operations managers can be creative in managing budgets and still exploit workers despite the double time...

raise the level with a construtive contribution nuh king son...

Maybe what them need to do is give permit under some instances.

Most Hoteliers would want to make sure their hotel is done in time for the next winter tourist season because that is where they make their money and putting back construction could hurt the bottomline of these investors and government revenue as they charge taxes per room occupied.

And where is the problem?

That is a valid contribution.

Yuh never hear reference to that in objection to 'harsh' working conditions ?

1 Chiney duh di work of 5 black man...

'Slavery' dun fi us but not for others...

We need to get serious. Construction cannot wait for Mondays. There are times when you may have a concrete pour that may span two days, say. You cannot send back the Readimix truck because it's Sunday. And you And you cannot stop the pour. These things must be done continuously, or none at all! And you cannot wait until Monday to start the pour.

A company I worked for in New York was involved with the building of a casino in Connecticut. The general conrtractor would be fined US$1m a day for every day it goes over the completion date. Do you think people could observe the Sabbath with those kinds of penalties? And whose Sabbath are we talking about?!

What about road work? Many times, the best time to do work so as not to inconvenience traffic is a Sunday. We same ones will be bitching if we see those crews in our way come Monday morning.

We need to get real. Like I said, we have all sorts of laws on the books for overtime - weekends, holidays, etc. Once they are observed, let's get with it. And we can try to schedule the less noisy activities for Sundays where possible, but no work whatsoever!?!?

Remember those days when gas stations in Jamaica locked at 7pm and were not open on Sundays? Should we just go back to those days? (Come to think of it, with gas prices moving upward on a daily basis, we might need to go back to those days!)

We need to get serious. Construction cannot wait for Mondays. There are times when you may have a concrete pour that may span two days, say. You cannot send back the Readimix truck because it's Sunday. And you And you cannot stop the pour. These things must be done continuously, or none at all! And you cannot wait until Monday to start the pour.

A company I worked for in New York was involved with the building of a casino in Connecticut. The general conrtractor would be fined US$1m a day for every day it goes over the completion date. Do you think people could observe the Sabbath with those kinds of penalties? And whose Sabbath are we talking about?!

What about road work? Many times, the best time to do work so as not to inconvenience traffic is a Sunday. We same ones will be bitching if we see those crews in our way come Monday morning.

We need to get real. Like I said, we have all sorts of laws on the books for overtime - weekends, holidays, etc. Once they are observed, let's get with it. And we can try to schedule the less noisy activities for Sundays where possible, but no work whatsoever!?!?

Remember those days when gas stations in Jamaica locked at 7pm and were not open on Sundays? Should we just go back to those days? (Come to think of it, with gas prices moving upward on a daily basis, we might need to go back to those days!)
                              Mo - I agree wid you. Even John Crow a wuk pon Sunday now! Certain work can't wait until Mon. - Fri.

Damn yesterday I went into the shopping area of Canarsie, and even the meat shop that used to be closed on a Sunday is now open for business.