No More Dutty Fridaze

• No More Dutty Fridaze

'Night Noise' Act casts shadow - Promoters protest regulation - Dutty Fridaze on hold

Teino Evans, Staff Reporter

Patrons enjoy the [COLOR=blue! important][COLOR=blue! important]vibes[/COLOR][/COLOR] at a recent Dutty Fridaze, held at Fletchers Land square. - Nathaniel Stewart
    Promoters of weekly street [COLOR=blue! important][COLOR=blue! important]dances[/COLOR][/COLOR] have said that they are unable to survive under the current new conditions regarding enforcement of the Noise Abatement Act.
    A number of them have been feeling the pinch in their pockets, as many have recorded losses since the police began to enforce the 2 a.m. cut-off time.
    One promoter, who declined to have his name published, says, "With the Noise Abatement Act, there are things that promoters and people in general still don't understand. During the week, the permit says until 12 o' clock and on Saturday it goes until 2 o' clock."
    He says some promoters and patrons in general are still of the opinion that it is all dances, even during weekdays, that attract the 2 a.m. lock off time.
    "So we, as promoters, are still catering for the 2 a.m., but by 12, police coming to lock off the dance," the promoter said.
    He added, "Now, it is left to the discretion of the police, some might give you a run and some might not. Now, we as promoters are losing, we can't afford to advertise anymore, we selling less than half the [COLOR=blue! important][COLOR=blue! important]liquor[/COLOR][/COLOR] and lose a significant amount of patrons who come after 12."
    But for Dutty Fridaze promoter, Wayne '2 Gran' Bartley, although he has been losing big since trying to adjust to the early cut-off time, a new obstacle recently presented itself.
    No More Dutty Fridaze

'2 Gran' Bartley
    2 Gran says, "There will be no more Dutty Fridaze until further notice."
    According to the Dutty Fridaze promoter, "tru di violence wey gwaan inna di area di odda day, the police are not granting any permits right now because their hands are full. But although the violence is not up at our side (in Fletcher's Land), it is in Southside and [COLOR=blue! important][COLOR=blue! important]Tel-Aviv[/COLOR][/COLOR], it's one division. But everybody should not have to suffer."
    Pressure
    And now, 2 Gran says, "It really put a wicked pressure pon me now, 'cause I have been working with the 2 a.m. lock-off time and I have been working hard to get the people out early and now this."
    "Fi di past two months now, mi have a heavy loss. Although wi nah depend on the money, we need videos, so like when they (police) come 1 o' clock, dem kill di video, and for the past four weeks, the video ting get a blow, an a it wi use fi mek di people dem a foreign si wah gwaan, si di dancers an can sen fi dem eat a food," he said.
    However, in some cases, the patrons seem to be responding to the call to come out early.
    Meely, one of the promoters for Passa Passa says, "Di people dem nuh fully adjust to the new time but for three weeks straight we lock off regardless. But dem start come out because by 1 or 2 a.m., we had a descent crowd and when it just started, we didn't get much people."
    Another promoter of a weekly street dance said he would like to propose that all dances be locked off at 2 a.m., both during the week and on Saturdays.
    He says, "Di 12 o' clock not going to mek it, we prefer to have a 2 a.m. lock-off time all throughout, because 12 o' clock is ridiculous. And furthermore, all of [COLOR=blue! important][COLOR=blue! important]Jamaica[/COLOR][/COLOR] don't know this and they are already used to the 2 a.m. lock off."

Patrons enjoy the vibe at Passa Passa in Kingston recently. Promoters of the event say people are beginning to come earlier as a result of the cut-off time. - Nathaniel Stewart
    The street dances are important to [COLOR=blue! important][COLOR=blue! important]dancers[/COLOR][/COLOR] who get to 'market' their moves for the video light. Here, dancers, dressed as kitchen workers, make the rounds at Dutty Fridaze, held at Fletcher's Land square, recently. - Nathaniel Stewart

carnival nah get lock mi can tell yuh dat