How will they spend the Constituency Development Fund?

• How will they spend the Constituency Development Fund?

ASKS THE QUESTIONS
    MARK CUMMINGS
    Thursday, April 17, 2008

Disbursements under the Constituency Development Fund (CDF) - whereby $40 million will be made available to each member of parliament to finance projects in their respective constituencies - is expected to begin next month.

Here in the West the initiative appears to have the blessings of political representatives as well as the general populace.
    But what are the principal projects that will being considered in the region?
    Today, we find out from some of the Western members of parliament.

Frank Witter: South East St Elizabeth
    He wants a number of parochial roads, particularly those in the Queensbury, Ridge and Tryall communities to be rehabilitated.

The provision of electricity in the districts of Ivor Cottage, Mount Pleasant and Jackson Town are also among the proposals submitted by Witter under the programme.
    He has also proposed that a number of defective water catchment tanks be repaired.

Luther Buchanan: Eastern Westmoreland
    He wants a multi-purpose stadium in Bigwoods to be constructed; farm roads and other minor roads to be improved and the establishment of a botanical garden in Darliston.

Clive Mullings: West Central St James
    Mullings said under the programme this fiscal year the Granville community centre will be refurbished and a basketball court in Catherine Hall will be constructed.
    COMMAND will also be funded in a bid to effect repairs to a number of sanitary conveniences.

The MP is still accepting project proposals.

Ian Hayles: Western Hanover
    Hayles said his projects are based on the needs of the constituency.

He wants $5 million to be used to upgrade the Noel Holmes Hospital in Lucea, $3 million to undertake improvement works at the Watson Taylor Park, also, in Lucea; renovation of several community centres in the constituency, as well as the establishment of a theatre for the Arts.

The provision of scholarships for teachers and students as well as agricultural projects; and repairs to several roads are also high on the agenda.

Horace Chang: North West St James
    Among his proposals for the constituency is the construction of a recording studio in the inner-city community of Canterbury.

Funding for the CDF is also expected to be used for skills training, repairs to community centres and computer programmes in schools.

Roads too are expected to get attention.

Patrick Harris: MP Northern Trelawny
    The MP would like to see a raft of economic and social projects undertaken in the constituency in an effort to bring prosperity to the area.

His proposals, though not yet finalised, are expected to see early childhood education being given priority. Agricultural and cultural projects, as well as road repairs are also expected to be addressed.

Dr Christopher Tufton: Southwest St Elizabeth
    Education forms a major plank of Dr Tufton's proposals.
    He wants a significant portion of his allocation to provide scholarships for needy students at the primary and secondary levels.

Repairs to several minor roads and the development of sporting programmes, as well as assistance for farmers, are also high on the agenda.

Wykeham McNeil: Western Westmoreland
    His projects include road repairs from Old Hope to Little Bay and in several communities in the Friendship division.
    The construction of multi-purpose courts in Paul Island and West End and repairs to sidewalks in Grange Hill are also under consideration.

There is also a proposal to establish training facilities at several community centres and a project to assist school-leavers with funding to pursue business ventures.

Some of these ideas are simply WACK!!!! Recording studio? Come now Mr. Chang.

Since this will be done every year, the MPs should use this money to deal with some of the road problems in their constituency. What about funding an after school program for students? Recording studio? I do hope his proposal is rejected.

Why?

Don't music is a livelyhood as well. You can turn out artists and people for the entertainment industry.

If them need a recording studio them need one. Not too much of a bad idea as government oftenly don't put nothing inna music. You can also train engineers there. that is a good career.

Why?

Don't music is a livelyhood as well. You can turn out artists and people for the entertainment industry.

If them need a recording studio them need one. Not too much of a bad idea as government oftenly don't put nothing inna music. You can also train engineers there. that is a good career.
        Sorry!!! Still think a recording studio shouldn't be at the top of the list.

It nuh have fi cost a lot of money just drop pro tools in deh on the low end.

Is Luther Buchanan idea I have a problem with. Multi-purpose stadium in Bigwoods?!?! Anybody know dah place deh? (Okay Bricktop, if you knew it, I am sure you would not admit to it!) Anyway, I know the area and a stadium of any size is the last thing it needs. Luther a mi bredren, I need to give him a call.

And he continues bout botanical gardens in the area. Huh?!?!

I actually don't think the recording studio idea is that bad. It might not have been the first on my list and you have to wonder how many people will benefit from it, but maybe it's time we realise the importance of music to our culture and our economy. That's why this idea to lock off parties at 12 midnight during the week and at 2am on weekends is utter rubbish!

Although I am of the opinion that too many careless parents party all night but Reggae music is our ting and it fi run it would be better to say 2 on weekdays and 4 on weekends or have designated areas for music to run.

Them can't kill the music, what next radio and TV shut off at midnight again?

Suh di police going to force people to become better parents?!?

at least them deh a dem yaaad.

Mi also support locking them up.

You know how long mi nuh ga a one good session? Mainly because of parenting duties?

And when Giuliani closed the sex shops in New York, we all became born-again Christians.

At least you nuh see them a walk pon 42nd street up and down again.

Now I know what is your biggest grouse with "gringe"

Mo I support orderly and properly planned entertainment. There are however somethings I believe like if parents fail to play the proper role in their kids life they must face the penalty. Mi and you had at least one good parent or else..........

While some people will not become good parents others can be forced to take responsibility. You can't tell me government must support their bad parenting skills with policies that make it worst.