Dem bredda yah jus love chat and don't know what dem a seh, bout "promises via a contract, a return on the investment". Olint promises no such thing
Open enquiry into alternative investment schemes, Bunting...
In all probability the Olint operation is a version of of a ponzi scheme dressed up as a forex trading outfit.... if they indeed provided outsized returns on a consistent basis over an extended period of time.
The Olint issue does not turn on the legality of forex trading. You are either unaware of the possible legal ramifications of that operation or for some other reason (surprise,surprise!) not framing the issue correctly.
When an entity accepts deposits from the public and promises via a contract, a return on the investment - that entity in all probability must be subject to regulation and oversight by the relevant government authorities. Whether regulated or not, such an entity is subject to the laws of the marketplace, if it invests in marketable instruments such as foreign exchange.
While substantial gains can be made in forex trading- the world's largest market- there is no legal investment that can GUARANTEE extraordinary returns(say- returns above gilt-edged securities) -uninterrupted - over an extended period of time - this defies market logic as well as common sense... ask George Soros... probably the greatest currency trader in history.... he's taken a bath several times in his trading career.
In all probability the Olint operation is a version of of a ponzi scheme dressed up as a forex trading outfit.... if they indeed provided outsized returns on a consistent basis over an extended period of time.
Not that you are particularly keen on facts or logic - I guess defending a political position trumps those minor considerations.
I believe movement of funds above certain 'volumes' within certain
time-frames require certain disclosures and the following of certain procedures?
mek dem gwaan!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Originally posted by Lazie View PostWhey Mosiah deh? Him somehow hang onto dem breddah yah words. I guess him getting confident.
Cash Plus deh bout from when? What did the previous gov't do about it?
What did the previous opposition do?
...claims that Finance Minister Audley Shaw may have given fillip to such entities when, before coming to office, he criticised regulators for their robust moves against them.
...and the opposition 'led the charge' at roadblocks???? Right Lazie????
"The Gestapo-like invasion of David Smith's office last year as conducted by the Financial Intelligence Arm of the Financial Investigation Division was a vulgar abuse of state power and highly reflective of the actions of a totalitarian state.
"It was designed to destroy both the company and the man's reputation in one fell swoop. It was even more frightening, given that to date, no clear statement has emerged as to the exact legal infringement committed by the company. The "Cease and Desist" order served on the company was somewhat akin to brute force when it was clear that the intended effect of the raid, to create a run on the company's office, did not materialise."
thanks
Originally posted by Bricktop View PostExplain how they continued to pay out to the people on the top tier when they weren't accepting new members? Explain how clients were receiving payouts even after the incident when the offices were raided and 70% of investors withdrew their money? Since we dealing with facts and all.
I made general points regarding finance and economics which are irrefutable - no one can guarantee above market returns indefinitely - if they do - it's a scam - period.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
contract law
Originally posted by Maudib View PostOLINT promises a return via a contract ???TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Originally posted by Bricktop View PostDem bredda yah jus love chat and don't know what dem a seh, bout "promises via a contract, a return on the investment". Olint promises no such thing
A valid contract has 3 elements - offer, acceptance & consideration - which element is missing in Olint's dealings with it's depositors?TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
you might be right on all counts.
I simple thing with proper legislation and Fiscal monitoring there is no way an ILLEGAL firm should have grown so big. Red flags should have been driven from year one.
It is not like the man dem did a cook the books and get away with it, they simple presented no books at all.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Don1 View Postexplain why people invest in it if they are not promised a return above what they can get in a regulated market.
Originally posted by Don1 View PostYour use of the term "top tier" betrays perhaps that this scheme is indeed a pyramid. If they collected from "bottom tier" or "mid tier" or whatever depositors and have a reserve therefrom - that's an obvious possibility in the entity paying the favoured few - in fact that's how pyramids work. You just prove my point - thanks.
I made general points regarding finance and economics which are irrefutable - no one can guarantee above market returns indefinitely - if they do - it's a scam - period.