• Calls for removal of dual citizenship clause

Tuesday, 15 April 2008

A call is being made for the removal of the section of the Jamaican Constitution which disqualifies a person with dual citizenship from holding political office.

General Secretary of the Farquharson Institute, Ken Jones, said the clause is irrelevant in modern day society.

"I believe that this section of the constitution should be deleted because it serves no useful purpose," said Mr. Jones.

"All it does is to divide and confuse the people and get them into useless arguments and political tribalism which we can do without and we should be paying our attention to the economic and social development of our people," he continued.

dis agree. green card is one thing.....citizenship is another.

totally disagree... i wonder about these people who is supposed to have profound wisdom and understanding...

Leave it alone --- It does not bar commonwealth citizens. If fact the next prime minister could be British, Canadian or even a no good soca warrior for Trinidad!

even a no good soca warrior for Trinidad!
          Mind how yuh talk about Mosiah's posses

Can someone tell me what is the purpose of this clause.

put it this way ...... the bible seh (heheheheheheheheh) a man cannot serve 2 masters.

The clause does not prevent that...

it prevents the APPEARANCE of it!

If one has dual-citizenship.. that is 2 Masters by definition.

i think that there is a distinction to be made between eligibility for dual citizenship. one cannot legislate against the eligibility. i think therefore this is where the "positive acts" section would come into play, and in fact where vaz got caught.

Which portion of the electorate gives a flying F... what other passport their representative has ?

This would fail a referendum.

No real upside.. evident downside based on recent events..

perhaps.....perhaps not. as it stands the electorate doesn't have to give a flying F

It speaks then to relevance of the clause.. I mean it is supposed to be an act of the people.. if the people nuh really care... understandable given todays reality..

I mean how many people even knew that clause existed in the first place ?

Forget about polling the Diaspora...

I don't agree but at the same time mi
                              not giving up mine. Well if I find myself with Lee Chin,Carlos, Bill gates money and what's that guy from oracle who is always sponsoring boat races? Then I'm a citizen of the world so it doesn't matter, so until then

Yes but Ja should keep that law in place for now. I am not sophisticated and can manipulate words,so I speak the plain truth.