wid all de crime a gwaan inna jamaica...

• wid all de crime a gwaan inna jamaica...

what seems lost is de role of de peeple in all of it... mi seh it before and mi aguh seh it again... iz de peeple who police demselves in a civil society - de police personnel iz ongle enforce de lawz...

everybody ongle a blame politician an de peeple nuh want accept nuh responsibility...

if the people really want crime to be reduced, they've got to be more cooperative... stop support criminal activities...

It is bigger than that. Cooperate with the corrupted policeman who take weh you car and you have fi let something on the side?

Cooperate with the police who a go phone the big don fi give him a gun fi plant it pon the you?

While crime is not been reduced at the moment some of the steps by the Admiral has been good in my book and will result in long term trust in the force. He is going after corrupted cops and sending a message and that is good for a change. Sooner or later people will have more trust to cooperate with the police.

True, but when yuh have a corrupt police force how do you work with them when they themselves might bring about your death by their actions?!? Is not a one-way street, but I do agree the people could do a lot more!

Baddaz, crime stoppers will tell you there are inundated with calls, certainly surpassing all expectations. To whom do we report criminals that are backed by some serious police?
        As to Government, it is their job to win the fight on crime, and they failed to implement measures... that society appreciate...
        In Cuba, once a stranger takes up residence in a community, he is quickly visited by the authorities(whey yuh fah, who yuh, yuh wanted), that is because of alert, appointed community members(willing to be part of..) and a national ID card system.
        It is intrusive but Jakans will at least acquiesce.

The servants really think they are the masters, that too has to change.

Blessed

of course the corruption in the force has to be reigned in... still doesn't take away the responsibility of the people in the effort against crime...

whats interesting is that everybody can blame the politicians but nobody can cite any evidence of politicians directly aiding in the bloodletting that has become the norm in the jamaican society...

what we have is a people who have lost their moral compass... if we witness a crime or know of persons engaging in illegal activities, everybody turns a blind eye because its not affecting them directly...

we confront the law enforcement at every opportunity... we break every law and don't expect to be punished... and when those who break the laws are apprehended, we create mayhem and demand they be freed...

i've said this before, for the society to appreciate their freedom, they will need to lose it (or some of it)... everybody will have to pay that sacrifice, regrettably...

I see police do gun salute a dance and shot man and the people report it and police come and threathen them not to go to court.

There are many cases I know of but I won't talk bout it on the forum, when police behave like that they can expect to hear nothing from ordinary citizen who have fi live for their family.

chicken and egg? no...it should start with the police insilling confidence in the populace...a confidence that has gone, as the aussies say, walkabout!

a so mi see it too. The force have to rid itself of some a dat image first.

My last visit to Ja I went to three house, one in Portland, One in St.mary and one in Brook Valley behind Duhaney Park. These are either as we call it Ghetto people or Country people and one thing they had in common was the Kingfish Sticker on their fridge. They all told me Kingfish nuh ramp. Now tell me why them never have their local police number? Shouldn't that be on their fridge?

The simple fact is Kingfish is doing a good job so they have faith in Kingfish and not in their local police. As for the country people they rather call town first which is miles away as they know their information is protected.

Baddaz, crime stoppers will tell you there are inundated with calls, certainly surpassing all expectations. To whom do we report criminals that are backed by some serious police?
                  that is why it is important for the commish to be aggressive in purging the force of corrupt personnel...

As to Government, it is their job to win the fight on crime, and they failed to implement measures... that society appreciate...
                  In Cuba, once a stranger takes up residence in a community, he is quickly visited by the authorities(whey yuh fah, who yuh, yuh wanted), that is because of alert, appointed community members(willing to be part of..) and a national ID card system.
                  It is intrusive but Jakans will at least acquiesce.

The servants really think they are the masters, that too has to change.

Blessed
                  rockman, how does the government win the fight against crime... who or what is the government... what happens in jamaica when the government even attempt to implement measures to stamp out crime... its not as if the government has never tried...

rockman, the problem is the governments of jamaica has been too concerned with their constituents reaction to any drastic measures that are necessary to really halt crime...

its not as if its a secret as to who are the real crime powerbrokers in jamaica... its only a few...

funny, you would even mention cuba... if that was to happen in jamaica, there would be such noise from some sections...