• Vaz challenges PNP

Vaz challenges PNP
    Drop court action and fight election, he says

EVERARD OWEN,
    Observer correspondent
    Monday, April 14, 2008

BUFF BAY, Portland - Daryl Vaz last night challenged the People's National Party (PNP) to prove that it has no intention to seek state power through the courts by dropping Abe Dabdoub's appeal and abiding by the Supreme Court's ruling for a by-election in the West Portland constituency.

At the same time, Vaz accused the PNP of sending conflicting signals in its response to Chief Justice Zaila McCalla's ruling and told the Opposition party to make up its mind.

"I am calling on the PNP publicly to desist from any further court action in this matter, because the court has put it back into the hands of the people where it rightfully belongs," Vaz told cheering Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) constituency workers in Buff Bay, Portland. "I respect the ruling of the court that we must have a by-election. I want to clean my slate. I want to renounce my US citizenship. I am hopeful that good sense will prevail and the Opposition will come clean and speak from one mouth, one language, so that the right hand knows what the left hand is doing."

Vaz said he was referring to statements made by PNP president Portia Simpson Miller and party general-secretary Peter Bunting on Friday after the landmark ruling.

"The leader of the PNP said they have no intention of regaining power through the court, and at the same time the general secretary, reading a statement, said that the PNP has been vindicated but that they are disappointed that the seat was not handed over to Dabdoub," said Vaz. "I say to the PNP, make up your mind."

On Friday, Chief Justice McCalla disqualified Vaz as the member of parliament for the Portland West constituency on the basis of his status as a United States citizen.

But McCalla also ruled that a by-election should be held to choose a representative for the constituency, effectively throwing out Dabdoub's argument that he should be declared the duly elected representative.
    Dabdoub had brought the election petition against Vaz following his defeat in last September's general elections.

Lawyers for Dabdoub argued in the five-month-long petition, which ended with judgement being reserved in February, that the court should find that Vaz was not qualified to be a parliamentarian because of his allegiance to the United States, which contravenes section 40 of the Jamaican Constitution.

Testimony was given during the election petition that Vaz' renewal and extensive use of his US passport was proof of him acknowledging allegiance to that country.

It was further argued that Dabdoub should be named MP for the constituency because he had, before the September 3 elections, issued the relevant notices, informing electors that a vote for Vaz would be wasted because of his allegiance to the United States.

But Vaz' attorneys argued that their client got his US citizenship through his mother, which was not an act on his part, and as such he should be allowed to remain MP for the constituency. Furthermore, it was submitted that the Jamaican Constitution allows for dual citizenship.

Chief Justice McCalla, in her judgement, said that Vaz' actions in reapplying for, and his extensive travels on, his US passport amounted to acknowledgement of allegiance to the US.

However, she ordered the by-election because, she said, the allegations of Vaz' allegiance could not be substantiated at the time the notices were issued, coupled with the fact that Director of Elections Danville Walker had informed voters by way of a press release and subsequent statements that all 146 candidates were properly nominated.

Last night, Vaz told his workers that he intended to go to the US Embassy this morning to start the process of renouncing his citizenship.

His address was punctuated by popular songs Hard Man Fi Dead by Prince Buster, Jimmy Cliff's Harder They Come, and Bob Marley's Bad Card which begins with the phrase 'Dem a go tired fi see mi face'.

Supported by JLP general-secretary Karl Samuda, party deputy leader James Robertson, and JLP senator Tom Tavares-Finson, Vaz issued a final word to the PNP: "Stop the court action so that we can fly the gate and get rid of the pirate."

I stand by decision/position previously mounted on this site - The PNP should allow the by-election with Vaz only on the ballot!

The point has been proven....the principle upheld...all other MPs in a similar position should resign and be allowed to return unopposed to the house if they renounce citizenship.

....and I now add...

...if the party that held the seat has to select another candidate in the unlikely even that the former MP refuses to renounce his/her foreign citizenship then that party which had won the seat should be allowed to select an alternate candidate and that alternate candidate be allowed to be returned unopposed.

How it should be done in the best interest of the country?

Bi-partisan meeting and joint announcement on the way forward on this.

End of that story! ...both parties get a
    FORWARD for Jamaica!

It simple ... all Bruce affi duh is pull couple more skeleton out a di bag and call an election. Straight up.

.. although I fi one believe that such a move is a gamble ... because the Karls and JAwge, despite what the new gov't has done in 7 months wouldn't mind a reversal.

karl ..... mi agree wid yuh! yuh getting enlightened fi sure....there is hope yet!!!

how hilary doing these days?

It simple ... all Bruce affi duh is pull couple more skeleton out a di bag and call an election. Straight up.
            Well one reason why Bruce may not wish to do what I said is he would not have a by-election to gauge the mode of the electorate?

Trus mi... the way I see it, Bruce shall call a general election in...counting from Sept 3 last...12 to 18 months!

karl ..... mi agree wid yuh! yuh getting enlightened fi sure....there is hope yet!!!

how hilary doing these days?
              Getting?
              How long ago did I suggest this?! ...mi suh passionate bout hit mi kaul Lazie NNN an sugges hit!

Mi worst nu like Daboub now. When mi see certain man a head him campaign when back inna the days them man use to come play ball wid we and when you deh a road a a wait pon bus or a ride them man deh skin up them nose and pass you. Them man deh nuh give way prayers back inna the days so how comes them a go work fi di people? or a richer them want get richer?

MyYout you see the man wha mi a talk?

Dabdoub should have been awarded the seat. If the JLP thereafter wants to call a by-election (is that possible?) or have a general election, so be it. But there is no reason I can see why Abe did not get the seat on the disqualification of Vaz.

Vaz is no better. Said it already, Portland must can find a man/woman of the soil to represent them. Both of them are not citizens of Portland!

Dabdoub should have been awarded the seat. If the JLP thereafter wants to call a by-election (is that possible?) or have a general election, so be it. But there is no reason I can see why Abe did not get the seat on the disqualification of Vaz.
                      If he was awarded the seat...a by-election could not be called. It would be his choice if he wanted to then resign?

What major crap?!?! Are you serious?!? What sense would that make? Why shouldn't the PNP have a candidate, and the NDM, and the Rastas? Vaz nuh have no right to di seat!

Well, as the judge said, due to the statement from Danville that all the candidates were properly nominated she couldn't give the seat to Abe as the people were misinformed.

Well, that's that! There is no need for a by-election and I hope the courts so rule! Vaz should have known better! The seat belongs to Abe!

from den yuh getting enlightened....