Originally posted by Assasin
View Post
Something about this is not clear. You negotiate a loan...and your interest rate is one the borrower and the lender contracts for specific period. How then do you change the terms?
..and let us claim these astute businessmen borrowed U$ funds and had planned to effect repayments in J$? Why being astute they did not convert to new J$ loans when they MUST have been projecting devaluations of the J$ vis a vis U$?
Surely there should have been increased J$ earnings if their hotel businesses became flat or grew?
I worked with Grace Kennedy in '80s when the devaluations were swift and huge...yet GK was able to plan and execute its way through that period. Certainly in the division in which I operated...and at higher levels where policies were modified to a deal with the perceived devaluations on the horizon...regular meetings were held on projection made on devaluations...and then plans surrounding ways to move forward put in place. GK weathered the storm...quite well.
What happened to those astute businessmen in the hotel trade and elsewhere who claimed the devaluations and high interest rate destroyed them? How were others able to 'run' through those 'twin minefields'?
What of others say a Glen Christian who co-founded Cari-Med in 1985 whose and today turnsover approximately U$85,000,000.00? How was he able to with little funds prosper and grow during those 'terrible' years? How come the ISSA group and Butch' group operate and grow during those same terrible years?
...40% of the ...wah...???? Lost? Ruin of the which 'black business'? What is the size of 'the black business' today? What was the size of 'black businesses' then?
Surely if it is larger than that which held during 'Dyer's going under years' then improvements in size...growth in 'black business' occured?
Is it a fact that poorly operated businesses flounder every day as well operated businesses flourish -- in the same economic conditions?
...or was it only Dyer and others of his ilk that confronted the devaluations and high interest rate regime...and the successful businesses operating within the same period, in like industries...somehow were not affected by those 'twin evils' of devaluations and high interest rates?
I do not know why I have always thought that businesses must confront and surmount the obstacles of the day (market forces, government legislation, etc., etc.)..forecast possible scenarios, put in place contingency plans, continuously modify operations as necessary to take advantage of opportunities...all for benefit of self...to remain viable and profitable?