• The No Businessman Left Behind Act

Stewart's version of "What's good for GM, is good for America"

He makes mostly valid points in my view but...... "a country is nothing more than a multiple of businesses" ..... I guess people who don't own businesses don't count in the Stewart calculus...... may be one of the secrets of his success.

Latest Butch Stewart press release published as news in the Observer:

Governments should help, not hinder businesses, says Stewart
    By Al Edwards
    Friday, April 11, 2008

Chairman of the Jamaica Observer, Gordon 'Butch' Stewart, has reiterated that a country is nothing more than a multiple of businesses and that the role of government is to facilitate businesses, not hinder them.

STEWART. I believe that everyone deserves a chance to go into business, roll the dice and do the things that will help the development of Jamaica
    Speaking at last week's Jamaica Observer Business Leader Awards held at the Jamaica Pegasus Hotel, Stewart said that the government should in effect serve as a watchdog and regulator to ensure that aberrant behaviour and foul practices do not prevail.

He noted that socialist governments have a penchant for taking a heavy-handed approach to the business sector which only serves to frustrate and restrict entrepreneurs.

"There are a lot of governments that don't realise that they are in charge of policies. All these social-minded governments that go into business but in fact take business out of the hands of the entrepreneurs are going to lose and fail because their job is to regulate."

Stewart is not alone in his sentiments, nor is it just applicable to Jamaica. People the world over have lost faith in politics, because they no longer know what governments are good for. Governments the world over have over the last 30 years withdrawn from running big state companies whether it be utilities, telecommunications or energy, leaving it to corporations to define the business realm. Overregulated or under-regulated by government, corporations set the terms of engagement themselves.

Back in 2003, Sir Howard Davies, outgoing chairman of Britain's Financial Services Authority, delivered a parting shot at government policy makers who were trying to introduce more price controls on the insurance industry while many companies were battling to stay solvent.

"I do not think we should be product designers nor do I personally believe in price controls. It is difficult to find evidence from other industries that price controls are good for consumers. I am totally clear that I cannot be responsible for both prudential regulation and price control regulation," said Sir Howard.

The former Soviet Union epitomised socialism, and the demise of social government there has heralded a slew of uber capitalists who now number among the world's top billionaires and are driving a much improved economy.

"Russia needs to guarantee the rule of law and keep government out of business in order to guarantee future prosperity," said one of Russia's leading financiers, Boris Jordan, speaking at a Reuters Russia Investment Summit last year.

Boris Jordan advised on the country's first privatisations in the 1990s. He now runs a US$2 billion private equity and advisory firm called the Sputnik Group.

"There isn't a country in the world where business can compete with the government. The government has to stimulate business and stay out of the competition of business and unfortunately we are seeing a tendency lately in Russia where we have seen the government enter the business arena to such an extent that it's become a competitor and therefore in my opinion probably a brake on the development of large-scale investment," said Jordan.

The business community of Jamaica has long bemoaned the preponderance of red tape, a government that does not trust the business sector, a convoluted tax system and the sheer difficulty it takes to run a business in Jamaica.

The new Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) has vowed to create a "business-friendly environment," one that will facilitate the private sector, not hinder it.

Jamaica's Minister of Industry, Investments and Commerce Karl Samuda has continually proclaimed that the present government is devoutly committed to reducing stifling red tape and enhancing a more business-friendly environment.

"I don't think that there is any single aspect of development that can be more impeding than the question of red tape and bureaucracy. At a time when the question of competitiveness has to occupy our thoughts in a very real way, this is the time that we must act.

"It is no longer enough to simply talk about it, but it must be manifestly clear that we intend to do something about it," said Samuda earlier this year at a round-table discussion on competitiveness held at the Jamaica Pegasus.

He further added that Jamaica couldn't be comforted by unfavourable statistics on the country's competitiveness.

Returning to the theme of competitiveness, Stewart said: "To the degree that business is good, is to the extent the country does well. To the degree that businesses do badly is to the extent that the country does badly. So if you want to see Jamaica soar and do better, it is going to happen through the businesses that make up this country.

"President John (F) Kennedy told the people of the United States of America that reducing taxes, which he planned to do, would afford the country not only business development but better tax collections. Every government that has in a smart way reduced taxes has benefited from the development and the success of the country for which they are in charge of policies."

Stewart also acknowledged the importance of family businesses and the role they play in boosting economies. He recalled Diana Stewart, (a Business Leader nominee together with her husband Richard Stewart) telling an invited gathering at a Jamaica Observer Luncheon that 50 per cent of the United States' Gross Domestic Product (GDP) was made up of family businesses and that 60 per cent of employment was provided by family-run businesses.

"It is entrepreneurship and the development of businesses that creates employment, that eliminates and drives away poverty and allows a country to be economically successful so that the quality of life of its people not only improves, but they get an opportunity that they never had before through building a business.

"I believe that everyone deserves a chance to go into business, roll the dice and do the things that will help the development of Jamaica," said Stewart.

He further added that for too long in Jamaica, making a profit was regarded as a sin. He said that for some time now people have informed him that they went into business out of love or passion, which he agrees with to an extent because there hasn't been a successful person who didn't have a passion or love for what that person was doing.

"But if you don't make a profit your passion won't last long," he continued to rapturous applause, adding that "the smaller the profit is, the weaker the people that make up that organisation."

Stewart capped off his wide-ranging address by highlighting the fact that Jamaicans possess immense entrepreneurial instincts, but pleaded with the Government to institute the appropriate framework to allow the nation's great business talent to flourish.

It is actually ignorant to extract statements out of their context and then attempt to be smart about it.

"He who knows not and knows not he knows not"

Dem seh fi shun your type, but mi will pray fi yuh.

Stewart's version of "What's good for GM, is good for America"

He makes mostly valid points in my view but...... "a country is nothing more than a multiple of businesses" ..... I guess people who don't own businesses don't count in the Stewart calculus...... may be one of the secrets of his success.
      Is this the fourth law of logic in effect?

Some people get satisfaction from finding ways to be the victim of the evil rich man. In the world of 1970s socialists, if you are rich then by definition you must be evil.

Maybe thats why there are so determined to bring everybody down to the same level of equal poverty.

No, it is called arriving at a conclusion fueled either by emotion or some other irrational concoction, then bending the laws of logic in an attempt to justify the conclusion.

Dumb1 is not fooling anybody with his psuedo-intellect... see my Monkey in a suit metaphor...

It's comical but totally expected that you lot seem to believe that the views of certain people who you idolize must remain unchallenged.

I feel free to challenge nonsense from whatever quarter it emerges because no one is above criticism or challenge in my book... whether I agree with their overall views or not.... which in this case I agreed with Stewart's overall message, but not the nonsensical statement.

This critical approach applies to Butch Stewart, Portia Simpson, Bruce Golding, Mother Teresa and everybody in between.

A country is nothing more than a collection of businesses = nonsense.

You lot can continue to genuflect to your idols.

I practice neither idolatry nor genuflection.

You can dish it but yuh cyaan tek it..

Your criticism is nonsensical and deserving of filing where most other refuse goes..

Let me ask you this, if he said "a countrys economy is nothing more than a collection of businesses", would you have a problem with that statement?

OK Roast Breadfruit

You can dish it but yuh cyaan tek it..

Your criticism is nonsensical and deserving of filing where most other refuse goes..

The bleaching cream a burn yuh or wah?

If you are not a business owner how is it that you earn an income?

Let me ask you this, if he said "a countrys economy is nothing more than a collection of businesses", would you have a problem with that statement?
                      no I would not have any issue with that. If that's what the guy meant - that's what he should have said.

?????

If you are not a business owner how is it that you earn an income?
                        Seems to me you need to complete the thought process here.

Checkmate

A country is nothing more than a collection of businesses = nonsense.
                            Do you agree with that statement, Lazie and Maudib?

Thanks for your non-answer!

Given the context of the discussion it seems clear to me that he was talking about economic issues and the govts role in that. But I guess if you want to get technical he could have been more specific.