As the police vow to clamp down on the issue of 'night noise', several selectors and promoters are expressing the will to comply with the law.
"Wid di 2 a.m. issue, bringing back dancehall to where it was, me nuh have a problem wid people a come out early an enjoy dem self, get time fi guh back home an get some sleep. Mi wish it did guh back from long time," selector Jigsy from the Bembe Squad and Danga Zone told THE STAR.
"If police are going to be consistent and do it right across the board, then I am okay with it. But they still need to be lenient and give us a chance to break in the people who come. Suh, like Passa, if we turn off the music from 2 a.m., wi turn it off to a empty house, suh wah wi can do is turn off at 6, then 5, and so on, So the people will get the point and start turning out early," Dilan, one of the organisers for Passa Passa said.
Oneil, another organiser for Passa Passa said; "we just need to convince the dance supporters of what is happening and also, if the police enforce this thing straight across the board and not lock off some dance an leave di odda one, then people will take it serious."
Recently, David McNaughton, a music selector was arrested while he operated the Jam Rock Disco at a dance in the Bryden Street area of east Kingston.
The sound system was reportedly playing without a permit. Consequently, Mc-Naughton was brought before the court and was granted bail in the sum of $50,000.
He is to appear again in the Corporate Area Resident Magistrate's Court on April 10.
The Kingston Eastern Division of the Jamaica Constabulary Force on Monday issued a release which noted that the arrest of McNaughton brought to three, the number of persons arrested since Sunday.
East Kingston beware
The release quoted head of the Kingston Eastern police, Super-intendent Assan Thompson as saying that, "... the days of warning are over ... The police in that division will be vigorously enforcing the provisions of the Noise Abatement Act as night noise is becoming a nuisance to the citizens of that division."
At a recently held press conference, Commissioner of Police, Rear Admiral Hardley Lewin also said; "The matter of night noise is distressing not to just me personally, but to those people who have to suffer underneath it, and we have to put a stop to it.
"Clearly, we have to do a lot more than we have been doing and change the way we have been doing it, and we are going to use means available to us." he added.
The enforcement of the Noise Abatement Act and the presence of legal firearms at places of entertainment was brought into sharp focus following the shootings at the British Link Up dance held at the La Roose nightclub in St Catherine on March 24.
Under the Noise Abatement Act, it is an offence for a person to sing or play any noisy instrument at any time of the day or night so that the sound can be heard beyond a distance of 100 metres and can be reasonably capable of causing annoyance to persons in the vicinity.
It is also an offence for a person to operate or cause to be operated any loudspeaker, microphone or any other device for the amplification of sound on any private or public place at any time of the night or day so that the sound can be heard beyond a distance of 100 metres and can be reasonably capable of causing annoyance to persons in the vicinity.
"Wid di 2 a.m. issue, bringing back dancehall to where it was, me nuh have a problem wid people a come out early an enjoy dem self, get time fi guh back home an get some sleep. Mi wish it did guh back from long time," selector Jigsy from the Bembe Squad and Danga Zone told THE STAR.
"If police are going to be consistent and do it right across the board, then I am okay with it. But they still need to be lenient and give us a chance to break in the people who come. Suh, like Passa, if we turn off the music from 2 a.m., wi turn it off to a empty house, suh wah wi can do is turn off at 6, then 5, and so on, So the people will get the point and start turning out early," Dilan, one of the organisers for Passa Passa said.
Oneil, another organiser for Passa Passa said; "we just need to convince the dance supporters of what is happening and also, if the police enforce this thing straight across the board and not lock off some dance an leave di odda one, then people will take it serious."
Recently, David McNaughton, a music selector was arrested while he operated the Jam Rock Disco at a dance in the Bryden Street area of east Kingston.
The sound system was reportedly playing without a permit. Consequently, Mc-Naughton was brought before the court and was granted bail in the sum of $50,000.
He is to appear again in the Corporate Area Resident Magistrate's Court on April 10.
The Kingston Eastern Division of the Jamaica Constabulary Force on Monday issued a release which noted that the arrest of McNaughton brought to three, the number of persons arrested since Sunday.
East Kingston beware
The release quoted head of the Kingston Eastern police, Super-intendent Assan Thompson as saying that, "... the days of warning are over ... The police in that division will be vigorously enforcing the provisions of the Noise Abatement Act as night noise is becoming a nuisance to the citizens of that division."
At a recently held press conference, Commissioner of Police, Rear Admiral Hardley Lewin also said; "The matter of night noise is distressing not to just me personally, but to those people who have to suffer underneath it, and we have to put a stop to it.
"Clearly, we have to do a lot more than we have been doing and change the way we have been doing it, and we are going to use means available to us." he added.
The enforcement of the Noise Abatement Act and the presence of legal firearms at places of entertainment was brought into sharp focus following the shootings at the British Link Up dance held at the La Roose nightclub in St Catherine on March 24.
Under the Noise Abatement Act, it is an offence for a person to sing or play any noisy instrument at any time of the day or night so that the sound can be heard beyond a distance of 100 metres and can be reasonably capable of causing annoyance to persons in the vicinity.
It is also an offence for a person to operate or cause to be operated any loudspeaker, microphone or any other device for the amplification of sound on any private or public place at any time of the night or day so that the sound can be heard beyond a distance of 100 metres and can be reasonably capable of causing annoyance to persons in the vicinity.