iTunes bans Buju, TOK, Ele

• iTunes bans Buju, TOK, Ele

iTunes bans Buju, TOK, Ele - Specific songs and albums removed from catalogue

Krista Henry, Staff Reporter

T.O.K. members from left, Flexx, Craigy T, Alex and Bay C
    American company Apple Inc has removed [COLOR=blue! important][COLOR=blue! important]songs[/COLOR][/COLOR] from dancehall artistes Buju Banton, T.O.K. and Elephant Man from their iTunes site citing that the songs incite violence against homosexuals.
    In response to letters written by the pro-homosexual Canadian-based organ-isations Egale and SMM (Stop Murder Music) to iTunes in January, iTunes has removed controversial murder [COLOR=blue! important][COLOR=blue! important]music[/COLOR][/COLOR] from Jamaican artistes in its North American markets. Boom Bye Bye from Buju Banton, Chi-Chi Man from T.O.K. and Log On by Elephant Man have all been pulled from iTunes stores and the iTunes website.
    Apple's iTunes is the leading on line distributor of music in North America through their websites and iTunes stores. Since 2008 over four billion songs have been downloaded since the service first launched on April 28, 2003.
    When the STAR spoke with Akim Larcher founder of SMM (Canada) he explained that SMM had written to the two biggest record distributing companies in Canada to pull these songs and songs from other artistes. According to Larcher, iTunes gave a positive response and has not only removed the songs, but the [COLOR=blue! important][COLOR=blue! important]albums[/COLOR][/COLOR] they were on, as well as any compilation CD that contained the songs.
    In a release issued Mr Larcher said "this is an historic victory for the LGBT community here in Canada and in the Caribbean. iTunes is exercising its corporate responsibility by pulling this murder music and raising the bar for other retailers and distributors to do the same."
    Helen Kennedy, executive director of Egale - a national organisation that advances equality and justice for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and trans-identified people and their families across Canada; stated in the release "we are extremely pleased with this decision. We have also contacted HMV, Archambault Inc, and Amazon.ca and we are optimistic that they will follow iTunes lead."
    When the STAR contacted Flexx of T.O.K. he was unaware of the situation but not worried that the song would no longer be on the website. "That song came out six years ago in 2002 and is still a problem I guess people are just trying to hang on to get publicity. We have matured as artistes and have done so many other songs, I guess people just love that song" he said.
    The song Chi Chi Man was released on T.O.K.'s first album My Crew, My Dogs which will be pulled from iTunes stores. However, Flexx is unworried stating that the album is a classic and they have tons of other songs on iTunes. "Let them try to stop the album, our songs, people have other means of getting music, iTunes isn't the only thing out there" Flexx said.
    Stop Murder Music (Canada) advocates against anti-gay lyrics targeting the lesbian, gay, bisexual and trans-identified communities. In 2007 Stop Murder Music successfully launched a campaign to stop [COLOR=blue! important][COLOR=blue! important]concerts[/COLOR][/COLOR] in Ontario Canada of artistes such as Sizzla, Capleton, Elephant Man, Baby Cham and Beenie Man.
    ( L - R ) Buju Banton, Elephant Man - File photos

Just now they would them gay would get the UN TO sanction ja for human rights violations. GAYS will rbing JA to its knees

******************** boys a flex dem muscle.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

That is because the world's moral standing has eroded significantly. i say it time and time again that jamaica's stance against homosexuality is a moral one and as long as god is with us then we don't care who is against us.

LOL !! WHOIEEEE !!

Jamaica.. the Moral Compass of the World !

HAH HAH.. LOL !! WOOIEEEE !

Look like yuh spending too much time in the rum bar rather than the Church.

Nonsense Sensi!

It's one thing to take a stand against homosexuality. It's quite another to preach gunshot and beat up. I guess God sanctions the violence against gays?

den dem ban any of the rappers who songs advocate violence against women?

how the ********************man so well protected and our women left to fend for themselves? ah bwoy!

It's a mans world.

Well, clearly, that would not concern the groups that have been successful in getting iTunes (and Red Stripe?) to support them. But PETA doesn't fight for the abolition of capital punishment, at least not for humans. Does that mean they agree with it? Does Dyslexics Untied care about people with muscular dystrophy?

It's for the women's organisations, indeed human rights groups, to get on the ball and lobby for these companies to support them against lyrics and behaviour that they might feel is causing harm to women.

that's not the point....think about it....

i understand what you are saying but please THINK about it a bit more.

Homophobia by definition is irrational.. thought process is compromised.. thinking harder does not help, one must address the 'fear'

what does that have to do with my post?

What is Jerusalem worth ?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XxxUbrzVBt0

I'm thinking!

My position is this, I cannot advocate violence against anyone who is not hurtung me, my family or my property. That's the basis of my argument.

The gay rights groups may want acceptance (or rights), and they are either going to get it or not. There are a number of things I don't approve of with certain groups, but I certainly don't want or have any good reason to hurt them!

Well protected or well connected?

You have a good point, if Red Stripe plans to still sponser shows with rappers or any non-Jamaican artistes known to support violence of any kind they should be called on it and if they persist I would support a boycott on them in that situation.

I would be surprised if they do that though.