• 'Butuism' is alive and ugly

'Butuism' is alive and ugly
    Lloyd B Smith
    Tuesday, April 08, 2008

There is a new class base emerging on Jamaica's socio-economic landscape. It can best be described as the "butuocracy" and there are "butuocrats" to be found just about everywhere, starting, not surprisingly, in Gordon House! Just watch how some of our parliamentarians behave in those hallowed halls. All these people adhere to the principle and practice of "butuism" which can best be defined as a deliberate distortion or wanton disregard of the true Jamaican culture in order to display and bring out the worst in us.

Some years ago, Professor Emeritus of the University of the West Indies, Rex Nettleford, hit the nail on the head when he pointed to what he referred to as the "butu in a Benz", no doubt seeking to highlight a new breed of Jamaicans who by virtue of their material wealth ("bling bling") ostentatiously and rudely foist their anti-social behaviour on the rest of us.
    Last week, while driving along a busy thoroughfare in Montego Bay, I had to halt for some minutes while a young man hopped out of his "crissas" in the middle of the road in order to go and talk to a friend. If I had reprimanded him for holding up the traffic in such a crass and selfish manner, he would have abused me in the worst possible way. This is but one of the many examples of "butuism" that are to be found on our roads where numerous "hurry-come-up" motorists flaunt themselves in a most despicable manner.
    Another "butu"-type behaviour is the honking of horns the moment the traffic light changes from red to green. It is as if these impatient drivers expect you to take off like a jet the moment the light changes! And as if that is not enough, if you dare to proceed with caution you are cussed out and told to "tek yu warra self" off the road. I once saw an elderly woman almost have a heart attack when the driver of this huge trailer behind her honked his horn so vociferously, she panicked and ran into the back of the vehicle in front of her.
    These days, too, protocol is many times not observed in even the most formal of situations. Imagine a Master of Ceremonies referring to the governor general's wife, Lady Hall, as "sweetheart" or "honey" during a function. Then there is that "czar of the west" who put his arm around the Duchess of Cornwall's waist whilst greeting her during the recent royal visit, which sent her security detail into a frenzy. And why have so many of our public officials, including Prime Minister Bruce Golding, bought into the "butu" practice of being "fashionably late"? Former Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller was not much better. So much for leading by example. The "soon come" mentality is too much with us.
    To put it bluntly, "butuism" is the tyranny of the minority at work, because the majority of Jamaicans are not "butus". The harsh reality, though, is that too many of us have become cowards and so prefer to go with the crowd. Jamaican reggae music has been used outside of Jamaica to inspire, motivate and uplift peoples of the world. In its homeland it is oftentimes used to promote promiscuity, violence, intolerance and bigotry. Isn't it time the true, real Jamaicans stand up and tell the "butus" among us to tek whey dem self"? Red Stripe has now taken a stance. The Broadcasting Commission is struggling to help us define what is decent and prudent, but the popular view, it seems, is that "anything is anything". To hell with standards, to hell with values and attitudes, let mediocrity and poor taste be the order of the day.
    Well, this is one Jamaican who will never subscribe to "butuism", even if it costs me my life. Of course, there will be those who will hasten to suggest that "anti-butuists" like myself are really acting in a manner based on class prejudice. Rubbish! There are thousands and thousands of Jamaicans who continue to behave courteously and kindly to everyone they come in contact with, whose mannerisms and cultural practices reflect the true Jamaican spirit. In other words, most of us are civilised, God-fearing, decent, patriotic individuals, but we are being overshadowed by the "butus" who have captured a large section of the media in their bid to create a Jamaica in which anything goes.
    Whatever happened to good taste? Whatever happened to chivalry? Whatever happened to having an appreciation for the finer things of life? And one does not have to be rich and famous to acquire these attributes. Lest we forget, "the essence of culture is the consideration for others". The Jamaican culture is one of the richest in the world. That is what attracts the thousands of tourists who come here every year, not just for the sand, sea, sun and other "esses", but to bask in the legendary warmth and hospitality of the Jamaican people. That is our greatest asset. However, must we reserve and preserve this national treasure only for the tourist?
    Almost daily, many well-thinking Jamaicans bemoan the massive deterioration in standards and taste, yet these voices remain for the most part like John the Baptist in the wilderness. Regrettably, if not tragically, "butuism" is being passed on to the current younger generations of Jamaicans as the norm. They have been forced to believe that to be bad is good. And if you don't believe me, travel on a minibus with schoolers or get your hands on one of those sex tapes featuring teenage students.
    Once again, it must be stressed that it is the responsibility of every concerned Jamaican to stand up against this rampant "butuism". This country is being overrun by too many rats - bureaucrats, technocrats, kleptocrats, fat cats (oops, I mean rats of the two-foot kind) and now "butuocrats"! God help us!
    lloydbsmith@hotmail.com

Ah wondah if is Sistah 'P' him did vote fah ??

LOL ! WHOIIIIEEEE !

Wrong for you to even bring up Portia's name in this. She is far from butu! Some of her family members now...

Mi can bring it up.. Mi nuh fraid ah no gyal, no man !!!

Spoken like a true St. Andrew verandacrat.

How was Verandas by the way...? Yuh park di Escalade in VIP per usual ?

Hee Hee...

I agree with Mo 100%
              http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SacTRnynF4M

Just so you know, Verandah, the bar, is not only for verandacrats! Ordinary folk, even those in Escalades, are welcome there!

Originally posted by Hortical View Post

Oh .. ohhh .. fits perfectly in with the discussion regarding butuism.

wow!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

(...and that goes for both sides...JLP and PNP)

True! But Lazie can't see that.

Mosiah now has his own personal box seat there....ask him.

Lawks, when trinis know yuh bizniz!

just an awful display by elected members of our government... and they have the nerve to question why our country is in such a sorry state...

i don't recall them ever questioning it....they damn well know! but they do not have the will to elevate it because POWER is the end and the means are "whatever it takes".

it's been many a year since jamaica was governed by a politicians that genuinely CARE more about jamaica and than fattening up their pockets!!