• Why Men Buy It

Why Men Buy It
    Daddy Oh With Tony Robinson
    Sunday, April 06, 2008

Say, what abridgement have you for this evening?....
    How shall we beguile
    The lazy time,
    If not with some delight?
    - Shakespeare, A Midsummer Night's Dream
    And what better way to beguile the lazy time, than by buying some pleasure from someone who is beguiling, bewitching, beautiful? Enter the lady of the night, and call her what you will, prostitute, harlot, whore, streetwalker, hooker, paid escort, call girl, she, by any other name is here to give sweet pleasure in exchange for cash.

At least that's what countless men not only seem to think, but also indulge in as they beguile the lazy time with their delight and plunk down their hard-earned money for some hardcore action. And say what you will, scoff and sneer all you like, curse and berate to you heart's content, in the sex trade, there are buyers and sellers and they are here to stay, existing in this sensual, sexual, surreal, salacious symbiosis that has existed from the dawn of time.
    It's been dubbed the world's oldest profession and indeed it is, even though it is yet to enter the world of bulls and bears, ergo the stock market, its stock continues to rise and the market is always strong. It's a super industry that transcends all nations, races, religions, cultures, and even though the currency may differ, from the dollar to the deutschmark, the rupee to the ruble, the euro to the pound, the sixpence to the schilling, what they get in return is the same, and the buyers, they are aplenty.
    But why buy it, why fork over hard currency for soft pleasure, why copulate with a complete stranger, daring all the attendant risks, for a few moments of pleasure? That is the million-dollar question for this billion-dollar industry. Now let me make this clear, I have never paid for sex, well, maybe emotionally, but never with money, never bought a hooker, but I must agree with some who say that it is a victimless crime. Worse yet, it will never be eliminated, and even those who are calling for its punishment are the ones who are indulging the most. So why not regulate it as they do in some European countries?
    I have been to Amsterdam and seen those girls in the Red Light District, standing in the showcases, bathed in the soft glow of the russet light. Men walk around, view, make their selection, pay their money and take their chances, emerging later with a fat smile and a skinny wallet. The question is, not why the hooker does it, but why does the man buy it? Well, for one, it is an honest transaction, one where both the man and the woman know exactly what the contractual agreement is. That's what many men who engage in this practice keep telling me. "It's the only time in my life when I know that a woman is being honest with me, and she knows that I am being honest with her," my good friend told me. And he is an international connoisseur of fine female flesh, sampling the pleasures in many countries.
    Yes folks, there are frequent fliers and there are frequent fu.fun seekers, men who are serial seekers of salacious sexual scenarios. Those were my source of information, and guess what, they are all married. This fact was corroborated by a recent poll that I saw that showed that over 85 per cent of the sex trade clientele are married men. The news stories are blotted with men of power, men of authority, men of marriage, men who you would think could get it free anytime they wished, yet all were discovered to be perennial purchasers of pleasure. Why, why?
    Well, one guy told me that what he gets from these girls, his wife would never in her wildest dreams even attempt. "As a matter of fact, my wife don't even know them ting deh, much less try them." So it's easier to go outside, pay a lady of the night and be a rodeo cowboy for a few hours. "Also, most importantly, there is no emotional attachment, no woman wanting me to call her the morning after, take her to dinner, buy her presents or flowers and get all mushy with me."
    There is no guilt and no other woman to rival the wife. As a matter of fact, it's sex without the guilt, while at home it's mostly guilt and very little sex. Hey, that's what these men tell me. "Ah, all of the pleasure, none of the guilt." One other guy even told me, "Men don't pay these women for sex, we pay them to go home after." Ouch. Of course there are some men who do get emotionally attached to call girls, and request repeat performances as time goes by.
    Others opt for variety, different flavours, as international cuisine is the pleasure of the purchaser. It would be difficult, if not impossible for these men to seek out, squire, and bed this variety of women under normal circumstances. But by buying them, it's a breeze. It is also true that many prostitutes are really gorgeous, and could adorn the covers of any glamour magazines or star in any movie, based on how they looked. The average man could only dream of getting a woman with those looks in his bed, but with cash, or even credit cards I'm told, he can certainly buy one with looks to die for.
    I must tell you, I saw some pictures of the call girl embroiled in the Spitzer imbroglio, and she is an absolute stunner. I showed men, parsons and even women, who all echoed, "Now I understand why he paid her so much." One woman even said, "It's just not fair for a woman to look like that, what chance do wives have?!" I must confess, I too would fall prey to her. And so, these men fulfil their fantasies, paying for what they could never get otherwise. That's why many men will even ask these ladies to role-play for them, to dress up like teachers, nurses, schoolgirls and even nuns. Some will even ask these ladies to dominate them, whip them and do unspeakable, unprintable acts to them.
    But there are whores and there are high-class call girls. Why do some cost more than others, why is there a ten-dollar whore as opposed to a two thousand-dollar (US) call girl? Why should a man fork over two thousand dollars (US) that's about one hundred and fifty thousand Jamaican dollars, per hour to sleep with a woman, plus pay expenses for the evening? As my lady friends ask me, "Is what she have so that other women don't have?" The response from the men is that it's the difference between driving an automatic Morris Oxford and a stick shift Ferrari. Wow, changing gears must be quite the thrill. It happens right here too, yes folks, money doth drop here in the pursuit of pleasure and fleeting happiness.
    So, what difference is there between the streetwalker who goes "Psst, psst," as you drive by, to the professional call girl who drives her own Benz and owns her own pad? My sources tell me that it's all about class, and the classier the girl, the more money she can demand. Some may even have university degrees, I'm told, while others are professional women by day, but pros at night.
    In fact, I do know of a call girl in Amsterdam who has her Master's from a reputable university, yet chooses the world's oldest profession. The bottom line is class, and the classier you are, the more upscale clientele will come calling, and the more money you can demand. I'm not sure if they exist here, but many 'first world' countries have their fair share of high-class upscale enterprises that cater to the upper echelon of society, websites and all. "Hey big spender, why don't you spend some time with me?" go the words of the old song. And the big spenders are aplenty. Call them Johns, Tricks, Marks, to a pro they are the same, a source of cash.
    You do your own personal observation and see what type of car slows down or stops to make enquiries of these ladies of the night. Invariably it's an expensive car, Benz, Bimma, Volvo, Prado. Those are the guys who will spend the cash for the lass. Those who purchase the higher-class hooker we'll never see, for it's all done behind closed doors. Amazingly, one guy even told me that his wife silently endorses his action, as in her mind, he has no emotional attachment, has no 'other woman' threatening their marriage, and it's only sex anyway, so what's the big deal?
    Listen, I say be like other countries and regulate the industry, have the women tested regularly like they do in Europe, resulting in the risk of getting an STD or HIV/AIDS the lowest in the world. It is never going to stop, men will always buy it as long as they can.
    Fathers will continue to take their sons to hookers to bruk their ducks in this male rite of passage. It is here from pre-Bible days, and is often mentioned in the Bible and will be here long after all the world's great financial empires have collapsed. It is the basic law of supply and demand, and the demand is forever strong. You can even tax them and include GCT.
    So now that I've touched on why men buy it, my next task is to find out why these women sell it, for it does take a special type of woman to ply this trade. But I shall have to seek my sources carefully. Hey, I was overwhelmed by the response to the literary quiz, so look out for more. It's heartening to know that people still read. Quick question, I called my ex-wife overseas to wish her happy birthday and her new husband vex, was I wrong? More time.
    seido1@hotmail.com