Another Obama e-mail I received! Interesting!

How you did feel when them call you?

When mi use to do mi little NT classes a the college and them call mi so it make me feel goood but undeserving of the title

"I have never had a shortage of job offers since I've been in the US."

It is however more competitive in some areas than others.

Sure it is, nobdy says discimination does not exist. But racism as strong as ever?

This in 2008 not 1968. In America today any group of people can be successful if they take the right steps. ANY group. The Asians prove that every day.

I guess there must be a shortage of white crackheads in my town, I have never had a shortage of job offers since I've been in the US.
          Somewhat of a naive statement, Islandman. There was a never a shortage of offers when I was there too, but do you believe that you make the same amount as whites in similar positions, or stood an equal chance of advancing? Of course, I expect you to say yes, because we never believe that racism happens to us, it's always the other person. And we were wrong! Many times you don't know when you are being discriminated against! And even if you (and HL) have been lucky in getting the best jobs and the quickest promotions, just count your blessings. Not everyone like you are so lucky, and there are some unlucky ones with bigger degrees and experience tan you will ever have!

Can't tell you how strongly I disagree.

Actually you will be surprised by my answer, it is more complicated than you expect.

My experience was that when I just got here, I was paid less than whites in similar positions. It also took longer for me to prove myself in a position than it took the the typical white American. Over time though, things gradually evened out and I would not say today that I am paid below market rate.

This does not mean that others do not come in and are paid more than they are worth, certainly not, but guess what that happened to me in Jamaica because of the school people went to or who they knew, so what is the big difference? Prejudice due to race gets people a lot more emotional because of the horrible history it has, but I feel just as ****************ed off if someone gets a position or a promotion ahead of me because of thier school or thier name. As far as I am concerned discrimination is discrimination.

Which ethnic group or groups are incapable of doing well in the US no matter what they do?

I can't believe I am being asked that, much less by you.

As soon as I get over the shock, I'll try and respond.

Please do.

I am also interested to see the list of ethnic groups that CAN do well. I am assuming it is more than one but maybe thats a bad assumption.

gwan cut and paste...

who said racism is as strong as ever? i don't know but stereotype and segegation is as strong as ever
                      Karl commenting on Maschaeroni's sending off, "Getting sent off like that is anti-TEAM!
                      Terrible decision by the player!":busshead::Laugh&roll::Laugh&roll::eek::La ugh&roll:

Not quite.

I am saying if they want change then Obama is their guy.. if they don't well.. at some point the rubber haffi meet the road.. whether is in the primaries or di next battle... soo.. might as well deal with it now..

If even a man like you who did a talk bout Republican Tsunami and yadayada can si di urgency fi change... mi no si why Islandman keep being blinded by the totalitarians of Rudolph....
                          Karl commenting on Maschaeroni's sending off, "Getting sent off like that is anti-TEAM!
                          Terrible decision by the player!":busshead::Laugh&roll::Laugh&roll::eek::La ugh&roll:

Huh ?

Republican Tsunami ??

Wheh yuh ah talk bout ?

You right, you say racism is stronger than ever. That means it is even worse.

Sorry about the misrepresentation.

How you did feel when them call you?

When mi use to do mi little NT classes a the college and them call mi so it make me feel goood but undeserving of the title
                                Point is you were a good man. Certainly would not run around telling the world you are a college professor...as a certain lying Democratic candidate has done!
                                Last edited by Karl; April 8, 2008, 08:52 AM.